No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Exmoor Forest Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Simonsbath, Exmoor National Park, Minehead, TA24 7SH
The Exmoor Forest Inn. Set in the heart of beautiful Exmoor, one of the smallest National Parks covering about 265 square miles With its long and spectacular coast line, high moorland with wild ponies and red deer, steep valley with tumbling streams and picturesque villages, all together a lovely place to be.
Picture of The Exmoor Forest Inn, Minehead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good inn in a lovely setting
Selected at random from the web for a couple of nights stay, this turned out to be a very nice family run inn right in the middle of Exmoor. The building is currently undergoing some restoration, was comfortable although the smallish bedroom needed a little TLC here and there. We had dinner both nights and the food was excellent as were the breakfasts. The family were most pleasant, easy to deal with and informative. A good find.

Reviewed by
D Hayes

From Henfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would definitly stay again.
Great food and great beer. No complaints. Wish I had time to go fishing!

Reviewed by
Michael S

From Barnstaple, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed one night our only regret was that we couldnt stay longer left feeling chilled out.

Reviewed by
p hopwood

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our second visit
This was our second stay at the Exmoor Forest Inn. And yet again it did not disappoint us. The rooms are comfortable the staff friendly the scenery is gorgeous and the food is outstanding. We would definitely visit again and I would recommend this Inn to anyone that would like a break from the rat race to enjoy Exmoor at its best.

Reviewed by
David H

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel was a bit tired looking and needs some decoration etc , the double room i had was clean and comfortable although a bit too cosy had there been 2 people ... dinner and breakfast were good and the owner was very friendly and attentive ..wi-fi worked although no mobile phone signal but as its in the middle of exmoor this is to be expected .

Reviewed by
david n

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Barb/trev
The hotel was a bit of a disappointment. It looked like a light of former years. They accepted dogs which is fine as I am a dog lover but we wished they had removed some of the excrement from the front and when we were there a dog was barking continuously. I do not think the overall cleanliness was up to standard. The evening meal that we ordered was very good however but when we had breakfast the following morning I asked for a vegetrian option but there was not one. I do not think this was a 4*.

Reviewed by
B HOLLIS

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exhilerating exmoor experience !
The location of the hotel is perfect, right in the centre of the moors and next to the meadering river adjacent . The walks are fantastic and you can take yourself away from everything for within moments and leave the hussle of london life far behind for a day .or longer
We enjoyed the accomadation and the food was to fabulous .. The game pie was our favourite and highly recommended after a busy day walking.
Washed down with a fine exmoor ale it was he perefect end to a perfect day.
We would not hesitate to stay here again and the hosts were generally very helpful too.

Reviewed by
tony white

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Professionalism and friendliness well balanced
This was not my first stay at the Exmoor Forest Inn but it was a pleasure to be again very pleasantly surprised at the quality of the welcome and of the very good accommodation and food. Walking on Exmoor is a privilege and the EFI is a first class base for such a holiday.

Reviewed by
Robin R

From Marlow, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice friendly hotel

Reviewed by
Eric B

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely
Warm and friendly welcome. The room was large with a spacious bathroom and the bed was very comfortable. The building has plenty of character and the food was very good and plenty of it.

Reviewed by
d stevenson

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next