No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The White Horse Hotel & Brasserie

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Market Place , Romsey, SO51 8ZJ
The White Horse Hotel & Brasserie is situated in the heart of the market town of Romsey. Within striking distance of the Abbey this boutique hotel combines 14th century history and charm with classic modern chic. All 31 bedrooms have been individually designed and the public rooms lovingly restored to create an ambience of calm and tranquillity.

The hotel is perfectly placed fro strolling and picnicking in the New Forest, fly fishing on the world renowned River Test, shopping in the boutique shops of Romsey and Stockbridge or even a few rounds of golf at one of the 6 local courses.

No doubt on your return a well earned drink in the bar would be in order and with over 40 wines and 50 whiskies, not to mention the few gins, your are spoilt for choice. Dinner in the award winning Brasserie is a delight with high back leather chairs and views of the courtyard beyond the twinkling lights. The food again is a combination of traditional and modern, expertly prepared and delivered.

And so to bed... White Company goods, fluffy bathrobes and oh so comfortable beds...
Picture of The White Horse Hotel & Brasserie, Romsey at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Such a loveley Genuine Country Inn but with all mod cons
I have stayed here twice before, and on both those occasions found the service impeccable. Once again the Hotel lived up to its expectations. The room was immaculate, quiet, with a bed which was just to my taste.
I had the Aberdeen Angus steak with blue cheese and fat chips in the restraint, with local Romsey Brewery Ale. Impeccable...

Reviewed by
David W

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very impressed and right in the centre of Romsey,which is very pretty.

Reviewed by
Robin B

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An anniversary to remember
We have stayed at the hotel before & were so impressed we thought we'd return to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. From the moment we arrived the staff were extremely friendly & welcoming. We were given a large room because we had our dog with us - a loft room which was beautifully decorated, as is the rest of the hotel. We had dinner at the hotel & were again very impressed by the service & high quality food. We were even presented with a board piped with 'happy anniversary' in chocolate, accompanied with chocolate nibbles. Such a lovely thought by the staff & it just added to a wonderful night away in lovely little Romsey. We will be back!

Reviewed by
Barry M

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable bed

Reviewed by
david s

From Devizes, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The White Horse Romsey
The White Horse is a lovely Hotel in a lovely Town. I would choose it every time. The quality is great, rooms are clean and comfortable with extras like dressing gown/slippers. The restaurant is fantastic - excellent food with a great choice of evening and breakfast options.

Reviewed by
Tracey D

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good central position.
Central yet little traffic noise. We were cycle touring and the staff were very helpful about storing the bikes overnight. Quite expensive; having to pay extra for breakfast adds even more, but the standard of accommodation was certainly good.

Reviewed by
EDWARD K

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Think about the weather
We stayed on an unusually hot night. The building is old so I can understand the lack of air con but a heavy duvet, no sheet alternative and an electric towel rail left on full heat was disappointing for what should be a high end experience.

Reviewed by
Dan C

From Ware, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely experience
The staff were most attentive and polite.
My stay was very comfortable and relaxing

Reviewed by
E Dunn

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surpassing expectation
Excellent service, well above average food, interesting rooms and a delightful location in a pretty town. A lot better than I expected and I will be very tempted to return.

Reviewed by
Simon W

From Chinnor, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Curry and nice
One night only without sampling the food or bar as we discovered a wonderful curry house less than 5 minutes walk away and cruised a few pubs looking for decent ale to no avail. Our room overlooked the main street so there was the noise of the market being set up in the morning and there was shouting in the street at kicking out time but all beyond the hotel's control, the staff were friendly and the room was cosy , no fault found with the facilities at all, we would stop over on a longer journey again as long as room wasn't at the front.

Reviewed by
Justin S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next