No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bell Inn Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Brook , LYNDHURST, SO43 7HE
A secret hideaway in The New Forest, a charming historic inn dating from 1782 situated in the picturesque New Forest, in the hamlet of Brook. Award winning cuisine, warm and caring service, comfortable bedrooms and 2 challenging 18 hole golf courses await you.

Whether you wish to unwind and relax, explore the forest, discover hidden coastal villages or participate in any of the sporting activities, you will always be welcome.We are only one minute from the M27, and specialise in looking after small numbers of guests, whether a golf group, a few friends or familly on a short break, or for a business meeting.

Our reputation for quality cuisine and wines is growing all the time, and you can choose to eat in the bar from the a la carte menu. We are delighted to announce that Carl France, has joined us as Head Chef to manage our kitchen operation. Carl is dedicated to using locally sourced food and follows that principle by sourcing a significant amount of our produce from within the New Forest.

Important information Guests wishing to dine at the restaurant should pre-book a table. The restaurant is open from 18:30 until 21:00.
Picture of The Bell Inn Hotel, LYNDHURST at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very lovely hotel lovely location
the staff were very friendly and helpful. would stay here again

Reviewed by
S Green

From Hounslow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A superb relaxing stay.
Wonderful location in the New Forest, the ponies,donkeys and cows were so enchanting. The fact that we could take our dog and enjoy walks in the lovely countryside was a fantastic experience. Have never stayed in a hotel where al the staf were so friendly and helpful, worthy of 5 stars.

Reviewed by
Michael Litchfield

From Hertford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anniversary stay
Lovely place for a night away. Breakfast was a buffet, lovely full English but the tea&coffee they offered us when we sat down only arrived after we had finished breakfast. Apart from that, the staff at breakfast were very good! We stayed in the manor room-very big and squishy bed, everything was extremely clean.

Reviewed by
L Bennett

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely and peaceful new forest hotel
Friendly and helpful front of house staff, room was perfect for a quick stop over. Cheerful staff at breakfast with good selection of hot and cold food.

Reviewed by
rachel o

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not much information given at check in, no wi fi service as there is no signal, poor breakfast on a small standin table in a large room next door to the dining so i felt like i was intruding on the large function rooms reception. A small selection of breafast items and there were no baked beans or tinned tomatoes, very disappointing.

Reviewed by
Emily Lewis

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Staff
Having eaten here numerous times and also stayed before, this is one of our favourite places. We paid £119 for B&B in a "bijou " room, although the room was spotless and had all we required I would not pay any more for that room. We had not considered the fact of bank holiday when booking and know that better deals can be had.
We were also unaware that apparently there are no specials provided on a Sunday and that a couple of items on the set menu were unavailable. We prefer a wider choice. In effect I ended up eating sea bass two days running. This was entirely my choice and my eventual meal was delicious.
A minor issue regarding our meal was swiftly rectified. In fact the small problems which we have never previously encountered proved to us how dedicated to good service are the staff at The Bell.

Reviewed by
G Evans

From Ventnor, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New Forest Hotel
We had a lovely stay here and enjoyed watching the donkeys wandering about up and down the road. Our only criticism was the very slow drinks service in the restaurant, we had finished our starters and our main meal had been served before they came to say they did not have the wine we had ordered.

Reviewed by
T Thomas

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming. Fantastic with our dog. Will definitely come again. Loved the complimentary jelly beans..
I think mineral water in the room would be a nice touch.

Reviewed by
Brooke Davis

From Christchurch, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay in comfortable surroundings
Staying at the Bell was a good experience from start to finish. One of our group was disabled and they offered an upgrade to a ground floor twin room at the single rate for easier access.
All the staff were exceptional, being friendly and eager to please. The bar area and lounge areas were both quiet and comfortable.
The evening menu was interesting with a good choice and the food was lovely. The breakfast was first class.
All in all the whole experience exceeded our expectations and we will be returning if we get the chance.

Reviewed by
David L

From Penarth, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location, poor security
Excellent location, food, restaurant, restaurant staff, bar and bed mattress.
Tired room, On-suite and old uncomfortable pillows.
Very poor night time security.
Due to neighbouring room guests collapsed drunk and sleeping in a pile on the landing at midnight outside our doorway we needed the night-time staff to resolve the situation. The person answering the phone had very poor command of English ("I am from Spain and don't understand what you say") leaving my wife and I in the venerable position of dealing with the situation.
We feel this is not acceptable and look to your good selves to answer our experience.
The deal we had from Late Rooms would have been exceeded if we had arranged the accommodation direct with the Bell Inn, typically an included evening meal.

Reviewed by
C Shingler

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next