No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Three Swans Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
117 High Street , Hungerford, RG17 0LZ
A charming and historic coaching inn, situated in the beautiful Kennet Valley yet easy to reach, just 3 miles from junction 14 of the M4 and with excellent rail links. Three Swans Hotel in the centre of Hungerford invites you to experience a wealth of dining opportunities and a friendly welcome at this historic Hotel. Ideally located for exploration of an area of unspoilt natural rural charm, steeped in history and myth, with bustling market towns, beautiful country homes and ancient landmark symbols such as the White Horse, Silbury Hill and Avebury Stone Circle.

The hotel's 25 charming en-suite bedrooms offer modern facilities. With Flat screen TVs,
Free Wi-Fi access , Freeview, Tea & Coffee making facilities, Hair Dryers, and Mineral Water provided guests are sure to have a pleasant and relaxing stay.

The Hotel A La Carte Restaurant provides elegant yet comfortable surroundings in which to enjoy the delicious and ample meals. With a splendid choice of dishes from an exciting and constantly changing menu together with a wide range of carefully selected wines. For a less formal dining experience guests can dine in either the Atrium Lounge or Bar.

The Town Bar, is a focal point for people in Hungerford, as it serves real ales, fine wines and excellent bar meals. This is also a pleasant area to have a quiet drink whilst deciding what to eat in the restaurant.

The area is steeped in history. Within a short distance lies the giant White Horse of Uffington, cut into the chalk hillside, and Dragon Hill where George is said to have slain the dragon. Nearby Uffington Castle is an Iron Age fort dating from 500BC. Stonehenge is also an easy drive away. including Highclere Castle bearing a resemblance to the Houses of Parliament, both being designed by Sir Charles Barry. The Kennet and Avon Canal runs through the town centre close to the hotel. The delightful towpath runs all the way from London to Bristol, and is open to walkers and cyclists.
Picture of Three Swans Hotel, Hungerford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good, but could be better
Stayed one night during a cycling trip in a 'superior' room
Positive
- good, helpful service
- happy to safely store bikes
- good location
- despite being in the main street and next to the railway it was surprisingly quiet
Negative:
- TV reception was awful......couldn't get a signal for lots of the channels (Le Vuelta, ITV4)
- Shower fixtures were broken
- cold water.....was always warm - must run alongside the very hot water pipe!
- breakfast service was very slow - read the Sunday paper waiting for the 'full English' - obviously under staffed
Overall okay, just needs a little attention to detail.

Reviewed by
Richard B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

three swans hungerford
room on the high st side of the hotel single glazed and very noisy
bathroom dated ,shower over bath had black mould around taps and joints
Service excellent and food was second to none in both quality and presentation
would stay again in a room not on the high st

Reviewed by
michael bell

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Very friendly, helpful and efficient staff. Rooms well equipped. Delicious breakfast with plenty of choice. Excellent value for money.
Would be helpful to give information or signs on how to access the car park.

Reviewed by
G Norris

From Lydney, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice stay.
We stayed at the Three Swans for just two nights last month and could have happily stayed longer. The hotel is perfectly located on the High Street and a hop, skip and a jump to pretty Hungerford Wharf and the river. Across the road is the famous Antiques Arcade where I could have stayed all day and there are some lovely villages close by.
The hotel is really lovely - outside it retains its olde worlde appearance but inside is modern and comfortable. We had a room in the annexe which is opposite the courtyard. The only slightly negative thing I can say is that I can imagine it would be quite noisy in the summer months when there would be lots of people outside having a drink and enjoying themselves. If you were fancying an early night then you would probably struggle to get off to sleep. There were a couple of people having a smoke and a drink on one of the cold nights we were there and you could hear them quite clearly but it didn't bother us too much.
The room was spotless and perfectly adequate for our needs - lovely soft red rocking chair! The bed was heavenly and the shower brilliant!
We didn't have an evening meal at the hotel but we did have breakfast and it was superb - many compliments to the chef. The full English was a good sized portion and cooked to order.
All the staff were very pleasant and it was nice to have a car park at the rear of the hotel.

Reviewed by
Janet S

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a very pleasant stay
The 3 swans just gets everything right, quietly and without fuss. Nice.

Reviewed by
Ian D

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

3 Swans Hotel Hungerford
Room,lovely. Clean and well appointed. Hair dryer and iron in the wardrobe, kettle and nice bathroom smellies. Beds are comfy and clean. Noise insulation was poor as door opens directly into outside area (which is a walk way between reception out front and the car park at the back. Someone making deliveries woke my hubby up by shouting Morning as he walked past at 6am.
Food. Cooks and chefs all over the UK have a tendency to give me my eggs the way they think they should be cooked, rather than the way I ask for them. I like hard yolks. Despite asking for 'rock hard yolks' I was still presented with runny yolks. Rectified but I had to wait for a fresh egg to be cooked which meant I'd nearly eaten everything else. Good range of food at the buffet.

Reviewed by
Carol S

From Brierley Hill, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent stay
The welcome was friendly, the room was clean, modern and had all the facilities. We had an excellent bar snack in the evening and a lovely breakfast next day. Could not be faulted.

Reviewed by
Maureen M

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good quality room
Staff were great, room was good and quiet

Reviewed by
Peter Rhodes

From Bakewell, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
Very pleasant helpfull staff would reccomend

Reviewed by
Richard Longman

From Burley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not impeccable
For the money you would expect not to be housed next to a noisy smoking area from the pub next door. The TV facilities are pretty poor and I had filthy crockery presented to me at breakfast. Perhaps I was just unlucky.

Reviewed by
Ben G

From Caerphilly, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next