No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Horse And Groom Inn

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Horse & GroomCharlton, Malmesbury, SN16 9DL
The Horse and Groom Inn offers five beautifully appointed en-suite bedrooms providing home from home comfort with a modern twist. Each room comes wide screen plasma television, free Wi -Fi internet access, tea and coffee making facilities and luxurious toiletries. All our rates include a delicious, home-cooked Full English breakfast featuring fresh local produce. We do not have family rooms here but children are very welcome and we can provide cots and small temporary beds, please do contact us directly if you wish to bring a child.

Our emphasis on modern comfort makes The Horse and Groom Inn the ideal place to stay whether you are visiting the area for business or pleasure.
For the business traveller, we are just 7 miles from the M4, close to Swindon, yet only half an hour from Bristol and Bath. For the leisure visitor, positioned as we are at the edge of the Cotswolds, there are many local attractions such as Malmesbury Abbey, the Abbey House Gardens, the Cotswold Water Park, and Westonbirt Arboretum not to mention racing at Cheltenham, polo at Cirencester and 3 day events at Badminton.

PLEASE NOTE: OUR RESTAURANT IS VERY BUSY AND BOOKED ALMOST EVERY EVENING. IT IS ADVISABLE TO RING IN ADVANCE AND RESERVE A TABLE OTHERWISE WE CANNOT GUARANTEE A TABLE WILL BE AVAILABLE DURING YOUR STAY. PLEASE CONTACT THE INN DIRECTLY TO FIND OUT RESTAURANT OPENING TIMES AND TO BOOK YOUR TABLE.

Picture of Horse And Groom Inn, Malmesbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel and room spoiled by poor customer service
Extremely brusque reception on arrival and no response to an ealier phone call regarding check in time.No one to check us out.We had to leave the key and were phoned later to arrange payment.The hotel room was absolutely beautiful though

Reviewed by
Ruth B

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely awful, arrived with Late Rooms booking reference and no room available
Would not stay again

Reviewed by
Deborah Suttle

From Newmarket, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First stay
Stayed here recently. Nice large room and hotel is set in the countryside. Good bar with a good choice of real ales. Food and service was very good.

Reviewed by
Martin Winfield

From Cottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel that just needs a bit of a touch up!
I really enjoyed my stay at the hotel but there were not always staff there to ask questions, no reception area or bell to attract anyones attention.
Beautifully deocrated, ornate pieces of furntiure, great room and bathroom and fan much appreciated but I felt the room could have done with a lick of paint as there were small holes in the wall where blinds clearly had been and marks on the wall
Really comfy bed, I arrived late and there was no room service available, a sandwich would have been appreciated!

Reviewed by
j london

From Helston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could be better for the price
We stayed in Room 1.
Pros.... Really large room, very comfy bed. Excellent large TV. Lovely deep bath. Excellent food.
Cons. ..Lock on door faulty, screw missing, very difficult to lock/open. Room really warm, old sash window dropped down too far so couldn't actually leave it open. Had to use fan all night, quite noisy.
Lacking little extras, that are standard in most places...box of tissues, biscuits on tea tray, information folder.

Reviewed by
Maureen M

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay
Beautiful location , arrived early and was still able to check in . Very accommodating , stunning room. Pictures don't do it justice would definitely recommend and dray again .

Reviewed by
Iain B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice country inn
Excellent accomodation nice service and excellent food

Reviewed by
peter w

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small things make a difference
We thought the place was very nice with a welcoming feral. The staff were very friendly and helpful. What let it down slightly were a number of small things. Our door was very tricky to lock and we had to leave it unlocked which was a bit worrying as the back door was being propped open as it was broken. On our return at night the trip switch had gone and we had no lights. At breakfast a few things were missing, plates, spoons etc and it seemed a bit small in choice compared to other places for the same price.

Reviewed by
Vikki B

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Thanks

Reviewed by
Peter P

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Good Value
I was only staying for one night, and I arrived quite late. I was shown to my room by a friendly member of staff. The room was really nice, with a lovely roll top bath and everything I needed for a peaceful night's stay. In the morning I had a quick breakfast. It wasn't a cooked breakfast, but there was plenty to fill me up, and it was nicely presented and appetising. I would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
E Page

From Newquay, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next