No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Augustus John Fordingbridge

2AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
116 Station road, , Fordingbridge, Fordingbridge, SP6 1DG
The Augustus John, formerly known as The Railway Hotel, is located on the edge of The New Forest and is within minutes of some of the most beautiful sights in England. The pub takes its name from the late artist Augustus John who was a resident of the town and chose the pub as his favourite watering hole. Along with excellent food and drink, including many local names, we also offer a range of high class accommodation on site to make your trip convenient and enjoyable. Free WIFI is available in the bar and B&B rooms. Fordingbridge as a town has many local sights to enjoy and things to do. If this is your first visit to The New Forest then we will be happy to recommend ways to spend your day. If it is a meal out, a short stay or even a business trip, The Augustus John in Fordingbridge has everything you will need for a pleasant and enjoyable stay. We offer a large variety of food for all types of people of all ages. Whether you are vegetarian or love your steak and chips, The Augustus John can supply good quality food to suit any taste. The Augustus John hosts four guest rooms which can cater for single or double occupancy. The rooms are situated in an attractive courtyard at the rear of the bar / restaurant. Away from the main road and with easy access to the garden and bar, the rooms are perfect for a short or long stay. Families are very welcome and can be accommodated in adjacent rooms. Every room comes with an en-suite bathroom, a double or twin beds, television, tea and coffee making facilities, free WIFI, and we are happy to provide sundry items such as hairdryers or irons on request. The Augustus John is ideally situated on the edge of the riverside town of Fordingbridge, known as 'The Northern Gateway to The New Forest'. We are within easy reach of the famous Cathedral city of Salisbury, the bustling seaside town of Bournemouth and the busy commercial centre of Southampton. We close between 3-6pm Monday-Saturday and 3-7pm Sunday.
Picture of The Augustus John Fordingbridge, Fordingbridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would come again
Staff very helpful and accommodating to my needs, nothing too much trouble

Reviewed by
Yvette J

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay
Good but basic

Reviewed by
P Ryan

From Fordingbridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Moto Guzzi V Twin Rally
Excellent stay with great service and a warm friendly welcome. Recommended alternative to camping.

Reviewed by
Chris Watkins

From Ramsgate, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just the job
All good

Reviewed by
I Sanderson

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice little hotel, staff very friendly and helpful and nothing was to much trouble. Had a fantastic meal on a very busy evening with the restaurant and bar full of guests and locals, yet the service was spot on.

Reviewed by
Andy B

From Wantage, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
Staff very friendly and helpful.Food was good.But room was dated ,need redecorating.

Reviewed by
ROBERT S

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ovenight stay
Very friendly and pleasant staff. 1st class breakfast and just about the best cup of coffee ever. Nice evening meal, better than average pub grub. High standard of cleanliness in room which was sadly dated and tired. Excellent budget accommodation would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
Victoria W

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room- clean & tidy- easy parking & easy to find the hotel.
The owners/staff very welcoming & friendly.

Reviewed by
Chris G

From Great Kimble, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hospitality
Very friendly pub and helpful hosts. Very pleasant stay and good breakfast so would recommend.

Reviewed by
F Russell

From Gerrards Cross, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Service and food
The service was very good and the quality and range of food was outstanding. I had a New Forest Cobbler wasnt sure what to expect but when it arrived wow what a wonderful meal, a giant cob filled with braised beef and a side dish of veg. I would say that overall my stay was very good and I will be visiting again.Good value hotel

Reviewed by
M Laughton

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next