No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - De Vere Hotel Dunston Hall

4Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Dunston Hall Ipswich Road, Norwich, NR14 8PQ

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Category: Golf 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

Surrounded by its own 18 hole USGA specification Golf Course, De Vere Hotel Dunston Hall offers an array of sporting and leisure facilities, including a 22 bay covered driving range, and fully equipped gym. The hotel provides an ideal environment in which to relax and be pampered with a superb Health and Leisure Club, complete with 15 metre indoor pool. Ease away stresses and strains in the jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, or for the ultimate in relaxation, enjoy a full body massage in the health and beauty centre. However you choose to unwind, De Vere Hotel Dunston Hall will leave you feeling revived and refreshed.
Picture of De Vere Hotel Dunston Hall, Norwich at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 164 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous
Fantastic hotel with lovely facilities , spa is excellent and lovely to unwind in Staff couldn't have been more helpful.

Reviewed by
David C

From Southwick, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In general: quite satisfactory.
Three negative points:
1) The extractor fan in the en-suite facilities wasn't working, a little annoying as the steam from the shower took ages to clear. In addition; the room wasn't 'as fresh' as it could have been after toilet use.
2) The 'interactive' television didn't work.
Both 1) & 2) were reported but not fixed during our 1 night stay.
3) Surly female receptionist with a poor attitude in dealing with my wife's request for change for the fitness suite. Quite unexpected and certainly unwanted!.

Reviewed by
O Jones

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Interesting experience
Overall the stay was very good, helped by the sunny weather! Dining was interesting in that you could choose self service or not for each course. We stuck to the menu - starter good, crumble to die for but main course was sent back - lack of vegetables. However, most impressed in that they apologised by offering us a free sorbet!! Main couse re served with extra veg so all was well. The atmosphere of building & grounds was fantastic, we stayed on & had afternoon tea, very enjoyable.

Reviewed by
Andrew Weston

From North Walsham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

amazing
Dunston hall was amazong such a beautiful place to stay, the bed was so comfy and i didnt want to leave. Thankyou

Reviewed by
Emily Clements

From norwich, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
We were very happy with the accommodation provided at Dunstan Hall. Lovely building. Our room was very clean, comfortable and quiet. Food was excellent and staff all very friendly and efficient.

Reviewed by
Peter H

From Douglas, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointment
No reply to 3 emails, after an email was sent to me asking if I would like to upgrade:
Drab decor:
Service in restaurant terrible:
Food very poor, and took an eternity to arrive:
Bar closed, we were told on arrival it would not close " until there was no one left to serve",in the evening we were told that staff were tired and would be closing the bar, then some people (4) from a wedding party turned up, made a fuss and presto, the bar re-opened :
Overall not good on any level, we would never return.
Took us 30 minutes to queue to check out:

Reviewed by
David Wilson

From Essex, England
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired room
Room 601.some wallpaper pealing off wall .bathroom clean but needs a refurb bath panel has water damage needs to be replaced.if i was staying for more than one night i would have insisted to be moved .

Reviewed by
stuart o'sullivan

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dunston hall
We try to stay here when we visit a local customer, but occasionally the prices can be too high, but when they aren't it is very good value for money. We know that after a long day we can chillax in the pool or in the conservatory where the food is delicious.

Reviewed by
Zoe R

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

F S
Lovely place. Didn't stay for breakfast. Nice quiet, large, room. Not far from Norwich.

Reviewed by
F S

From Billingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming stay
We returned to Dunston Hall for a second visit and played golf. A charming olde world hotel with buckets of atmosphere. The refurbishment is ongoing and tasteful. the staff friendly and accommodating. Our room large and bright. The golf course while well used is short and suitable for us oldies! Spent a few hours lounging on the outdoor terrace overlooking the 18th hole in 23*-magical. We will return when we visit Norwich again. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
D Fanning

From Dundalk, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next