Reviews - BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel

3

Market Place, Chippenham, SN15 3HD

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (14)

86% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Terence W

  • December 2014

Grandchildren St. Paul

Ideal central location in town with adequate parking.

Considering the dining hall/s were heavily booked with Christmas Party Diners, the staff coped admirably and our service wasn't compromised. The Dining Hall waiting staff were very helpful and pleasant at all times. In winter periods, recommend that the radiators are activated as soon as you arrive.

  • David F

  • October 2014

great weekend break

We booked this hotel as it was good location for visiting Lacock Abbey and Westonbirt arboreteum.

We were surprised by the quality of the accommodation and facilities offered given the price we paid was more akin to those of budget no frills hotel. I would recommend this hotel as great base for touring Cotswolds and wiltshire without paying Cotswold prices. The restaurant had good menu and the food was great quality. We would definitely stay here again.

  • J A

  • October 2014

Stay at the Angel

It would have been better had the heating been on in the room, although when we complained they gave us an electric heater.

The food is grossly overpriced especially the breakfast.

  • Frances S

  • September 2014

Reggae Night

Disappointing that the room we had was at the front of the hotel in the middle of Chippenham, within a stone's throw of a pub holding a very noisy 'Reggae' night from around 8ppm to 1am.

This was on the Saturday night of our 3 day stay. The hotel website gives a misleading picture of the back of the hotel with a car park in front so gives the impression that although the hotel is in town, it is set back from the road. The hotel staff were mostly very friendly and attentive. The restaurant was particularly well run with hard working, efficient staff and good food at a reasonable price. After going out on our first full day, we returned to our hotel room at around 5.30pm to find the room had not yet had housekeeping. The receptionist merely said that three members of the cleaning staff were off for various reasons and that the 50 rooms were being cleaned by three staff whose priority was the changeover rooms.

I received the newspaper I requested on the Saturday morning but on Sunday received a note under the door saying, ' Unfortunately there is no newspaper as it was not delivered'. I felt that if I had pointed out that we were in the centre of town I would have been told to get it myself. Having a newspaper delivered is an indulgence I reserve for trips away, around twice a year. Overall my husband and I thought the hotel was pleasant with a good restaurant and restaurant and bar staff and mostly pleasant other staff who worked hard. At this weekend it was very short staffed and that did impact on our enjoyment added to the thumping bass noise from 'Reggae' night.

  • J Brown

  • August 2014

Everything was great apart from the shower very low pressure

  • E Trott

  • August 2014

Review of The Angel Chippenham

Receptionist on arrival not particularly welcoming or informative - certainly didnt break into a smile!.

Left to find own room upstairs with no offer to help with baggage. Hotel however in good position, central Chippenham. Evening bar staff polite and efficient and the bar stayed opened late just for us and some friends late into the night which was good. One pint of beer my husband had though was like vinegar.

  • C Gale

  • August 2014

Very please with the service provided -requested early check in as going to a wedding, room was ready for us which made a big difference to the stay Room was of reasonable standard but continental breakfast was poor value for money hard croissants and limited selection.

limited parking also could have been problematic.

  • Charles S

  • July 2014

Very good hotel experience

Right in the town centre but with good access and parking.

Facilities are very good and the staff polite and friendly. Not cheap but on balance good value for money for a business traveller.

  • Tammy R

  • May 2014

Mid week stay

I stayed at the Angel Hotel on a Tuesday and Wednesday night on my own and the cost was over £190.

I thought the cost was quite high for a mid week break. Apart from that everything was great. The receptionist was really friendly. I had room service the first night early evening and ordered the steak, which was delicious. The 2nd night i did not get back to the room until 9:50pm and on the room service list it said they stopped serving room service at 9:30 but i thought id try my luck. They had stopped doing main meals but were still doing sandwiches was was great. Everyone that worked there that i met was very pleasant. Chippenham is a really nice place to visit.

  • w eglinton

  • April 2014

A very pleasant base from which to fulfill family commitments in Bath.

We made use of both the pool and gym which certainly added to our enjoyment. The staff throughout the hotel were friendly and polite and the problems experienced with loss of hot water to our room dealt with promptly by means of a room change. We will certainly stay here again when we are next in the west.