No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Polebarn Hotel

Not Classified  Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Polebarn Road , Trowbridge nr Bradford on Avon, BA14 7EG
The Polebarn Hotel dates back to 1789 and is located in the town centre of Trowbridge, the county town of Wiltshire.
We provide clean, comfortable, guest house style accommodation in a Grade ll listed building. Independently owned and run by our friendly family who are knowledgeable on the local area. A great location in Wiltshire if you want a cheaper, well furnished hotel while visiting Bath, Bradford on Avon, Westbury or Longleat. We now provide free Wifi to all our customers. We don't serve evening meals so our town centre location means a wide choice of restaurants are only a short walk away and we are happy to recommend our favourites.
Winner 2013-2014 Service Provider of the Year. Winner of TripAdvisor 2013 Certificate of Excellence Award. See website for more details.
Picture of The Polebarn Hotel, Trowbridge nr Bradford on Avon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 71 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A base to visit Bath
Very interesting property and a cheaper alternative to staying in Bath. Train station nearby. Owner Natasha was very friendly and helpful, although we were hardly in residence due to a full day and evening out visiting Bath. Breakfast was lovely and served in no time at all. No qualms about staying there again. Please note that at the time of writing, the hotel does not serve evening meals and Trowbridge has very little restaurants to speak of, save an Indian and the usual collection such as Nando's etc. around a cinema complex there. The Greek and Italian shown on google maps have long since closed. Alternatively, Bath is only a 15min train ride away.

Reviewed by
Mike E

From Market Harborough, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely little hotel!
Just got back after a great stay a the polebarn hotel with my boyfriend. The room was great; comfy bed and so nicely decorated, the staff were very friendly and it's really close to the town and restaurants so we will definitely be coming back next time we're in the area!

Reviewed by
Emma F

From Trowbridge, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location, great breakfast
The hotel is situation in a very large historic building which is very nice indeed.
It is apparent that gradually the latest owners are trying to bring the hotel up too modern day specs and are doing a good job at it.
I stayed in a single ensuite room which in fairness was a little on the small site, but addiquite.
My only real criticism of the room other than that is the newly refurbished bathroom had a slight design fault with the shower in that it was very difficult turning it on without getting in it and the initial cold water hitting you, I think if they had the door openening the other way, that would not have happened.
Saying that if that's all I got to moan about, it's pretty good going.
The breakfast was very nice and of a high quality.
The immediate surrounding area has some fast food outlets and some pubs to get yourselfs an evening meal from, there is parking at the rear of the hotel.
Should I require staying in that area again, I would defiantly stay here again.

Reviewed by
Richard F

From Wolverhampton, England
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very helpful
We booked the Polebarn as it was near the venue for a friend's wedding. I asked if we could leave our bags as we had to be at the wedding by one and check in is not until two. I was told we could check in from twelve and have access to our room, which was very helpful. The room was comfortable and attractively furnished, if quite small, and the breakfast was very good.

Reviewed by
J Hartley

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice hotel and lovely people

Reviewed by
Stuart P

From Chislehurst, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Polebarn Hotel
Very good hotel and very friendly staff. Room very comfortable, clean and warm. Breakfast was very good.

Reviewed by
D Fairgrieve

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We booked in to this hotel going by the good reviews and availability, the area is awful we did not stay

Reviewed by
Veronica C

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent

Reviewed by
Chris R

From Seaford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Privately run hotel, with character
A very comfortable privately run hotel. The tasteful conversion is a good compromise between retaining the character of an 18th century town house and providing the facilities of a hotel. The discrete reception desk in the original hall to the mismatched furniture in the rooms add to the character and makes a nice change from the utilitarian sameness of big chains. He staff were friendly and helpful. The room and ensuite were clean and well presented. We only stayed one night, arriving late evening and leaving next morning, so we did not sample all the facilities, but what we saw was good, especially the excellent breakfast. Will certainly be using again when we visit the area.

Reviewed by
Dave L

From Farnham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small room. Good breakfast.
Very small room, comfortable bed. Tea and coffee facilities is a plus. Tiny shower cabin with big shower head, not very practical. Good breakfast choice.

Reviewed by
Ewa D

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next