No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Angel Inn

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
34B UPTON SCUDAMORE, WARMINSTER, BA120AG
Situated in the beautiful village of Upton Scudamore, The Angel Inn is one of Wiltshire's finest Country Inns. With 10 (ten) tastefully decorated ensuite rooms, a superb award winning restaurant and service to match, you will be assured a warm welcome. Ideal for romantic breaks or simply to explore the area.

Only 3 miles from the old corn market town of Warminster and just 5 miles from Longleat the Angel Inn is an ideal base for guests to relax and enjoy the Wiltshire countryside and it's many attractions. For shopping in the run up to Christmas, Bath is only 25 minutes away, whilst in the opposite direction both Salisbury with it's beautiful Cathedral and Stourhead gardens just 20 minutes.

At the end of a day exploring the area, where better to return to than the warmth and comfort at The Angel Inn, to enjoy a superb meal and a glass of wine or real ale, served directly from the cask!

The Angel Inn truly is an ideal place to stay and explore the beautiful surroundings.
Picture of The Angel Inn, WARMINSTER at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 49 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Angel Inn
Welcoming staff, nice pub, room nice, though £98 a tad expensive compared to other B&B experiences. Would go again if was a tad cheaper. Though meal on the evening was excellent!

Reviewed by
Frank Greenslade

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Break
Charming room with outside sitting area., perfect for sunny weather. Clean, but tired decor finishes in places. Needed minor maintenance i.e new shower sealant and fresh paintwork around shower, other woodwork needed attention. Would benefit from a small fridge, and a tidy up outside the room (clear the area to the rear of the room and freshen the outside furniture) . We were made very welcome by the temporary manager, the food was very good and the waiting staff pleasant and helpful. Well located for visiting Bath, Stonehenge etc.

Reviewed by
R Thompson

From Northallerton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprised that the standard has slipped a little!
I have stayed at The Angel Inn on several occasions and it is my first thought for accommodation when visiting my client in Warminster. Unfortunately I found that on this occasion, The Angel Inn fell short on previous excellent visits. To start on the plus sides: the food is always very good but during this visit the food aired on the Good / Acceptable Rating rather than very good. Dinner menu was as before but there was no “specials” board to choose from and Chef ran out of mussels (no big issue). The cooked breakfast was very good but looked as if the portion size had been reduced – still went down a treat though. We stayed in Room 11 that was a good size with an additional seating area; unfortunately the bathroom size was disproportionate being very small and the shower cubicle being very small. The bathroom was also very tired and dated and could do with a little modernisation & TLC! The stairwell and carpet leading to the rooms in main building could also do with freshening up.

Reviewed by
Murray C

From Bathgate, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice old pub with B&B facilities
We stayed for one night, prior to a wedding in Bradford On Avon and arrived quite late. The duty manager showed us to our room and helped to carry some of our luggage, which was useful and meant we didn't have to make two trips to the car to collect things. Our room was No. 12, up a fairly steep flight of stairs and above the bar, which was a little noisy, but nothing we couldn't cope with. The room was large enough for both of us and our luggage, with a comfortable bed, a small television, tea and coffee making materials and a functional and clean en-suite bathroom. A little bit tired-looking, but still in good order.
We had a good night's sleep, woken a little early by the fire alarm going off, which I correctly surmised was as a result of some breakfast toast burning, but this was quickly silenced and we went down for breakfast, along with everyone else who'd been woken up at the same time. Breakfast was comprehensive, with coffee, juice, a choice of cereals and a full cooked breakfast, which was pretty good, although a little overcooked, but I put this down to the arrival of almost all the guests at once.
Two small points: first, the shower was very powerful and tended to spray everywhere, which meant the bathroom floor got rather wet. Second, check-out is at the rather early time of 10.30 and we had a bit of a rush to get everything sorted in time, but the housekeeper was very understanding.
All in all, a good experience and almost certainly better than the chain hotel we'd been considering until I found The Angel on LateRooms.

Reviewed by
John Leonard

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good bed and breakfast ,, but nothing in village ,,no shop ,,pub etc only the Angel Inn which has a bistro and small bar ..Used as one night stay after a visit to Longleat,,all in all good ,parking food ,host all staff just area is dull .

Reviewed by
angie w

From Helston, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Country stay
The characteristic hotel is located in the countryside. If you want a quiet place to relax and have a really good meal offered by a friendly and involved manger book this accommodation.

Reviewed by
c geurkink

From Netherlands
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wiltshire wonder
The Angel was very convenient for us and delightfully appointed. The food was fantastic and all in all good value for money. We will stay here again.

Reviewed by
Richard B

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Can be very noisy
Mixed feelings about this b&b. Room was clean and tidy. Shower didn't have a proper handle, it was just a bolt that kept falling out - very annoying. If you get a room on the ground floor it can be very noisy as you can clearly hear other guests' footsteps in the room above. We were also unfortunate enough to get a room by the main entrance. But it does have a huge free car park and a really nice cooked breakfast in the morning. Although an evening meal in the pub is expensive.

Reviewed by
Steven D

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A grate place to stopover when travelling by rail or road to the west country
Made very welcome on arrival after normal hours for Dinner and was offered Dinner an
excellent meal and enjoyed a first class sleep in very well appointed room.
Slight disappointment with cooked Breakfast as some components were cold and toast
served in a basket making it soggy.Manager noted that I needed to use a stick and commented
that there are two downstairs rooms which could have been booked had this info,been
available on the booking form.

Reviewed by
G Pope

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Use it or loose it
Well appointed and well serviced in every respect. May be in administration but is nevertheless well worth staying at and using the facilities provided. Warm, dry, food very good and generally very good value for money.

Reviewed by
Chris D

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next