No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lodge

4Visit England Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
The Lodge, 1 Hunt Street, Old Town , Swindon, SN1 3HW
Recently refurbished, this ivy clad building in the heart of town has been tastefully refurbished to compliment the building and provides eight well appointed en-suite bedrooms, an attractive conservatory dining room, ample car parking and complimentary wi-fi. The Lodge has a friendly and relaxing atmosphere and is conveniently located within a peaceful neighbourhood in the Old Town area of Swindon. Just a few minutes walk away are the town hall and town centre with its theaters, museums, restaurants, wine bars and numerous shops. The M4 motorway is just moments away, as is access to major trunk roads and the bus/rail stations.
Picture of The Lodge, Swindon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very comfortable
nice little hotel, plenty tea coffee etc free wifi was out before breakfast so cant comment on that
plenty shops within a short walk and morrisons is opening around the corner
shower was a bit lame but would stay again definately

Reviewed by
ian w

From Prescot, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I really enjoy my stay, my bedroom gosh it was very nice and homely that was the thing I wanted,

Reviewed by
Nomabali Yobo

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good honest B & B
A good , honest no nonsense B & B with really friendly staff and good value for money. Possibly the best the nights sleep I have had working away for years.

Reviewed by
Richard F

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

accommodation
Very helpful with regard to my special diet

Reviewed by
robert girling

From gozo, malta, fnt 101, Malta
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bed uncomfortable. Low water pressure on shower. Parking ok.
Room at front with constant boisterous noise from passing late night/early morning club and pub customers returning home. Located mid way between New and Old town areas. Easy walking distance.

Reviewed by
pete s

From Stanford le Hope, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice and cosy
A very nice little B&B, perfect for a night stay over in Swindon.

Reviewed by
Paul B

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

old town swindon
Simple, clean, good value for money, walking distance to town centre, ample parking.

Reviewed by
jonathan h

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beware light sleepers!
Very friendly hotel, quite small but easy to find with a good location just off the Old Town. Parking on the street was easy with plenty of spaces and the hotel has its own car park if things are a little busier. The room I stayed in (room 3) was very small but clean. I had two issues however; 1. The shower was pathetic with virtually no pressure and a very small head, you literally have to "run around to get wet" as the old joke goes. 2. The walls are paper thin and you can hear everything that is going on in the rooms adjacent. The noise was very intrusive and prevented a good nights rest. On the plus side the breakfast was excellent and overall the hotel (guest house really) was good value and OK for a quick stopover.

Reviewed by
mark c

From Hornsea, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what was required
Booked here as was very convenient for the restaurant I was going to that night, and because it was pretty much the cheapest room in all of swindon!
As others have said, parking is pretty limited. I had to park on the road as 'other customers had parked poorly'.

Reviewed by
Tom E

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice, clean and presentable hotel. Very friendly staff. Breakfast was a delightful treat and very plentiful. Only issue was parking. Could not use on site parking which was very tight to get into anyway as workmen undertaking job at hotel. On street parking quite limited for time leaving car.

Reviewed by
A Colyer

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next