The White Horse Inn

4

The White Horse Inn Compton Bassett, Calne, SN11 8RG

Price From 184.35 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Excellent

All reviews (56)

98% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Karen G

  • April 2015

Lovely setting and a friendly and thoughtful team

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome.

The staff team are all friendly and helpful. The rooms are spotless, bright and we'll appointed with comfortable beds, ample storage and a good shower. Our room was on the ground floor with a small patio and chairs outside and a view of the paddock with sheep, pigs and geese. We also enjoyed an evening meal here which was well cooked and beautifully presented. A very enjoyable stay.

  • Mary P

  • April 2015

Idyllic Location and Wonderful Comfort

Cleanliness: immaculate everywhere.

Comfort: very good indeed. Slightly superior duvets would make it perfect. Food: very good, well executed and presented. Customer service: excellent. A warm welcome and eager to please. It takes an awful lot of hard work to run an establishment within the service industry and the owners have nailed it. A really delightful place to stay. Would not hesitate to recommend.

  • D Hall

  • February 2015

What a treat

Joined friends for a delayed birthday treat, stayed just the one night, great accommodation, food and the staff were all great.

Hope to repeat it someday. Great area for sight seeing and we enjoyed great weather which was a bonus!

  • Amanda L

  • February 2015

Excellent B&B, Excellent Food, Excellent Service, Loved It, Highly Recommend!!

I stayed here for 3 nights as part of a wedding party.

My arrival ended up being far later than scheduled and I called ahead to make arrangements and see what the options were, if any. Tara assured me that it wouldn't be a problem and arranged a self-check in, leaving me her home phone number in case of anything. She couldn't have been more helpful or supportive. When I arrived, everything was set up and it was all very easy, I felt really taken care of, it was a lovely start. The room was lovely, the House Keeper was kind and thoughtful, the breakfast fantastic and the food in the evening in the pub was fab. I especially loved the pub with the lovely log fire. I spent the last night in the bar with Georgina and Natasha serving and they were so friendly and welcoming, they couldn't do enough for me. I felt really taken care of and looked after, which is always so welcoming when traveling alone. After a few G&T's I thought I'd left my phone in the bar and we ended up having to call the owner to come to the rescue, and within 5 minutes everything was sorted. Everyone is so accommodating here, it was so refreshing to receive such genuine care and attention. I can't recommend this place highly enough. And in general, I'm a real complainer, but this place just emanated kindness. Thank you, to everyone.

  • D Haine

  • January 2015

Excellent

friendly and informative reception, lovely room, excellent breakfast

  • w adamson

  • December 2014

Well worth a visit.

Excellent accommodation, superb food and friendly staff and management.

  • N Thomas

  • November 2014

Good value, excellent food

We selected on the basis of location and reviews- we were not dissapointed.

The room was great clean and spotless. The only downside was that the extracter vent in the bathroom did not work and I finished the shower in a misty haze and a damp bathroom. Food in the restraunt was first class - we will go again

  • D Collins

  • October 2014

Time to stop looking,you've found where to stay!

Superbly clean, excellent attention to detail, helpful staff who all performed their duties with pride and ability

  • Emma G

  • October 2014

Restaurant was fab room was okay

Food in the restaurant was amazing.

Rooms were decorated to a nice standard. Staff were amazing and went out of their way to help me.

  • Debbie P

  • October 2014

The hotel is excellently located with many attractions in the area.

The accommodation was clean & comfortable & an added extra was the welcome pack which included some delicious homemade cookies. The staff were very friendly & helpful as well as being professional. The food served in the restaurant at breakfast & dinner was superior & ample if you have a healthy appetite. In all we had a lovely weekend & would be happy to recommend this place to everyone.