No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The School House Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Hook Street Hook, Swindon, SN4 8EF
Formerly a Victorian school, this wonderful hotel, grade II-listed, is the perfect place to stay. Close to Swindon, minutes from the M4 (J16), yet set in the Wiltshire countryside, on the borders of the Cotswolds. Business travellers will welcome all the usual business facilities including free WiFi Internet access and meeting rooms. Car hire, station and airport transfers can be arranged. Leisure travellers will enjoy the local gardens and places of interest such as Oxford, Marlborough, Cheltenham, Lacock, Stonehenge, the Cotswolds, Bath and Avebury, all of which are within easy driving distance. The Great Western Designer Outlet is 4 miles away, an ideal shopping location. The Ridgeway is very close, ideal for walking. Avebury Manor, as depicted in "To The Manor Reborn" is only 12miles away. All visitors will appreciate our location and look forward to returning at the end of the day for a drink in the bar, a light meal or a candlelit dinner in the Brasserie. Log fires will be burning in Winter, the outside terrace will be serving cool drinks and delicious food in the Summer. For each room there is one free parking-place. Additional or commercial cars cost 10.00 GBP per day. Vehicles in excess of 3.5 tonnes cannot be accommodated.
Picture of The School House Hotel, Swindon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 40 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely, friendly place!
We enjoyed a lovely stay with our 2 year old daughter for 3 nights in order to be near friends we were visiting in Swindon.
Karen, Tonny and Freddy were very friendly and welcoming every time we saw them - our daughter particularly enjoyed Freddy's company!!
Breakfast was filling each morning and always served with a friendly smile. The dining room is a lovely space and the whole building is full of character and charm.
Our room was very clean and comfortable - we all slept soundly as it was so quiet and peaceful.
We would definitely stay here again!

Reviewed by
K Daly

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really friendly host and a nice welcome but I felt the room was way over-priced for what it was. From the outside look of the buidling I was expecting something a bit special but the room I had was musty and not particularly well furnished. Everything was a bit 'tired' and the rooms seem to have been furnished with second-hand stuff. I'm a bit confused by the 4* rating - I'm not sure what the owner was intending to demonstrate as setting such high expectations around either facilities or quality is just going to lead to dissappointment. On a positive note, the hotel (which I think is really a guest house!) is in a nice location.

Reviewed by
Peter M

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel would stay again

Reviewed by
Ian W

From Rayleigh, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a great stay
a large room with good view and great food. and very friendly hosts and dog . we would go back again

Reviewed by
peter gowers

From braintree, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff and food excellent. Hotel needs some updating.

Reviewed by
C Mogg

From Wimborne, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming, friendly and full of character
A very warm welcome in an unusual and interesting converted school. Plenty of parking. En suite room was clean with furniture that suits the building and a really good strong shower!
Food is excellent with a good choice and one of the best full english breakfasts ever. The dining room is the old school room itself with a log fire and vaulted ceiling so very atmospheric.
A very enjoyable stay and would recommend if you are looking for a comfortable (non corporate) hotel.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth P

From Chesham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Back to School
Second time I've stayed here and I can't fault it. The Owners are friendly and welcoming, the rooms are comfortable and clean, and the food is fantastic.

Reviewed by
D Godfrey

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Remote hotel with good service
The hotel is looking a little in need of some TLC refurbishment, however this is reflected in the price, the welcome and service though is great, lovely couple and the food is what I call "wholesome", it has internet access that although is limited to the rooms is free and has good strength, for the business user this does a job on a budget, would I stay again? Yes, it's a great spot for travellers going to South Wales

Reviewed by
S Hartland

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not in our opinion should be rated 4 star. Very basic. Best thing was meal had in restaurant.
No tea making facilities. Bed very uncomfortable husband slept in bunk bed. Water coming through window. Would not have paid normal rate. Hostess very pleasant husband very particular where you parked although amply of room as few persons using hotel whilst we were there. No christmas decorations no atmosphere for time of year.

Reviewed by
K Blackwell

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

As a seasoned late rooms client this is the first negative review I have left.
I was locked in the bathroom for over 30 minutes, no apology.

Reviewed by
Jed Southgate

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next