Reviews - Three Swans Hotel


117 High Street, Hungerford, RG17 0LZ

Price From 94 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (21)

81% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Mo Ali

  • November 2015

Heating is broken - they accept this.

Nice people, hotel is old.

Avoid room 12 - it's above the laundry rooms and heating doesn't switch off.

  • Leonard S

  • October 2015

Good support services but poor accomodation

Helpful staff and food especially breakfast very good.

We had a twin bedded room. Unfortunately it was designed for a double bed and therefore at first we were unable to find the wall mounted bedside light switches until we realised after some time that they were behind the bed headboards out of reach unless you moved the beds. Puzzled. Our major concerns were the very poor beds. When we sat on them, we could feel the coil springs as very obvious lumps pushing up. These mattresses should have been destroyed years ago. After a very poor first night, we discussed the problem with the owner/manager who thanked us for our comments and arranged to put some form of topper on the beds, stating that replacements would be ordered. This was an improvement and our second night was much better. The hotel itself gave the impression of being 'tired' and needed sprucing up. We considered it overpriced for its standard.


  • July 2015

Never again

loud band playing until 7pm, then noise from beer tent in courtyard, outside the guest bedrooms, complained, but was told manager was off duty from 4pm, and was unable to be contacted.

This Hotel/Pub needs to decide to cater for the guests, or enjoy the loud music etc for its locals, at the moment it is obvious the choice is the latter. Couple returning from a cruise, and had the misfortune to choose this place as a stopover.

  • Stuart H

  • June 2015

Convenient for antique hunters

Comfortable clean room reasonably priced and in the centre of this small town.

  • J Baker

  • April 2015

Its great that Customer service is still a priority at the Three Swans. Great Location.

I had booked a superior room for two nights, as a present for my mother to visit the area.

Upon arrival I was a little apprehensive, however, the staff were very welcoming and friendly. It was great that the hotel had parking facilities which was located near our rooms. When entering our room, it was modern, lovely furniture, good size bathroom with great shower. However, I did feel that some general maintenance, touch up's could be done on keeping up the condition of the room and bathroom and to ensure that the initial hard work of decorating the room did not go by the wayside.Part of the carpet on entering the room was dirty, which on cream carpets didn't look good. Some general touch up was also need in the bathroom. However, other than that, the beds were extremely comfortable, the extra's in the bedrooms such as a hairdryer, ironing board and iron was great and made a nice change not to have to ask reception. The location of the superiors rooms was ideal and looked over the seating area at the back of the hotel which had been done tastefully with potted plants. Another positive for this hotel that it catered for allergies, which they had listed on entering the restaurant area. The breakfast was cooked lovely, with the added bonus I could have Gluten free bread. The lady who served us for our breakfast was extremely welcoming and could not do enough for my mum and myself. So all in all, would I stay again...definitely.... Its great that Customer service is still a priority at the Three Swans.

  • Luke W

  • March 2015

Excellent staff

Nice hotel, big room although it was a bit noisy being at the front.

glad the clock didn't go on all night. Excellent front of house staff & service. Breakfast pretty good although toast was a floppy.

  • Peggy P

  • December 2014

Home again

We enjoyed our stay at the three Swans very much,when we went to our room we found it to be very cold the heater was not on and did not work, but when we told them it was sorted out right away and we were given another room that was warm and cosy.The evening meal was very nice indeed and good friendly service breakfast was great .Having lived and worked in Hungerford many years ago and often went to the 3 Swans for lunch it was nice to go back again.

  • S Fortt

  • December 2014

Clean, nice room, friendly staff

We only stayed for 1 night, the room was very nice, bed was comfy, clean and modern, the bathroom was very nice.

We had breakfast, there was a nice selection and food was good. The town was decorated and all lit up for xmas. No lots of departments shops in Hungerford but pretty walk along the canal.

  • C Phillpotts

  • November 2014

Great overnight stay

The excellent dinner and breakfast at the 3 Swans really made our overnight stay so good here.

Great customer service too, would definitely return. Thank you.

  • Gary Lavis

  • October 2014

Will not think twice about staying at The Three Swans Hotel very good and helpful staff.