Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Scotland > Strathclyde > Glasgow Hotels > Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
59 Union Street , Glasgow, G1 3RB
The Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel is one of the oldest Victorian buildings in Glasgow and forms part of the Architectural Landscape of the city.

As the name suggests the Hotel has many features in connection with Charles Rennie Mackintosh. Over the years the hotel has been refurbished but always with an eye to keeping the Mackintosh era alive also every effort is made to retain as much originality as possible. Unfortunately, because the hotel is of a Victorian era there is no passenger lift but we ensure our guests have every assistance with their luggage by prior request. Rooms have got Flat screen TV's, complimentary mineral water, cookies and tea / coffee making facilities.

The rooms vary in size from a single to a family room depending on your needs and all have ensuite bathrooms. The rooms have all the basic amenities required by a business traveller or a tourist. Traditional Scottish Breakfast is included in the price and there is a 24 hour bar to accommodate hotel guests if required.

There is a very quiet lounge for people to sit and relax which also has a free wi fi internet access for the residents only.

Come and enjoy the beautiful city and our warm and friendly service.
Picture of Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 234 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for cheap 1 night to lay head close to train station.
We were coming to Glasgow for a party. We needed to stay close to the train station (tick). The hotel was fine, staff not too welcoming, but the room was cheap so I wasn't expecting 5*. The room was small, but again, we were only staying for 1 night. The thing that was a shame was pieces of paper bluetacked to walls and doors stating information (the paper wasn't even cut straight). It just gave a very "couldn't care" feel to the whole hotel. The room its self was functional, ensuite. The shower wasn't great, but water came out of it! I'd have been happier if the external door was locked about 12 and to be buzzed in. We came back about 2.30am and just walked in. About 4am and then a bit later someone tried opening our door (we presumed it was someone searching for their room, but as the main downstairs door was unlocked it could have been someone off the street). The breakfast was quite poor.....it was all very watery and not well cooked, i presumed it had all been precooked and was warmed through before served. As i said earlier we had been looking for somewhere not too expensive, close to the train station. ..so this did tick those boxes. Not horrible, but not great. Basically a budget hotel.

Reviewed by
Lucy D

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beyond expectation
Large room with double bed and single bed all very clean bathroom looked quite new . Tray with good assortment biscuits, tea coffee milk. Cooked Breakfast was very good for such a low price we paid.

Reviewed by
E McFadzean

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice hotel, great location and would stay here again.

Reviewed by
Niall Christie

From Gulberwick, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rennie
First time I have seen mice in any hotel I have ever stayed in. This was unbelievable. Certainly not accessible really either as I was on the top floor about 4 or 5 flights of stairs up. If I hadn't of checked in so late I wouldn't have stayed and went somewhere else.

Reviewed by
Chris M

From Buckie, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

:(
Rip off!

Reviewed by
brian w

From dundee oi, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel
nice hotel, basic but clean this was all i needed as only staying 1 night, staff were friendly, very easy access to city centre, lovely breakfast!

Reviewed by
michelle m

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grandma enjoying short break with 9 year old grandson
Booked hotel because of proximity to Central station so was expecting it to be an older building. However, although warned that there was no lift, did expect reception to be on ground floor so personally , because of mobility problems, found the stairs up to reception on first floor quite daunting. It is for this reason only that I will not be staying there again. The room was very comfortable with all amenities needed -enjoyed the breakfasts. However the staff, especialy on reception were outstanding, friendly, helpful, knowledgable and always greeted one with smiles.

Reviewed by
Evelyn Trotter

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Windows to busy street below didn't appear to close properly causing quite a bit of noise. Bed very uncomfortable with covers only just about covering. En suite with lots of marks on most surfaces. Appears not the tidiest place.

Reviewed by
Richard M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what u pay for - staff are great!
Stayed here for a night when in glassgow on a hen night we had 3 rooms for the group and all rooms had evberything you could need. Clean beds, towels and bathroom. There is even bottled water, a kettle and biscuits. I needed an iron and one was provided along with an ironing board. The staff were all great and very helpful. Breakfast was also nice just what you need after a night out on the town.

Reviewed by
susan c

From Carnoustie, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I'd only stay again if I was desperate!
Given the name of the hotel, I was relatively hopeful that previous reviewers were being a little harsh......but sadly not!
The entrance is a single doorway directly off Union Street which leads onto a tartan carpeted stairway an up to flights of stairs to reception. Okay so far - the member of staff at check-in couldn't have been less disinterested if he tried - and so on to my room on the 4th floor.
The hotel doesn't have a lift, so not a good choice if stairs are an issue for you, and the higher I got the more run down and unclean the hotel became. Cracked windows, uneven floors and stairs, and given the size and amount of the dust bunnies on the last staircase I was tempted to go out and buy some carrots for them!
I had requested a quiet room, but didn't get it even this high up - the corridor door had no closer on it and slammed shut whenever anyone went through it.
The room itself was very hot and no air con - the hotel seem to be aware of this as there is a big fan in the corner which I had to leave running all night as well as leaving the window open.
You get a single small pillow - not dissimilar to those provided on aeroplanes in terms of thickness, a small bed, and a fairly unsupportive mattress. The TV is new and provides free view channels.
The bathroom is on a slope and dangerous in bare feet, but the shower at least provided warm water at a decent flow.
The carpet in the room had been made up from off cuts, and was peeling in places with bits of underlay strewn about from either the cleaner or the previous occupant.
There is a hot and cold breakfast that is very much in keeping with the hotel - bland, undercooked, and watery.
If you need to stay in Glasgow, do yourself a favour and pay £10-£20 more and get a decent hotel!

Reviewed by
Mark R

From Stirling, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next