No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Sedgefield , Durham, TS21 2EH
Just off the A1(M) in the countryside of County Durham, BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel provides high levels of comfort for business and leisure guests. Bedrooms are stylishly furnished and spacious, with many hi-tech extras, and also enjoy excellent views of the gardens and open parkland. Conference facilities are exceptional, with state-of-the-art equipment, natural daylight and air-conditioning, and a spectacular ballroom for up to 500 people. There is ample free parking on site £25 per person allowance towards a la carte menu when booking DBB rates.
Picture of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel, Durham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great rural location and very handy for Durham
Beautiful location, the rooms are normally a bit pricey but I got an excellent deal through laterooms.com. The restaurant is a grill house specialising in steaks and lobster which suited us, the foos was very good. I would happily stay here again though only if I can get the same discount via laterooms as otherwise the rooms at £140 are outside my price bracket.

Reviewed by
F Soper

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Always enjoy staying at Hardwick Hall. Rooms are great and staff very helpful.

Reviewed by
Alastair T

From Newport Pagnell, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, adjoining parkland wonderful, superb food and extremely helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Patrick K

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 Day Break
We booked a room at the hotel for a great price. The room we were allocated had very thin walls and so we could hear everybody's conversation on either side of us. We informed the reception and they moved us to an upgraded room which was perfect.

Reviewed by
M Hall

From Towcester, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lucky find
We travelled to Durham to go to the theatre, unfortunately there was not a bed to be had in Durham due to the ashes test match being played at Chester-le-street. So I used late rooms to find a room. The system was easy and instead of having to ring round I was able to locate and book a room very easily.
Hardwick Hall is a big hotel set I. Huge secluded grounds. Clearly an ideal wedding or large function venue. Reception were efficient and friendly. Our room ( a deluxe double) was large and comfortable with a beautiful en-suite. Two wash hand basins. A free standing double ended roll top bath, large walk in shower and a discreetly separate loo all presented in high spec porcelain & glass.
Breakfast was buffet style, tables had good linen table- clothes and linen napkins. Service was spot on.

Reviewed by
Stephen L

From Kirkcudbright, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hardwick Hall Hotel
The hotel overlooks a small lake and is surrounded by the woodland of Hardwick park.
This property is very popular as a wedding venue.
All in all we had a very pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
Graham B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent hotel for the money
Clean room although struggled with how hot the whole hotel was (13th July 2013). Curtains left open prior to arrival on front of hotel room meant room was so hot you were sweating seconds after getting out of the shower. Had to leave room window open all night but just couldnt get the room cool and ultimately got disturbed early from noise outside. Prob not a concern most of the year though
Breakfast is buffet and was very poor for £10 each. Soggy scrambled eggs etc

Reviewed by
Marc H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Prom
I stayed at Hardwick Hall as I organised my school prom. Thought it was easier than going home. Check in was quick and I was told I had been upgraded. Breakfast was lovely lots to chose from full English, pastries etc brilliant

Reviewed by
H Dale

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Prom Night
Best Western Hardwick Hall was fabulous as always.

Reviewed by
Jan Davison

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely rooms!
Rooms here are great, customer service was great up until I left my key in my room & the 2 guys on reception told me the room number I provided was not mine, until a more senior member of staff came along & assisted & was able to issue me a replacement key! But other than that, I would definitely recommend this hotel! The grounds are great, function rooms are great & the breakfast was delicious, as well as the 3 course meal which was prepared for the wedding!

Reviewed by
R Graham

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next