No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Griffin Inn

4Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Monmouth Street , Bath, BA1 2AP
The Griffin Inn boasts four star accommodation located on the peaceful Beauford Square, adjoining the elegant Queen’s Square. Only a few steps away is the Theatre Royal and the Thermae Spa complex; providing a superb central base for exploring the city of Bath. This quaint, historic Grade II Listed Inn has been completely refurbished in 2009 returning it to its Georgian glory, with five double/twin rooms and three single rooms all of which are en suite. Each room features an oversized bed, flat screen TV, iPod dock, Wi-Fi, desk, comfortable chair, and hot drink making facilities. Rates include VAT and a wholesome breakfast.

The bar prides itself on a selection of real ales, fine wines, provincial malt whiskys, fresh coffee and tea. While the fully equipped kitchen is focused on delivering sandwiches, burgers, salads and other pub classics made using fresh, local, free range, and organic produce.
Picture of The Griffin Inn, Bath at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 71 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent city centre situation
This is a quirky old inn which is a great place for visiting city centre attractions. The staff were very friendly and helpful and even though it is a pub it was not very noisy after 11.00 pm. Our room was large with the smallest bathroom I have ever seen but at least it is en suite which you have to expect in a building this age. The breakfast buffet is adequate and the hot food was cooked to order so good quality. The real downside was that the room got unbearably hot even with the window open and the fan on so I did not have a great nights sleep.
It was great for one or two nights though

Reviewed by
Annette H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Little Jewel
Staff were very helpful and welcoming , location is perfect . The breakfast was very tasty and there was a good choice . My room was very clean and the ensuite was great however if you struggle with stairs it wouldn't be ideal as the stairs are quite steep to get to the room and the room was small . B&B was full of character . Overall a pleasant stay :)

Reviewed by
kerry d

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Location
Straight walk to the hotel from the train/bus station. The room was a good size single. It would have been nice to have a small fridge. The only 'bad' thing I found was the bed it was very uncomfortable and the pillows were so insubstantial I had to roll the duvet up and use that instead.

Reviewed by
S Cheevers

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place, great location, great staff
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Griffin. The staff were very friendly and attentive they couldn't be faulted. We loved the character of the Inn and the location to get into the centre of Bath is ideal. The room could have done with a paint to neaten it up but other than that the room was clean and had good facilities and was perfect for us. The Inn has a lovely unique atmosphere and we plan to make it a regular place to stay when we visit Bath. We had a great time, thank you to all at the Griffin!

Reviewed by
V Smith

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place for reasonably priced say in central Bath
Stayed overnight at The Griffin and happy to say it was exactly as expected from the reviews I looked at before. Great location, good price, perfectly comfortable. Breakfast was really good with fresh local ingredients. Enjoyed the games provided in the bar. Would happily return.

Reviewed by
Robert Malyn

From Bideford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great centre of city accommodation
Lovely old pub with rooms, situated in prime location for the city centre, including the Circus and Crescent. Very friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Martina Lauster

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central location, character inn, great atmosphere
Stayed here with my OH and another couple for a weekend. Great location. Long term car par is close by. The staff looked after our bags til check-in, gave great directions and information and were generally fun people to be around. dinky little room, sloping floors, full of character. big fans provided, which was much appreciated in the heatwave. Breakfast was lovely and plentiful, the gin and vodka mix and match menu was fun for the evening, and OH enjoyed the beers on offer. Would happily stay here again.

Reviewed by
Charlotte N

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

city centre site
Ideal location for site seeing, however the smelly wardrobe and broken sash window detracted from what was otherwise a convenient place to stay on a first visit to Bath.

Reviewed by
Kervin K

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a superb time here. Stopped last year when going to nephew's wedding in Bath and we were very impressed. We arrived much later that expected but the staff were really helpful and welcoming. Should have done review then but hopefully the fact that we returned can be treated as a review in itself! The rooms are nicely furnished, Marion says (and I agree) the beds sooo comfortable and the breakfast entirely removed the need to eat until the evening - beautifully cooked and plentiful. All the staff we have met are polite and helpful. Even the winding stairs and unexpected turns just add the the charm!

Reviewed by
Keith S

From Ashington, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place, friendly people, quiet despite being fairly central

Reviewed by
G Marshall

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next