No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Plaine Guesthouse

4Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
BELL HILL, NORTON ST. PHILLIP , BATH, BA2 7LT
The Plaine is a great combination of charm, privacy & comfort. Relax and unwind in your individually decorated room and enjoy our renowned Somerset breakfast, served in our 16th Century beamed dining room. Our room rate includes FREE breakfasts for all! Indulge yourself in the historic village atmosphere of Norton St Philip with its 13th Century Church, old cottages and meandering lanes - all just minutes from Central Bath in the rolling Somerset countryside. Enjoy Free Off Road Parking; Wifi throughout the house; Reliable & regular Bus Service to Bath & Frome plus Laundry & ironing facilities on request.

Each room can sleep up to three people and all have refreshment trays, TV's with freeview and hairdryers. We are surrounded by great walks, quaint villages, quirky market towns, National Trust properties and historic Cities & Sights [see our 'Things to Do' page for more info].

Located just 20 minutes from the beautiful city of Bath in the picturesque village of Norton St Philip, The Plaine Guesthouse offers charming and relaxing Bed and Breakfast accommodation. Four Poster en suite bedrooms look out along the historic village high street, which boasts two lovely old pubs both of which serve good food and are just minutes from our front door.

We are working closely with Longleat to help make your stay even more memorable and we are thrilled to be able to offer 30% Discount on your Longleat tickets when staying with us. Please call us for details.
Picture of The Plaine Guesthouse, BATH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great B&B, highly recommended
I stayed at the B&B with my wife and teenage son, we came to Bath to visit our elder son who is in his first year of university. Our stay was very pleasant and Giles is a great host. The B&B is approximately three miles away from the university and therefore in a great location. The two pubs opposite the B&B are both warm and friendly, it is easy to see why this is such a popular place to stay. We intend to stay again when we plan our next visit

Reviewed by
Ricky Walker

From Barnet, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely B and B
We had a nice time, very good value for money. Close to longleat and opposite a very old pub that cooked good food the village was full of character. The b and b was very friendly and helpful and was very clean and we had a lovely breakfast. Would happily stay here again.

Reviewed by
e macmillan

From Dartford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice, clean and welcoming. Good breakfast, nice room, very pleasant. Close to main road so quite a lot of traffic noise. Only negative comment is booked a room for 2 adults and 2 children and was too small. Only 1 adult stayed - would not have been room for four people.

Reviewed by
Ian Donnelly

From Stockbridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very friendly service
Cosy cottage feel. Very pleasant and informative owners. Very nice and well cooked breakfast. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
james r

From Verwood, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We made a mistake!
We have a 7 month old daughter and booked a luxury room, supposedly suitable for a couple and a young child/baby. It wasn't suitable. We phoned ahead to ensure a travel cot would be available, but it was already in use, so we brought our own. We had to remove a chair to fit the cot in, and this left no room in an already small-ish room. The bed was ok (a twin joined together though), the wardrobe tiny, the tv a very small ex-pc style flatscreen monitor. The bathroom was ok, but a shower only, up two tiled steps, so no way we could bathe our baby, unless we held her in the shower. The breakfast choice was poor (only egg options either fried or poached!) the sausage was a Wall's or equivalent, no pastries (croissants, pain au chocs etc, although on the plus side the coffee was plentiful and good.
We had booked for three nights, but realised after the first one that we had made a mistake in booking this guesthouse, but part of that is our fault for booking a guesthouse at all whilst our daughter is so young. Unfortunately Giles (the owner) wasn't there when we left, but we did tell his assistant that as we were leaving at such short notice that we would happily pay for the second night as well - our total bill (for the two nights) should have been £164 but we were only charged £140, which is very good customer service, and greatly appreciated.
The location of The Plaine is about 7 or 8 miles outside of Bath and for the adventurous (and those without infant children) I would say stay here and enjoy the scenery and the nearby pubs, but for those with very young kids I would recommend self-catering somewhere else.

Reviewed by
A Newell

From New Milton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing Place
The Plaine Guesthouse was such a lovely place to stay, fantastic customer service with lots of laughs at breakfast xx

Reviewed by
Sarah Minter

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very friendly
very friendly and comfortable stay would recommend

Reviewed by
j phillips

From saltash, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and comfortable room
We stayed with the plaine for 1 night before travelling to longleat safari park the following day with our 5 year old son. Room was very clean and bed was comfortable. Noise of traffic was quite noisy at times especially in the morning.
We booked our longleat tickets through steph the owner as saved us 33 % off our park entrance which we booked through steph as soon as we arrived which was a great saving.
We were made to feel very welcome and breakfast was lovely, even my son who doesnt usually eat much for breakfast tucked in!

Reviewed by
j mullins

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent all round
Lovely house, with a very warm welcome from the owner. Great base for Bath and Longleat. Excellent full English breakfast.

Reviewed by
Richard T

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely guesthouse full of character. Incredibly busy road outside the only drawback. A room at the back would be better if you are staying a while but one night at the front was fine for us. Our room was lovely with a four poster bed, very clean with assorted teas, coffee and biscuits and a powerful shower. Had a really nice freshly cooked breakfast in the morning which set us up nicely for our onward journey

Reviewed by
michelle o

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next