No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Malt Shovel

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
The Malt Shovel Upper Lambourn, Berkshire, RG17 8QN
The Malt Shovel is a Grade II listed freehold Public House which offers Bed & Breakfast accommodation. We are family run business in the heart of the Lambourn valley, West Berkshire. The Malt Shovel underwent a renovation in 2007 and has been sympathetically renovated, in keeping with its reputation as a favourite watering hole for the racing fraternity for miles around. We are situated in the village of Upper Lambourn, at the heart of the racing community and surrounded by the magnificent Lambourn Downs. It has always been frequented by an impressive but unpretentious clientele who love The Malt Shovel's friendly ambience. Indeed locals have gathered here for hundreds of years in what was previously the old village bakery. The Pub combines its friendly atmosphere with a fresh stylish décor, throughout the traditional bars where fresh locally sourced, home cooked food is served, accompanied by fine wines.

Both the bar and the restaurant areas have been designed to meet all tastes and provide a high level of comfort throughout from our plush leather sofas to our fully air conditioned bars or Log burner fires depending on the English weather. Our aim is to provide an environment where everyone is welcomed and feels at home. Our exquisite rooms are superbly fitted with extremely large comfortable beds and the heated tiled bathroom floors all aimed to make your stay an absolute pleasure and compliment the friendly and relaxed atmosphere found throughout the pub. In the morning you can enjoy watching the local horse racing yards exercising their string of Racehorses from the comfort of your bedroom or enjoy the natural wakeup call of their hooves whilst snuggled up in your Queen size bed. The Malt Shovel is steeped in Racing history but if racing is not your thing don't think you will be out of place here, we are closely located to other local attractions such as White Horse Hill & Ashdown House, a short drive from Reading, Newbury & Swindon all great for an afternoon shopping and a little further afield but worth a visit if you have the time is Bicester Outlet Village.

The Malt Shovel leads the way in an era of small, comfortable and popular pubs that become a focal point for their local community and provide a welcome haven for locals and visitors alike. We hope you join us soon .....'
Picture of The Malt Shovel, Berkshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what we expected, enjoyed our stay.
Very welcoming, shown to our room. We had a suite which was very spacious and very clean. Food was also very good, especially the full English breakfast each morning. We choose the Malt Shovel due to it's location for what we need to do, and were not disappointed. We would recommend to family and friends.

Reviewed by
S Butterfield

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value
Good value very difficult to get wifi
or mobile reception premises in need of a bit of paint Very good if your into Horses
or horse racing food well cooked We enjoyed the experience

Reviewed by
Paul S

From Kingston upon Thames, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely quiet location, and friendly helpful staff, food was excellent and we will definitely stay there again when in the area.

Reviewed by
k lamb

From Littlehampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Racing pub in Lambourn
The hotel had a nice racing character. The young man who checked us in was very nice, helpful & friendly. The dinners were flavoursome and good value. The bar maid was unnecessarily ferocious and not at all friendly, literally on her 'high horse'. The full English breakfast was excellent but non-English breakfast very limited. Tons of toast though. The pub was clean so was the room with a very comfortable bed however there are some very dirty highchairs in view when eating breakfast a bit offputting.

Reviewed by
a marsh

From Chichester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice little pub
The location is a sleepy little lane except for the race horses clopping by at 5 am! Overall a very comfortable country pub with good evening food and breakfast. The serving wench was new to the job so we forgave the slow breakfast service on the first morning. Friday evening saw the pub near full with the local horse fraternity so made for a good atmosphere.
The only gripe was that as we were in a downstairs room we could hear doors slamming for some reason from an early hour. The Berkshire downs are only a five minute drive away so the local area is very scenic.

Reviewed by
Derek S

From East Cowes, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not ideal for business
This would be really nice if you wanted a country pub stay and to be cut off from the communication.
The room was decorated lovely and the heated floor was a treat but no phone signal at all and wifi only available in the bar area was not ideal for my trip.

Reviewed by
Megan W

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Malt Shovel

Reviewed by
Peter V

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really warm welcome was down for a course that weekend and even though they did not do breakfast till 9 on a sunday they made the effort of providing us with one at a earlier time. Would really like to go there again thank you

Reviewed by
k reid

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We booked a "deluxe" room "to wake to the sound of horses hooves on the gallops". In reality the leaking shower drumming on the tray and some other pump background noise meant a disturbed night was inevitable. We left at 10 and drove 60 miles back home. Food was billed as freshly cooked with locally sourced ingredients - cold scampi, peas and chips is difficult to achieve and the fine wine we poured away. In our extensive travels both on business and leisure we have never felt the need to leave prematurely. We rang the Malt Shovel the next morning to give them our feedback.

Reviewed by
DAVID R

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simply Outstanding
From the moment I entered the building till the moment I left I was treated like the most important person there.the staff were so friendly, it was what they could do to help you. Always a friendly atmosphere and the subject of horses was popular. Indeed plenty of racing staff/trainers/jockeys/vets frequent the Malt Shovel and not hard to see why. And what better than an early morning alarm of horses cantering by your bedroom on the way to the gallops.Food was excellent,room was luxury and breakfast very filling.So relaxing and if you like horseracing this is Heaven. Dont miss it!!

Reviewed by
Chris Powell

From Armagh, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next