No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Plaine Guesthouse

4Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
BELL HILL, NORTON ST. PHILLIP , BATH, BA2 7LT
The Plaine is a great combination of charm, privacy & comfort. Relax and unwind in your individually decorated room and enjoy our renowned Somerset breakfast, served in our 16th Century beamed dining room. Our room rate includes FREE breakfasts for all! Indulge yourself in the historic village atmosphere of Norton St Philip with its 13th Century Church, old cottages and meandering lanes - all just minutes from Central Bath in the rolling Somerset countryside. Enjoy Free Off Road Parking; Wifi throughout the house; Reliable & regular Bus Service to Bath & Frome plus Laundry & ironing facilities on request.

Each room can sleep up to three people and all have refreshment trays, TV's with freeview and hairdryers. We are surrounded by great walks, quaint villages, quirky market towns, National Trust properties and historic Cities & Sights [see our 'Things to Do' page for more info].

Located just 20 minutes from the beautiful city of Bath in the picturesque village of Norton St Philip, The Plaine Guesthouse offers charming and relaxing Bed and Breakfast accommodation. Four Poster en suite bedrooms look out along the historic village high street, which boasts two lovely old pubs both of which serve good food and are just minutes from our front door.

We are working closely with Longleat to help make your stay even more memorable and we are thrilled to be able to offer 30% Discount on your Longleat tickets when staying with us. Please call us for details.
Picture of The Plaine Guesthouse, BATH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good clean accommodation and friendly and helpful owner of B&B
We liked the accommodation and place to eat locally.

Reviewed by
P Millward

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent pet friendly b&b
Lovely place with an excellent breakfast !!!

Reviewed by
Mark H

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we was kept awake all night by people walking around in the room directly above us the sound from the floorboards was horrendous also could not check in until 5pm which is a bit much if you have to check out by 9am could not sample the breakfast as it didnt start until 8.30 and we had to leave on an excursion by 8am not a happy customer

Reviewed by
deana c

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely guesthouse and the host were very welcoming and helpful, offering advice about local area and places to visit.

Reviewed by
PATRICIA K

From England
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Plaine was an excellent guesthouse with a warm welcome friendly service throughout and a great breakfast. Everything we wanted was offered.

Reviewed by
Anne Nixson

From Harrow, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The accommodation was full of character and charm as were the owners.
The room was clean and extremely comfortable. We were given a warm greeting and offered advice on what to do and where to go. The town is awesome. The local establishments are full of history and the pub food was great. Breakfast at the guesthouse was the best we've eaten.

Reviewed by
Gary Boyd

From Australia
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the stay at the plain guest house
found heating not working in the room, as being a plumber i checked the rads and found lukewarm,did'nt improve throughout night and temp was minus outside.Visible signs of damp in both bathroom and bedroom. We were surprised to find a 3% sur-charge on using my debit card, would'nt have minded if we had been informed in advance (hotel hadn't stated on website). as the wifi being a bt user myself was very surprised to find could not get any signal what so ever, considering the had bt hub.

Reviewed by
S Matthews

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we were made to feel very welcome in this gorgeous period guest house, the local area was lovely with fantastic historic pubs and restaurants and easy access to bath only wish i could have stayed for 2 nights to enjoy it a little more,

Reviewed by
becky lane

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A road
Our room was on the ground floor which is slightly below ground level and adjacent to a busy A road - which meant your head when sleeping, or not as the case might be, is at the same height as the cars and lorries wheels. It's noisy. the bathroom needs a freshen up, particularly the shower.

Reviewed by
M Hill

From Totnes, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely, lovely guesthouse.
Very family friendly. Clean, delicious breakfast and fab hosts. We will definitely hope to stay again.

Reviewed by
Esther T

From London , UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next