No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Cross Keys

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
20 HIGH STREET Rode, Nr. Frome, Somerset, BA11 6NZ
Situated on the old Fussel's Brewery Site in the heart of Rode, this old country Inn, circa 17th century, has many lovely features to enjoy, one of which is the working Queen Victoria Golden Jubilee Clock, but more importantly the Inn has a warm, welcoming and cosy feel to it. The shower en-suite B & B rooms overlook the courtyard that leads out to the car park from which private access can be gained. The restaurant has a traditional menu and dress code informal. The two bars serve a wide range of quality beverages and are frequented by the locals who make all the guests welcome. For business guests they can commute to Bath (12 miles), Frome & Trowbidge (4.5 miles), Bradford Upon Avon (5 miles) and other local sites and for holiday guests, Longleat, Bath, Chedder Gorge and many more attractions are within easy driving distance. Frequent Bus service into Frome, Bath and Trowbridge and easy access to Park and Ride for Bath and Bristol. Please note when booking the standard twin rooms, these can be prepared as kingize doubles, just use the special request box.
Picture of The Cross Keys, Somerset at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 71 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy
The bar coolers were running all night, although it was raining it was a warm evening so we started with the room window open, we had to shut it because of the coolers which were very noisy.

Reviewed by
Julie M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wiltshire gem
The room was a little tired and could and should be improved by touching up holes in the wall from removed pictures. The shower cubicle needed a deep clean on the exterior and the wall tiles are in desperate need of regrouting or cleaning.
The bed was very comfortable and the refreshment tray excellent as was the breakfast.

Reviewed by
m maynard

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

sleep disturbance from machinery noise plus bedroom cleanliness and fittings unsatisfactory.
We spent 2 nights in theYellow room.Our main complaints are
1 We had a 50 minute wait from ordering breakfast to it being served. By this time we had finished our drinks and no more were offered. No apologies were given for the delay . We ordered the full breakfast and on both days items were missing.
2. Secondly there was constant noise throughout the night from what appeared to be an air conditioning unit in the bar severely disrupting sleep.
3 Thirdly in the bedroom there was a considerable amount of dust on the beams, TV and pictures and damp mould on the carpet by the wardrobe which had no doors on it.

Reviewed by
Susan Fall

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic place to stay, very homely and food is excellent

Reviewed by
m richardson

From Canvey Island, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a real find!
Quirky, comfy and fantastic value for money. Will definitely book there again!

Reviewed by
Michaela B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really lovely place to stay.
Friendly welcome.Twin room clean, comfy and spacious. Food excellent. Lots of history and character.

Reviewed by
Ann Holliday

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

-
-

Reviewed by
Callum D

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel with character in a beautiful quiet village.
Room was clean and spacious
Staff were very helpful and friendly.
Evening meal and breakfast were excellent and good value.

Reviewed by
C Barningham

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect stay!!
We paid £40 for a night in the Cross Keys and couldn't have asked for better value for money! The place was easy to find, easy to park at and the service was warm and welcoming. It's a quiet little pub in a quiet town close to some great attractions. We had a lovely dinner at the place and at good prices. My only brief concern, was that our room window was overlooking the pub garden with people in it, however the garden is shut down by 11 so it was perfectly quiet! It has all you could need for the price and I would recommend it as a great base/stop over!!

Reviewed by
B May

From Lancing, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value pub accommodation and food
Spacious excellent value accommodation, friendly staff, very good pub food (Sunday roasts particularly enjoyable) in attractive village location.

Reviewed by
Jeffrey S

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next