No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Oakfield Lodge

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
38 ARKWRIGHT ROAD , STOCKPORT, SK6 7DB
Oakfield Lodge a family run guest house established in 1976. We offer a pleasant stay in the charming village of Marple and Marple bridge .Good transport links to Stockport and Manchester city centre. Close to Derbyshire border for sight seeing and tours etc. The guest house is within walking distance to shops, pubs, restaurants ,cinema, gym,swimming pool and lots of walks, cycling, canal, parks and woodlands.

All the rooms have tea coffee and tvs. We have a selection of rooms single, twin, triple, family en-suite or standard. We welcome all people professionals, contractors, tourists and wedding parties.
Picture of Oakfield Lodge , STOCKPORT at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 49 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The opening greeting: 'Oh, we're not quite ready for you' might have been better to be something like, 'Hello, pleased to see you. Let me check if your room is ready yet.'
The room was ready within less than three minutes.
The rest of the service was excellent and I shall certainly be returning and re-using this accommodation which is extremely well-situated for public transport and for local facilities and for walking and other adventures in the Peak District.

Reviewed by
K Edwards

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

SMASHHING
Great place well worth will stay here again

Reviewed by
ADRIAN S

From Louth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean and very comfortable

Reviewed by
t stafford

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
Friendly service, comfortable room and good breakfast. Would stay here again.

Reviewed by
Angela P

From Wetherby, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our stay in Marple
A very friendly family run hotel. The only complaint / comment I would have liked newer / larger bath towels. It was a clean and friendly run hotel with a lovely quiet view of the country side.

Reviewed by
Janet M

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning view but tired accomodation
We stayed one night at the Oakfield. The room was large and spacious and the view over the valley toward Mellor Church and the hills was stunning! The room, however, lacked the basics. There was no shampoo or bodywash, nor was there a hair drier. The only cleansing product was a bottle of anti-bacterial hand wash for the hand basin. There was only the one bath towel provided also.
The biggest area for concern, however, was the bed. We have never slept in a bed that was so noisy. It creaked at the slightest movement....loudly! Thankfully, we only had to endure the one night.
In addition, there was no information pack/book in the room which is unusual. It's these little touches that were missing and could easily improve the place at very little cost.
Finally, the key didn't work for the front door and we were requested to pay the full bill upon arrival, even before even seeing the room! Not very welcoming in that respect.
On a positive note, the full English breakfast was hearty and well cooked.

Reviewed by
R Findlow

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly
Easy access to Marple and warm welcome

Reviewed by
M Dale

From Folkestone, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

awful and out dated

ManagementResponse

The guest stayed in a brand new room. New carpet, new decor. How can the room possibly be dated ???. You can't please some people.

Reviewed by
Gregory Smith

From Darwen, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice
very nice quiet place

Reviewed by
wojciech bartosz

From Crewe, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

mid week visit
Comfortable, & friendly stay.

Reviewed by
Rita K

From Leighton Buzzard, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next