Reviews - The Old Priory


Church Square, Midsomer Norton, BA3 2HX

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (9)

56% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Clive Sutton

  • September 2014

This was medium quality B & B, not a hotel.

There was no porter assistance to lift cases up a narrow, twisting staircase. Breakfasts were good, but there was no evening meal (although their website advertised a restaurant) and Midsomer Norton offers nothing within walking distance.

  • Marilyn H

  • August 2014

Lacking both welcome and atmosphere

This hotel feels more like a B&B.

There is no evening restaurant and I was telephoned at 9 45pm and asked what I wanted for breakfast. The room was noisy with either tumble dyers or dishwashers below. There are no duvets just rather scratchy blankets. Customer service is poor e.g. no good morning or directions to breakfast. Overall a rather cold unwelcoming atmosphere.

  • J Smith

  • August 2014

Great stay and would return

Melody is a fantastic host, attentive without being intrusive.

Such an old building, really appreciated the sense of history and the surroundings are gorgeous. I have seen comments re decor but once you hear and appreciate how long the process is to update such a listed building it means lots of plans in the pipeline but lots of red tape in between I just hope they get everything approved. Would return with the younger members of our family as I like the relaxed atmosphere.

  • Susan Gahan

  • August 2014

Excellent 1 night stay

I was going to a wedding locally The welcome was exceptional , warm and helpful Evening booking my taxi .

The room was spotless

Lovely room retaining original features.

Breakfast was excellent and the service wonderful. I have been a few times before and each time I have

Been impressed itch everything from the welcome to the service

And the quality of the room .

  • t hall

  • July 2014

the moody goose

Hosts and accommodation were 1st class would highly recommend and will be using again soon.

  • A Evans

  • July 2014

pleasant stay.

Love the place.

Very quaint and cosy. Beautiful gardens to relax in. It was a lovely relaxing place to stay. A slight shame that the restaurant is pre book only and this is not clearly identified when booking. Also nowhere to get a drink

This is a very good bed and breakfast not a hotel, the breakfast by the way was perfect. . Our hostess was very welcoming and friendly. All in all a pleasant stay but we enjoy having an evening meal in the hotels we stay in. We walked for a few minutes down the road to the number 6 though and had a very nice meal there. Would highly recommend this to anyone staying at the moody goose.

  • Angela A

  • July 2014

The old priory was a beautiful quaint little inn.

The accommodation was lovely, comfortable and clean. The gardens were beautiful and it was a shame it was raining when we got back from dinner as it would have been lovely to sit there with glass of wine and play croquet by floodlight!. Melody, the owner was extremely helpful and polite, and was very friendly. The breakfast was lovely especially the scrambled eggs. Lovely place to stay.

  • Richard C

  • May 2014


Lovely host in Melody, beautiful gardens and a characterful house.

Breakfast great. Lovely spot. A bit on the pricy side because room a little "tired" in decor and same goes for bathroom. Overall though a nice place.

  • H Lawson

  • October 2013

Wonderful Hotel with Excellent Host

A wonderful two nights at an historic hotel.

Room was clean with beautifully starched linen sheets. Bathroom was large and spotlessly clean with endless hot water. The service that Melody provided was always friendly and attentive, you feel like a welcome guest in a warm and welcoming home. Breakfast was excellent with food cooked to order. This will definitely be our place to stay in Somerset.