No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Merivale House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
MERIVALE, THE GREEN LAVERSTOCK, Salisbury, SP1 1QS
Merivale House Bed and Breakfast is a Georgian property offering welcoming accommodation. Opened in June 2009 and recently accredited as a Wolsey lodge. The house overlooks the Green, backing onto the village church and is a peaceful location within walking distance of the lovely city of Salisbury.
The 1st floor rooms rooms are tastefully decorated (the steep, narrow cottage stairs may be a problem for some guests). Both rooms have en suite bathrooms and have a shared sitting room.
Each room is equipped with the essentials for a comfortable stay as well as
Digital Freeview TV/DVD
WiFi
Fresh flowers
Guest robes

The large family garden is available for use of guests.

Dinner/supper en famille can be provided by prior arrangement (minimum 24 hours notice)
Picture of Merivale House, Salisbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Summer Sunday
Accomodation was very good, and it was lovely to stay in a room where the windows opened wide to let fresh air in on a very warm evening, and giving lovely views over the garden. I was made very welcome, there was no problem about wanting an early breakfast - which was excellent. As other people have commented, the stairs are extremely steep and narrow which could be a problem for older or less fit guests but my case was taken up to, and brought down from my room for me which helped a lot.

Reviewed by
Sue G

From Crowborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Pleasant
Very comfortable and welcoming, would recommend a stay to anyone looking for a bit of peace and quiet in relaxing surroundings. Don't ignore the comments on the stairs though, it is an old house with traditional staircase; but if you're able it won't put you off.

Reviewed by
P Williams

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very homely - amazing breakfasts
We enjoyed a comfortable two night stay at Merivale House. We were offered a choice of rooms on arriving as we were the only ones there that night. After a long journey we were very grateful for the (high quality) tea and biscuits on arrival, and there is a wide rage of dishes on offer for breakfast, cooked to order and delicious. Would love to return, peaceful location and only 20 minutes walk into Salisbury city centre.

Reviewed by
Helen C

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely night away in a beautifully presented home
Accommodation and customer care is second-to-none at Merivale House. We arrived late in the evening, having spent the day freezing in Salisbury town centre, and were immediately offered drinks and presented with a warm chocolate brownie. Our room was clean and comfortable, with a huge selection of books and DVDs which gave it a really homely feel. The en-suite bathroom, complete with roll-top bath, was absolutely lovely.
Breakfast was amazing, with a wide selection of freshly cooked food available, much better than what is usually on offer in large hotels, let alone in a family home!
We had a lovely, relaxed night away and would definitely recommend Merivale House for couples or solo travellers looking for a special short break.

Reviewed by
S McDonald

From Dorchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and helpful. Bathroom rather small and access up steep narrow staircase due to period house - makes a change from anonymous chain hotels. Breakfast delicious.

Reviewed by
Janet Powell

From Redhill, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation
Very good B&B, quite welcoming, cosy rooms and perfect breakfast.

Reviewed by
Pablo C

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what we needed
The house was full of character and it was only a 20-30 minute walk to the city centre. The en-suite bedroom was very comfortable and we had the use of a lounge which was overflowing with books on travel, art, etc... and which also had some interesting paintings on the walls. All of this was crowned by the owner's hospitality. She was friendly, thoughtful and generous, and the food was excellent. I don't think she could have done any more to make our stay more comfortable.

Reviewed by
Kevin D

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anniversary Treat
My wife and I stayed here for our 25th wedding anniversary weekend break. We were made very welcome and were even given a glass of bubbly to celebrate the occassion. The bedroom and ensuite were tiptop and it was so nice to relax in the adjoining snug-lounge before heading out for evening meal. The house is only a 20 minute pleasant walk into the city centre and we would thoroughly recommend a meal at Charter 1227 on Ox Row. Full English Breakfast in the conservatory was superb.

Reviewed by
B Bedlington

From Dunstable, England
Who stayed in September 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.