No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Cross Keys

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
20 HIGH STREET Rode, Nr. Frome, Somerset, BA11 6NZ
Situated on the old Fussel's Brewery Site in the heart of Rode, this old country Inn, circa 17th century, has many lovely features to enjoy, one of which is the working Queen Victoria Golden Jubilee Clock, but more importantly the Inn has a warm, welcoming and cosy feel to it. The shower en-suite B & B rooms overlook the courtyard that leads out to the car park from which private access can be gained. The restaurant has a traditional menu and dress code informal. The two bars serve a wide range of quality beverages and are frequented by the locals who make all the guests welcome. For business guests they can commute to Bath (12 miles), Frome & Trowbidge (4.5 miles), Bradford Upon Avon (5 miles) and other local sites and for holiday guests, Longleat, Bath, Chedder Gorge and many more attractions are within easy driving distance. Frequent Bus service into Frome, Bath and Trowbridge and easy access to Park and Ride for Bath and Bristol. Please note when booking the standard twin rooms, these can be prepared as kingize doubles, just use the special request box.
Picture of The Cross Keys, Somerset at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 69 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
99% recommended this accommodation to a friend 99% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a real find!
Quirky, comfy and fantastic value for money. Will definitely book there again!

Reviewed by
Michaela B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really lovely place to stay.
Friendly welcome.Twin room clean, comfy and spacious. Food excellent. Lots of history and character.

Reviewed by
Ann Holliday

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

-
-

Reviewed by
Callum D

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel with character in a beautiful quiet village.
Room was clean and spacious
Staff were very helpful and friendly.
Evening meal and breakfast were excellent and good value.

Reviewed by
C Barningham

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect stay!!
We paid £40 for a night in the Cross Keys and couldn't have asked for better value for money! The place was easy to find, easy to park at and the service was warm and welcoming. It's a quiet little pub in a quiet town close to some great attractions. We had a lovely dinner at the place and at good prices. My only brief concern, was that our room window was overlooking the pub garden with people in it, however the garden is shut down by 11 so it was perfectly quiet! It has all you could need for the price and I would recommend it as a great base/stop over!!

Reviewed by
B May

From Lancing, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value pub accommodation and food
Spacious excellent value accommodation, friendly staff, very good pub food (Sunday roasts particularly enjoyable) in attractive village location.

Reviewed by
Jeffrey S

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Village pub.
Excellent value. Breakfast very good and non greasy! Well run, clean pub.
Room good but noisy boiler system starts up about every half hour during the night. Sounds a bit like sleeping on a cross channel ferry!

Reviewed by
MYRON H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would. Go back anytime
This was incredibly good value in a beautiful. Traditional pub really enjoyed the stay and hope to return. Lovely village too. Room was large with large bed and ensuite. Only constructive crit was the walls in the bedroom pock marked with holes which catch your eye and an easy fix. Highly recommend this pub.

Reviewed by
Robert Twivey

From Albert village, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Stay
Stayed in the 'Green' room which was very spacious and comfortable. Powerful and hot shower. Had to have the window open as it was a hot night and could hear a background hum all night, presumably from the kitchen vents, but it wasn't too much of an issue. Breakfast was very tasty, although a little oily, and the service could have been a bit better. Pub had a nice atmosphere and is centrally located in a picturesque village. Staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Stayed on a special offer so excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
Gwen D

From Brampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely village pub
Was used for visiting a friend and was perfect for what we needed.
Was concerned when I realised it was a sports pub and the England World Cup game was being shown until 1pm but I didn't hear a thing, rooms not above the bar. My partner watched the football and was made to feel welcome.
Had an evening meal which was lovely and being coeliac I felt they had great understanding for the need of Gluten Free and had a choice of dishes.
Friendly staff and room was clean and very comfy bed. Interesting history in the pub.
We will definately stay again.

Reviewed by
Kerry F

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next