No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - George Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
5 Market Place, , , Frome, BA11 1AF
Situated in the centre of the market town of Frome which is ideally placed for the tourist, being close to Bath and Longleat Safari Park. The 19 bedrooms are all en-suite and tastefully furnished with one room having a four poster bed. Other amenities include secure parking, a function room available for hire for private parties or conference meetings, a lounge bar serving coffees, through to a range of meals, from snacks to main courses. A full range of Wadworth cask conditioned ales are available alongside a selection of lagers,ciders, wines and spirits. Frome is the fourth largest town in Somerset and a wonderful centre from which to visit the surrounding area. It is an attractive town built on steep hills with cobbled streets. Architecturally well preserved, there are more listed buildings in Frome than any other Somerset town. In recent years the town has developed a reputation as a focus for arts and craft, there are a number of galleries and contemporary craft centres. The George Hotel has played an important role for the residents of Frome, based in the very centre of the market town, it is popular as a regular meeting place. Frome is ideally placed as a touring centre, within easy reach of Bath, Wells, Longleat, Stourhead and many more. There is also a great deal to discover within the town. Frome has a wealth of historic and architectural interest alongside a thriving contemporary arts scene.
Picture of George Hotel, Frome at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 136 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay!!
As previous reviews, The George is in need of refurbishment, but do not let that put you off! Everyone was very welcoming, Charlotte made us feel at home instantly (that girl deserves a pay rise!!) Everywhere was spotlessly clean despite being worn, food was excellent and served quckly (extra bonus with a tired 3 yr old grandson for evening meal!!) Breakfast was fantastic. Thankyou for a lovely end to a busy day spent at Longleat!!

Reviewed by
carol s

From Llanelli, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Many thanks to the bar man who stayed on late to let us in way after check in time, much appreciated.

Reviewed by
Hazel G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what we wanted
We had a one night stop at this hotel it was dated and had some things that could do with being fixed i.e. cracked tiles etc but it had everything we needed was tidy the parking was a god send and the breakfast was very nice and for the price we paid we were very happy

Reviewed by
Emma O

From Bodmin, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean tidy and value for money
we stayed 3 nights for work locally the room ( 6 ) was clean tidy and as modern as you can make a listed building room , for the money £65 was great value for money . Breakfast was as good a quality as I got at the Celtic manor
thumbs up

Reviewed by
D Lowman

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and functional
Spent a night here earlier this month with the wife and kids (age 10 & 12). Yes the room could have done with a bit of a smarten up and there were a couple of patches on the wall, but for £79 bed and breakfast for the four of us it was grand. The beds (1 double & 2 singles - no pull out sofas here) were comfy enough, I didn't personally have a great night's sleep, but that was more down to a sore leg and some bad news received that day. The telly was good, lots of tea and biscuits provided, room was airy and not too hot and the bathroom and shower fine. Breakfast was lovely too. I'd go back without hesitation, the only slight issue was the parking, a bit of a tight squeeze in an underground car park round the back but luckily that passed without incident.

Reviewed by
Chris C

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had the double room with a four poster bed. This was a good sized room with a comfortable bed with lovely crisp, sheets and pillow cases. It was all very clean.
We were made very welcome on booking in, and the staff at the bar in the evening and the morning were very professional and friendly. We had an enjoyable evening meal and the full English breakfast was wonderfully cooked and fresh.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
Cathy C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice short stay
Room was clean and had everything needed for a comfortable night stay. Building is looking a bit tired, but bar and dining area looked nice. Breakfast was really nice and the staff were friendly.

Reviewed by
Alex P

From Bognor Regis, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok and cheap
Hotel was ok, could do with redecoration, room was spacious but had damp coming through roof, bathroom ok, staff very friendly and waitress advised of nice place to eat, breakfast was lovely in the morning and plenty to eat, was decent enough for money we paid but could be so much better

Reviewed by
m mccolgan

From Great Yarmouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy average
A mediocre hotel, however wasn't expecting the highest of standards so not a disappointment. The web site said the hotel had it's own parking ( which it does ) however upon arrival there are no signs to tell you were to go. After several trips up and down the busy road I called the hotel to find out where it was. I was told I had to find a space to park my car then come and sign in were they would then give me keys to their underground car park at the back of the hotel. However I was alone with a 7 week baby and it was pouring with rain, plus there was no parking near the hotel. I explained this to the manger who informed me I could drive around and park first as it was left open. So I did, then realised my car ( a camper ) couldn't fit in the underground car park. Called hotel manager again and was told that was my only option as they had no outside spaces. So in the end I had to park in a pay and display away from the hotel, making several trips to and fro with my baby to carry belongings in. Check in was in the main bar which was busy as open to the public on the high street. This felt awkward as I had all my stuff and a crying baby. However the manger did give me a different room as the stairs to my orginal one would of been to difficult to get to with baby. The room I was given was apparently better then the one I was supposed to have. The room was ok, a four poster bed, clean and comfy. The carpets in dire need of replacing , old and discoloured making the room smell musty. The bathroom was clean but mouldy grout on tiles and sealant peeling , black in places and missing in others. However shower above bath in good working order. This room is on the first floor on the main road, beware it's extremely noisy with traffic and people. The breakfast was what is expect with the venue. Cafe standards but the staff were lovely and attentive. The manger was also lovely and helpful and tried to make things easier for me on my stay. A nice enough stay but good do with a Thorough over hall, new carpets, new lick of paint and bathrooms.

Reviewed by
T Hartholt

From Minehead, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night Friday eve stay
From the outside we at first were a bit worried as it looks a bit shabby, but once inside found it very clean and quaint with the wood doors and interior. Had to check in at the bar and was a warm and efficient welcome. Having a car park was great, tho tight for larger cars. Room perfectly adequate, small, but only for sleeping as we were staying for a wedding nearby. Shower nice and powerful! Good choice for breakfast and friendly efficient service. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
Cathryn A

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next