No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Bear Inn

0Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Old Bear Inn, 101 High Street, , Swindon, SN6 6AA
The Old Bear Inn is a friendly local pub conveniently located in delightful Cricklade, the first town on the Thames and close to all the local amenities that the Cotswolds and Swindon have to offer. The accommodation is located in a converted barn. For breakfast, you can have a traditional English, continental or vegetarian breakfast upon request. All breakfasts come with handcrafted artisan bread. The car park is located at the rear of the pub. There is also a courtyard where you will be able sit and enjoy the weather during the summer months. Cricklade is a small historic 9th century Saxon town, lying just outside the Cotswolds 'Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty', and is the only Wiltshire town situated on the banks of the River Thames. Cricklade is surrounded by lovely countryside and is ideal for walking, riding and cycling. At the north of the town is North Meadow, now a National Nature Reserve, and home to the rare 'Snakeshead Fritillary' which flower in April. The town is at the southern gateway to the Cotswold Water Park which offers activities including sailing, water/jet skiing, fishing and bird watching
Picture of The Old Bear Inn, Swindon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place. Exactly what I paid for:)
The bear inn was delightful and exactly what was described. Will go back!

Reviewed by
D Smith

From Saffron Walden, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly pub, nice room
The Bear is a real local pub with friendly staff and good beer. My room was a clean and spacious en suite. The pub does not do food but there are several places to eat within a few yards walk so not a problem and offers lots of choice. Breakfast in the cafe opposite was also good value.

Reviewed by
Stephen L

From Pickering, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the old bear is great
very laid back and a lovely experience,

Reviewed by
rebecca l

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quaint and friendly

Reviewed by
Graham C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old Bear
Lovely room in a lovely large size Cotswold visit. Very reasonably priced and plenty of amenities nearby for food and supplies. Ideally placed for my business trip and easy to get to. Family run and friendly owner, really made the effort to make me feel welcome.

Reviewed by
Thomas Denton

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not for the fainthearted
You certainly get what you pay for with this accommodation, it was cold, dark and dingy, in serious need of TLC and did not feel clean at all. Even at £45 per night, it was not worth it. The room was very small, with bathroom down the corridor, which badly needed updating. Only 1 positive comment, the bed was comfortable and clean.

Reviewed by
D Pritchard

From Llandrindod Wells, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 2
I stayed in room 2 for three nights. It is directly above the bar and i could not get to sleep until closing time due to the noise. Not good when you have to be up early.

Reviewed by
adam L

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely pub
Really nice place to stay

Reviewed by
D MILNER

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would not stay again
As I booked last minute at a reasonable price I felt as though I was given second rate accomodation. The room was in a courtyard and opposite was the outside smoking area, very noisey and talking went on till late. The room had mould on the window frames and behind the door. When using the bathroom sink the whole of the taps turned when trying to use them. The floor under the radiator and behind the door was very dirty. As I discovered in the morning there was other accommodation above the premises which looked to be far better. If I had not been a woman on my own I would have refused to pay the £35. I would not stay here again and would not recommend it.

ManagementResponse

In reply to Mrs Moore review a couple of pointers, we are the cheapest rooms in the area (we had a ensuite room available which costs a bit extra) but you chose to book the cheapest room. We are a public house since the smoking ban people have to go outside to smoke. The other rooms above the bar are new rooms and were all ready booked out for that night. Mrs Moore said nothing to me at the time. Our three rooms in the court yard are due for refurbishment later in the year.

Reviewed by
S Moore

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Lovely little village location, helpful and pleasant owner, upgraded me to a better room which was lovely! Room itself was cute - nice and warm/private. Springs in bed very noticeable and whilst main areas (bed etc) very clean, did note mould/damp in bathroom and paint peeling etc in other areas. Didnt bother me as think good value for overnight stay and owner/pub really nice.

Reviewed by
Ania W

From Belper, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next