No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Bell Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
42 Market Place , Warminster, BA12 9AN
The Old Bell is a 14th Century coaching Inn and is quite possibly the oldest licensed premises in Warminster. It is situated within easy reach of central Bath in the rolling Somerset countryside, and a 25 minute journey south will bring you to the Historic town of Salisbury. Please be aware that on the weekends we have a late license until 2am with a Disco. the pub does get very noisy until the disco has finished. Relax and unwind in one of our 15 ensuite bedrooms comprising of 2 singles, 2 family (sleeps upto 5) and 11doubles and enjoy one of our hearty breakfasts made with fresh local produce and served in our courtyard restaurant. Enjoy the added benefit of free parking, easy access to Longleat and surrounding areas and a wealth of beautiful countryside on your doorstep! There is a separate restaurant and a busy bar. On a fine evening you can enjoy a drink and a meal al-fresco style in the courtyard - the perfect place to unwind. Private functions including weddings can be catered for upon request. The Old Bell is within easy reach of many places of interest and beauty including Longleat House, Wookey Hole, Stonehenge, Avebury, Salisbury and it''s Cathedral and the ancient city of Bath. Friendly family welcome with good home cooked food and reasonable prices. We also have a 150 Capacity Function room available for private hire's Please be aware that on the weekends we have a late license until 2am with a Disco. the pub does get very noisy until the disco has finished.
Picture of The Old Bell Inn, Warminster at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 80 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
All staff friendly and did everything possible to ensure we had everything we needed. Room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was very good and hotel was right in the middle of the town which was very handy.....

Reviewed by
Barbara H

From Tunbridge Wells, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good hotel
The only fault I have is that the service for food was too slow, otherwise everything was ok.

Reviewed by
K Stephens

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An amazing place with friendly staff and the owners bend over backwards to look after you and to give you that 1 two 1 feel. had a great time and will go back soon as it was a excellent couple of nights there.

Reviewed by
Mark Patrick

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not to be missed accomodation experience
A comfortable well sized room with pleasant contemporary furniture. Staying on Sunday night was a restful experience, with excellently prepared , plentiful and bargain priced roast dinners. The rewarding hand pumped ale at the bar was a real bonus, not always to be relied on these days. The included breakfast was equally satisfying. Staff were pleasant and helpful with no great rush to check out. Finally, free parking in the spacious car park was was the icing on the cake.

Reviewed by
Ken E

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel
great room even with he late bar it was a very quiet room. The only issue was there wasnt enough parking.

Reviewed by
katie b

From Seaford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money. The staff were amazing and nothing was too much trouble. We were warned about the late night disco when checking in but this did not affect us. We ate in the bar in the evening and the food was good. Breakfast was excellent - cereals, fruit juice, full English or just eggs on toast - the choice was yours to make. We will definitely use the Old Bell Inn next year as our stop-over for our weekend - Castle Combe on Saturday and Longleat Sunday. This was the perfect location for us.

Reviewed by
Sandra Wright

From Cranleigh, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outstanding. Fabulous friendly people. Fantastic value. Amazing food

Reviewed by
g oakley

From Croydon, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not good value for money
Although the staff were really friendly and helpful, the room we stayed in was really disappointing. No toiletries in the room, not even soap. No spare toilet roll and a toilet seat that was broken and actually hit my young daughter on the back as she sat on it. Two of the lights had no bulbs in them and the Z beds for the children were not the best either. The shower was more like a drip and you had to be He man to turn it off! On one day the room wasn't serviced which left us with a bin overflowing with dirty nappies and sanitary wear as we had no where else to put them. For £90 a room I expected a lot more than what we got. After complaining the faults got fixed and money knocked off the bill but we shouldn't have had to complain in the first place. On a positive note the food was nice and reasonably priced. Overall a very disappointing stay and not somewhere I would recommend.

Reviewed by
Julie B

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Wiltshire
Excellent hotel, couldn't fault it in any way

Reviewed by
Les R

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderfull
our stay could not have been better,so impressed when we arrived with room and the managers wife who gave us a amazing welcome and told us everything about the old bell in .
we even booked a second night .
food was exceptional wonderful chef.
all the staff could not be more helpful.
was told that on the weekend it could be a bit noisy but did not bother us at all.
could not fault our stay ,only one blip and that was the shower could do with a bit more pressure but it sufficed us.

Reviewed by
j williams

From Kidwelly, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next