No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wessex Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
High Street , Street, BA16 0EF
We welcome you to the Wessex, a modern hotel that nestles in the heart of historic and beautiful Somerset, in the Ancient Kingdom of Wessex. We are rated 3 Star AA Hotel.

We offer a warm welcome to a wide range of guests: from business people, tourists, shoppers at nearby Clark’s Village, sightseers, parents of Millfield children, walkers, cyclists, garden enthusiasts, visitors to the nearby Bath and West Showground to Carnival-goers … and many others.

The hotel is idealy placed for exploring the neraby attraction of Wells catherdrial, The Glastnbury Tor, Glastonbury Abbey, Chalice Well, The Shoe museum, Wooky Hole Caves, The fleet Air Arm Museum & Greenbank Pool
with the sea resort of Weston-Super- Mare and Burnam on sea only a 40  minutes drive and Stonehenge , City of Bath & Longlet Safari ParK only a 50 minutes drive.

The Wessex Hotel is the ideal venue for the conference Delegate in the West Country, located near the centre of Somerset in the Mendip Area, having a choice of three different-sized conference rooms as well as a large car park.

Guests and non-residents alike may enjoy our friendly hospitality in our restaurants and bars, or attend functions, anniversaries and wedding receptions in one of our two Function Rooms.

All  our rooms come with Freeview TV , WIFI &  a Full cooked English breakfast all included within the price

We look forward to hosting your visit to the Wessex Hotel.

Wishing you a blessed day 


Picture of Wessex Hotel, Street at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 46 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
60% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hard bed
The pillows were not comfortable, the bed a little tired (springs stuck into you) but otherwise a resonable room that was as good as expected for a last minute accomodation.

Reviewed by
David Hare

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely!
Fantastic stay nice and close to glastonbury

Reviewed by
Lucy M

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My partner being very tall was unable to use the shower properly

Reviewed by
M Gibson

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location for Clarks Village, although rooms are clean they do need an up grade which is due to be carried out shortly, staff friendly, good choice of food.

Reviewed by
William R

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room
Nice location nice hotel but needs a face lift room smelt fusty, great breakfast friendly staff .

Reviewed by
Graham Mitchell

From Hinckley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay & Dog friendly 17.08.14
I booked this hotel as they were dog friendly and it was brilliant. Me, my partner and the dog enjoyed our stay for the evening. The staff here are a credit to the hotel. Our room was spotless. We had an evening meal here (steak and chips and a spaghetti bollanise) both very good. Breakfast was delicious. A good stay for a good price.

Reviewed by
A Dewhirst

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Street hotel
Room was spacious clean with good decor and newly returned bathroom. The water ran hot even the cold. So a glass of cool water to drink was a problem. The bed comfort level was poor. One where all the springs "twanged" as you sat lay or moved on the bed. Service for breakfast was very good. Waitress with a smile and genuine care. But food was a average. And the coffee was really odd. Take the tea given the choice.

Reviewed by
Maura B

From Warwick, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
A last minute deal that we were hesitant about when we drove in, looks very dated (70's) - which it obviously was built in- including some plastic plants!!
Inside was much nicer though, clean & tidy with very helpful staff.
The room was very good especially considering the price. Comfy bed.
The breakfast was ok! Nothing special but not horrible, a good range of choices available.
Good location for the centre of Street- shops, pubs etc. Right on the doorstep of Clarks village, close to other attractions like Glastonbury, Wooley Hole.

Reviewed by
Victoria T

From Gloucester , UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Better than I was expected
The hotel was better than I was expected through photos and reviews in several websites.
Very friendly staff, british country style lobby, very well decorated rooms, large flat TV screens, very good breakfast... We stayed two nights (diferrent bookings) as extension of our trip and one night was in a jaccuzi room which was perfect!
Location is very good, close to bus stations and to walking path from Street to Glastonbury, and of course close to Clarks Village.

Reviewed by
ELENI TZIORTZIOTI

From Greece
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel in a convenient location
We stayed at the Wessex as we were in the area for a concert in Glastonbury. Street is a lovely place with a lot of things to do nearby. The Hotel was conveniently located for us and even though its not the most modern looking of places from the outside, the rooms were very spacious and comfortable and very clean. Food at breakfast was very nice. If we were in the area again we would stay here but hoping perhaps to get a slightly cheaper room rate.

Reviewed by
Andrew Pick

From Blackwood, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next