No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The White Horse Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The White Horse Inn Compton Bassett, Calne, SN11 8RG
The White Horse Inn is delighted to announce we have recently been awarded AA 4 Star Gold for our Bed & Breakfast, AA Breakfast Award, our restaurant has been awarded 1 Rosette and we are also recommended and listed in the Michelin Restaurant Guide 2013. If you would like to dine within our restaurant for an evening meal we would be most grateful if you could reserve your table upon booking to avoid any disappointment.

Now a little bit about us.......We are an award Winning, family run 18th century country inn. Beautifully positioned in the Wiltshire countryside, we are only a few miles from the Avebury stone circle, Marlborough & Bath. Our area is famed for its' crop circles in the early Summer.

We have 8 superb newly renovated en-suite bedrooms, all with flat screen digital (freeview) TV's, tea/coffee making facilities and heated towel rails in the bathrooms. Two of our rooms are on the first floor and one room has a bath only. If you do have specific requirements please feel free to contact us and we would be delighted to assist you in any way we can.

Set on a few acres our accommodation is a separate annex to the pub & restaurant, with most of our rooms overlooking our resident pets in our paddock.

We are a Free House and have a wide selection of bitters (come and try our local real ales - we are CAMRA accredited) and lagers, an excellent wine list and a wide range of single malts. All our food is prepared on the premises using the finest local ingredients where possible, meals can be tailored for if required. We specialise in traditional English Fayre, fresh fish & local seasonal game. You can eat in the bar or the restaurant.

We are proud to announce we have recently received a very prestigious award - Winners of the Best Restaurant & Pub Award for Wiltshire 2012. We are also recommended by Alastair Sawday's 'Special Places to Stay'. 'Exceptional Places to Stay' The Daily Telegraph.

Please note we are now serving food
Mondays 12 noon - 8pm
Tuesdays to Saturday from 12 noon - 9pm
Sunday 12 noon - 6.30pm

Breakfast is served in our restaurant
Monday - Friday 7.30am - 9.00am
Saturday & Sunday 8.30am - 9.30am

Our check-in times are between 3pm - 9pm
We ask you to vacate your room by 10.30am.

We look forward to welcoming you...
Picture of The White Horse Inn, Calne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value, excellent food
We selected on the basis of location and reviews- we were not dissapointed. The room was great clean and spotless. The only downside was that the extracter vent in the bathroom did not work and I finished the shower in a misty haze and a damp bathroom. Food in the restraunt was first class - we will go again

Reviewed by
N Thomas

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Time to stop looking,you've found where to stay!
Superbly clean, excellent attention to detail, helpful staff who all performed their duties with pride and ability

Reviewed by
D Collins

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Restaurant was fab room was okay
Food in the restaurant was amazing. Rooms were decorated to a nice standard. Staff were amazing and went out of their way to help me.

Reviewed by
Emma G

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is excellently located with many attractions in the area. The accommodation was clean & comfortable & an added extra was the welcome pack which included some delicious homemade cookies. The staff were very friendly & helpful as well as being professional. The food served in the restaurant at breakfast & dinner was superior & ample if you have a healthy appetite. In all we had a lovely weekend & would be happy to recommend this place to everyone.

Reviewed by
Debbie P

From Shepperton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

As usual our stay was superb in every way&the food as always excellent
Our only adverse comment-our room over night was very hot due to no opening windows. Oh for a breath of fresh air!

Reviewed by
CHARLES GAHAN

From STOKE GABRIEL, TOTNES,, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely place to stay great b & b
On arrival we were made to feel very welcome by every member of staff, shown to our room, the accommodation was fresh, clean and tidy.
In the evening we ate in the restaurant, the food was top quality although quite expensive.
Great place to stay if you want to treat yourself.

Reviewed by
Nigel Moon

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful
We came from the US to attend a family wedding in the area. My daughter found the White Horse Inn on line and we booked some time ago and then recommended the Inn to another cousin who also stayed there. Our experience was amazing.
We had two family dinners, one for four and one for eleven. Both were fantastic. The food was incredible and the service was wonderful. And the breakfasts were out of this world--so freshly prepared and tasty.
I cannot say enough about the White Horse Inn.
Thank you, thank you, thank you.

Reviewed by
Linda K Corbett

From Tempe, USA
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful location; great service
I had a ground floor double room, with french doors that lead onto a small patio looking out onto a field with sheep, geese and even a pig! The accommodation is behind the pub so you're away from the main activity. The pub restaurant serves excellent food and they were so helpful when I had an early start the first morning; providing me with a breakfast tray the night before. I would definitely stay there again. It's also very close to must-see places such as Avebury.

Reviewed by
Wendy B

From Par, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming Accommodations

The White Horse Inn is on a classic english country lane about 4 miles north of Calne. Easy driving distance to Avebury, Malborough, and even Bath and Stonehenge if you make a day of it.
The rooms are located in one separate building behind the main building that has a nice small pub and a great restaurant. They have a selection of room sizes, so make sure you know what you need. We stayed in a double, on the second level (room 9), it was nice. There is a small pasture on the property with geese, sheep and pigs, so nice for kids. The property sits well off the main lane with plenty of outdoor space if you have little ones that need to run. There is a nice area of outdoor seating, picnic tables if the weather is nice.
This Inn was great value for money in my opinion, you won't be disappointed.

Reviewed by
K Bacon

From Phoenix, USA
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent B&B in lovely countryside setting.
The White Horse Inn was a really great find for a weekend break in Wiltshire. The room was a good size with a very comfortable bed, good quality bathroom with large shower area, and views over a field of sheep. The accommodation is in a building about 30 feet behind the pub, and built to a high standard.
Food in the pub is very good. The cooked breakfast had delicious black pudding and sausage, and the evening meals were extremely good, reflecting the Michelin Recommended status. We had an Amuse Bouche of Pea and Truffle soup that was wonderful, the goats cheese and balsamic ice cream starter was delicious, and the rack of lamb also lovely.

Reviewed by
David S

From Maidenhead, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next