No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bell Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
High Street, Great Cheverell, , Devizes, SN10 5TH
The Bell Inn is an 18th century, grade II listed coaching inn located in the beautiful village of Great Cheverell. The property dates back to 1740 when conducting business as a drovers inn and appears in the Doomsday book!

The Bell Inn is ideally located to the major tourist attractions of Stonehenge, Avebury, The White Horse, Bath and Salisbury.

We offer luxurious accommodation, all of which are en-suite. We have an oak beamed restaurant and bar offering great food and some of the South West's greatest ales!

There are a number of attractions nearby, these include Salisbury Plain, Stonehenge,Woodhenge, Avebury,The White Horse The Ridgeway, Barbury Castle, Devizes, Bath, Salisbury Cathedral, Old Sarum, Figsbury Ring and Caen Hill Locks.
Picture of The Bell Inn, Devizes at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
Lovely setting and really friendly, helpful people - very highly recommended by me! Would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
J Walker

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely quaint public house and hotel. Comfortable room at a reasonable rate with excellent food.
Friendly and helpful staff along with sociable locals. A shame it only had very limited Wi-Fi access, but not a major problem when only staying 1 night.

Reviewed by
B Leadbeater

From Kenilworth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quite a dull looking Pub from the outside but much better on the inside ,Our room was a little small considering it was a superior twin double not good value at £85 oo ,The breakfast was well cooked no complaints there ,would I use it again ? will try some where else , Chris .

Reviewed by
Chris M

From woking, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great food and service
The Bell provide excellent food and give very good friendly service. The rooms are small but very functional albeit we would have preferred a larger than standard bed.
The address of The Bell Devizes is misleading as there is a Bell on the Green in Devizes which is where we went first- not first in fact but after. The Bell in Seend! Perhaps a clearer address?!
A very good experience however for both my wife and me.

Reviewed by
Charlie Davies

From Tunbridge Wells, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bell Inn Food and Room
Outstanding . very comfortable room, welcoming and sociable hosts, great evening meal and fantastic breakfast with locally sourced produce.

Reviewed by
Steven J

From Saddleworth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy to go back
A bit expensive (£85 per night) couldn't fault the comfort or the food and service. Owners very nice.
My comment about the price relates to a similar accommodation in Windsor at £75 per night, which being that location would have expected it to be more than The Bell Inn.

Reviewed by
Sue W

From Tavistock, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a little gem
Tucked away from the main town, this country inn is a real gem. Food was excellent, room tidy and clean and staff most welcoming. The cooked English breakfast set us up for the day.

Reviewed by
m harding

From Billingshurst, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A night at the Bell Inn
staff very freindly and hepful with good knowledge of the local area.Fantastic breakfast , served with good quality coffee . Second round of toast left you feeling full and no need to spend money on lunch
Room very clean and respectable and early access at midday ideal for freshing up before going out.Could do with better quality coffee in the room though.easy access from rooms to car park without having to walk through bar area.Look forward to staying again in the near future.

Reviewed by
S Cook

From Chalfont St Giles, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable room, great value for money.

Reviewed by
A Foster

From Halstead, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top draw, say no more :)
Very friendly welcoming hosts and regulars. Food was superb and a very enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
P Megginson

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next