No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Avon Gorge Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Avon Gorge HotelPrinces Buildings, Clifton, BRISTOL, BS8 4LD
The Avon Gorge Hotel is a historic building which offers unparalleled views of Brunel’s Grade One listed Clifton Suspension Bridge, said to be one of the worlds greatest bridges.
Boasting a fantastic panorama, the hotel is also in a very central position for both business and leisure trips alike, with Bristol City Centre within walking distance.
The views don’t stop here, from the popular Bridge Café and White Lion Bar, with an extensive all-weather terrace area, look out across the Somerset and the southern areas of Bristol. By foot discover some of the country’s finest architecture in the surrounding area of Clifton, just on your door step

Leisure facilities are available nearby for the hotel guests, consisting of a pool, gym and sauna.

Picture of Avon Gorge Hotel, BRISTOL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 117 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend visit to Bristol
My first visit to Bristol, made very enjoyable by having a nice hotel to call home!

Reviewed by
Anthony Fernandez

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superior Room - Questionable!
Fundamentally nothing wrong with the room or hotel. Not quite sure why I booked a Superior Room though.
I cannot compare the spaciousness compared to other rooms in the hotel but it was okay.
Other 'extras' were a let down.
No Sky TV (surely Sky News doesn't count?).
No bathrobes or slippers (it is embarrassing to go downstairs and ask for them!).
Aromatic toiletries are poor when they are effectively clamped to the wall and the pump action bottles don't work properly
Ensuite bathroom - yes obviously but shower was warm at best.
The 2am Fire Alarm evacuation was probably not the hotels fault but the poor communication during the event and the following morning could have been handled better.
Positives - Excellent wi-fi, very comfortable bed, great location.

Reviewed by
A Holland

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous view of Brunel's Suspension Bridge!
Very enjoyable stay in a clean & comfortable room. We had a wonderful view of Avon Gorge and the Suspension Bridge.

Reviewed by
Mary C

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
The hotel accommodation was clean but the extractor fan in our bathroom did not work. The breakfast was adequate but some of the cooked items looked greasy and the scrambled egg was an insipid pale colour. Our room was at the end of a long, narrow corridor so took quite a walk to get down to main Reception. Felt as if the tariff was based upon the view of the Gorge and Suspension Bridge And as we didn't have a room with the view I think the price was a little high for what we received.

Reviewed by
Alastair K

From Newbury, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another excellent stay
This hotel is in a wonderful location with stunning views over the Clfton Suspension Bridge and the Avon Gorge. If you add to this good low season value for money, friendly staff, comfortable rooms and good food, it's a great place to stay whether for business or leisure.

Reviewed by
Linda P

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bit dated
Very noisy, paper thin walls. Dated decor.
Would not have wanted to pay full price for this room

Reviewed by
Rosalie D

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay
Easy access to city and in spectacular setting. Restaurant excellent value for money
Rooms were clean and warm

Reviewed by
C Bowen

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best view in Bristol
Stayed here for two nights as mixed business/leisure trip. Hotel has great location next to suspension bridge and the downs. Also lots of lovely restaurants/bars in the village ehich is two minutes walk away. Great hotel.

Reviewed by
E Baker

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great view
Great view of the bridge from our room as promised.
Breakfast was a little steep but kids eat for free and the selection was excellent.

Reviewed by
Peter N

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Improvements In Place
Glad to see that improvements have been made since our last stay. Room redecorated to a very good standard. The only issue was with the central heating which is switched off at designated times. Not good on a cold winter's night, which it was and unable to override control.
Other than that, excellent. Breakfast was really excellent and presentation superb.
It's our favourite hotel whenever we visit Bristol. We specially love the rooms with a view of the Bridge.

Reviewed by
R Raymond

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next