No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Qudos

4Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
38 CASTLE STREET , Salisbury, SP1 1BN
Qudos, located right in the City centre is a quintessential Victorian Hotel which has recently been refurbished to a high standard, whilst retaining its original period charm.

The downstairs has been extensively refurbished to provide a chic new bar and contemporary restaurant. Qudos proudly promotes the venue as unique having a dedicated area where musicians can come and perform playing all music styles from Blues to Jazz, Acoustic Rock to Classical music. We are a live music venue , so please note the music from the bands will be audible until 23:30 on Thursdays ,Fridays and Saturdays, Recorded music is then played until 00:30.

Residents are invited to enjoy all the music offered whilst being assured we keep strict guidelines on the times of the music to ensure the quiet enjoyment of our guests.

The hotel itself has just undergone a major facelift. Rooms are all decorated in relaxing muted tones, with big comfortable beds, plasma screens and large, clean bathrooms. Check in is from 15.00 hours onwards until midnight. Check out is by 10.30 am or upon arrangement for later check outs.

"We have a private parking area in a car park 100 meters from the Hotel on
the road called Avon Approach. Parking is by pre-booking and costs £7.50 per day. Upon arrival at the hotel we will issue you a daily permit at
reception."

Breakfast available from 8AM - Can be booked as an additional extra on the booking form.

Qudos is an excellent place from which to visit Salisbury and its surrounding countryside, whilst being able to sample some fantastic music in what is Salisbury's premier over 25's bar and restaurant.
Picture of Qudos, Salisbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 56 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel with modern decor and a lively bar!
We had a nice stay in the Qudos hotel for 2 nights. The room was lovely but the ensuite was very tired looking. The handle was falling off the door, the shower was terrible and broken in several places and the sink didn't drain! It was a real shame as they had made so much effort with the rest of the hotel.
The staff were generally friendly although the checking in process wasn't great. We arrived about 6pm and the bar was busy. Rather than being taken round the corner to a quieter section, we were forced to check in over some seated drinkers. Not great and easily cured with a little thought.
Breakfast has to be booked the night before so as we were looking for a complete chill out we opted for eating out so I can't comment on the food. I understand the reason for the requirement to book ahead and to be honest, eating there with the cleaners working around you doesn't really appeal to us anyway so I think we made the right decision.
On the whole it was a good stay but was slightly let down by a few little things.

Reviewed by
R Gill

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality!
I stayed for two nights over a Fri and Sat as a loan traveller visiting family. Well positioned in the City Centre, shops etc , with parking close by. The staff were welcoming, friendly and cheerful throughout. The room (top floor), was tastefully decorated with a king size bed and big tv. I ate in the hotel both nights, the food and wine was of a high standard and had a deal on both nights (excellent value).
I was aware that the venue hosted live music, ‘so took advantage’. The bar had a great vibe with a good mix of age (average 40ish) and the bands were excellent.
If your looking for an early quite night (pre midnight), it may not be an ideal venue. For everything else ‘book it’!

Reviewed by
Andrew Paling

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location in the city. Very nice room. Good, no-nonsense service, and a very tasty cooked breakfast. Also had a guests only door to get in late at night, which was very handy for me. All round very good.

Reviewed by
Kevin Groves

From Eastbourne, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Such a welcome !
We were made to feel special by every member of staff from the minute we arrived and this continued throughout our stay.In the evening when the band were playing my husband was waiting to be served at the busy bar, the waitress came from around the bar to find out what we wanted, took our orders and brought our drinks to our table, it's the little gestures like this that make the difference.
The food was lovely and the room very clean, we will be coming back again.

Reviewed by
Angela M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

When I arrived it was very late (after five hours of travel) the bar was very full and I couldn't get to the bar to find someone to help me fortunately one of the customers came to my assistance and took to someone who could help, this person proceeded to tell me he wasn't on duty but would find someone to help (which turned out to be a waitress) she took my payment and shown me the back door which I would need to use if I were to go out when the bar was closed. We then went up to my room and she was very helpful carrying my luggage up to the top floor. When we arrived to my room the main light in the ceiling wasn't working and she said she would send someone up to repair it which they did about 15mins later (but the bulb blew again) so I was left with the bedside lights only once again. Although I couldn't fault the cleanliness of the room I would not stay here again and, I think they should also invest in some new pillows for the beds instead of the flat pads that were on my bed.
My biggest concern and this is why I would never stay there again was no one showed me where the fire escape was and there was nothing in the room to instruct of where the fire gathering point was.

Reviewed by
PATRICIA HEMMINGS

From Newcastle, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was clean and tidy, staff polite and friendly. Music went off at night at the time we were told when booking in. All in all a pleasant place to stay especially if you like a venue with a very nice atmosphere.

Reviewed by
D Parker

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

had a continental breakfast that was awful. a choice of cornflakes or bran flakes and toast. would not have again

Reviewed by
Stephen Moore

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay, room was ready as requested for an early check in. Recently refurbished rooms very comfortable. Some traffic noise but it is a city centre hotel!!

Reviewed by
simon renney

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The promise was a little let down by the bathroom
Friendly and helpful staff (although only easily available during Qudos' bar hours).
Good sized and fairly well equipped bedroom. Clean. Very large bed. Good to have a decent sized flat screen TV.
The bathroom disappointed. Extractor fan seemed not to work, mirror light certainly didn't. No towel rail. Wall around the sink definitely needed a clean (!). I cleaned the shower head to get a decent spray.
So, overall, somewhat mixed.

Reviewed by
Peter S

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great City Location
Great location for a city break but to be honest the only thing to let itself down was the bathroom. A total remodel of the bathroom would be in order as it was really out of date! Free wifi was provided which is a must today and secure parking close by was a great advantage. All in all a very enjoyable stay in Salisbury!

Reviewed by
Gary O

From Luton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next