Reviews - Park Lane Mews Hotel

4

2 Stanhope Row, London, W1J 7BS

Price From 346.92 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (137)

69% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • N C

  • January 2016

Dirty, Disgusting and Threatening Staff!

We stayed at The Park Lane Mews Hotel on 21st January 2016 - 23rd January 2016 and I must say, I am disgusted at the experience we had at this establishment.

We were checked in to Room 300, the room was shabby, dirty and unkempt. Lamps were hanging off hinges, the doors were scuffed, the wall paper peeling from the walls and there were stains on the wall paper. The room was damp, musty smelling and the heating was broken, we were provided with a small portable heater but the room was still freezing cold.

The fittings and fixtures in the room were dangerous, lampshades hanging off hinges with scorch and burn marks in them, the portable heater kept cutting out, when I asked reception if I could have another heater, I was told there were no more available. We had no sleep, the damp conditions, lack of heating and winter weather exacerbated my severe asthma, the rooms were so cold that we slept fully clothed, with jumpers and the dressing gowns provided.

There were three electric outlets in the bedroom, one did not work, the other did not allow a standard plug to fit and the other had the electric heater plugged in, in order to charge telephones and use appliances we had to unplug the heater.

There was also a relentless alarm outside that continued from Friday afternoon until the early hours of Saturday morning, (I do have a recording of this alarm), this also hindered our sleep and as soon as we settled the awful noise of refuse collectors began.

When I complained at reception on Thursday, I was plainly told there was nothing that they could do. As we had reservations and we were in a rush, I could not stay and argue my case further. I made further complaints, I was told that I could not be moved and there was nothing the hotel could do. On the Sunday checkout, I informed the staff member of our issues, I showed photographic evidence and told her that I was not happy with the room or service. She told me there was nothing she could do about it and that I would have to email or call Mr Raj.

This trip was to celebrate both mine and my partners birthdays, The Park Lane Hotel completely ruined our stay. We could not settle in our filthy room, we could not sleep due to the damp and freezing conditions and we were made most unwelcome by staff who would not listen to the issues we had with our room. My medical condition was made worse by the state of the room and we have both become ill with sinus and respiratory issues following our stay and I believe that this was caused by the damp room.

  • E Maclean

  • January 2016

Great hotel

Great hotel in a fantastic location.

  • S Coulson

  • January 2016

awful hotel

The accommodation was dreadful tiny little bathroom freezing cold room dirty, dirty towels in the bathroom.

Would never go there again. Staff were very friendly but di not understand when i asked them to make out the bill to my business account

  • Nigel Rainbird

  • January 2016

Very peaceful, quiet, classy, lovely hotel.

  • Matt W

  • January 2016

Average quality - because I expected more

I paid £129 for a double deluxe room with King size bed and breakfasts included.

The pictures on the web site looked good and I felt like I had a reasonable price for a decent hotel. The outside of the hotel looks great and location was really handy as it was about a 5-10min walk to the tube station. However, the room was a bit old and dowdy. The kingsize bed was massive, but took up most of the room and so it was a tight squeeze to have anything else in there. When I booked the description was: Deluxe Double Room sleeps 2. Room only. Non Smoking, Spacious deluxe room (22 m²) with a king-size bed. These rooms have views of either Stanhope Row, Shepperd Market .Shower, Bath, TV, Telephone, Air Conditioning, Toilet, Bathroom, Heating,Tea/Coffee Maker, Hairdryer, WIFI in public areas only. I'm not convinced there was air con in the room, there was a stand alone heater in there when we arrived. In fairness, I didn't complain about the size of the room and that it didn't match the description as I was too tired to bother. The breakfast was really nice with a lot of options to choose from. However, there were no tables in the dining room and so we sat on the sofa in the lounge area which appears to always be used as a spill out dining room... Not the easiest to eat breakfast at.

  • Matt Y

  • December 2015

Way over priced

I can only assume you are paying for the postcode here.

£249 for the room and I've staying in much better places for less than 1/2 this price. I would stay here again at this price.

  • C Lodge

  • December 2015

  • Stephen Brown

  • December 2015

Saturday night stay

The public areas of the hotel were nice but the rooms were a little dated.

Overall quiet and comfortable. Not sure who awarded the 4 stars though.

  • Chris R

  • November 2015

Excellent location

I booked through laterooms and was offered a competitive price for my stay relative to alternatives.

Having read some of the reviews on the hotel I arrived with some trepidation. However, the staff were very pleasant and whilst my room was not large it was certainly adequate for one guest, a little tired but well equipped, clean and comfortable. The hotel is within a stone's throw of Park Lane and Shepherd Market so is very well placed for restaurants and walks in the park. I would stay again assuming the rate remains as competitive as on this occasion.

  • Chris W

  • November 2015

Tired

A super location and very pleasant reception area.

My room was small, tired and in need of a makeover. Similarly the bathroom was dated and very small.