No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Priory

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
Church Square, Midsomer Norton, , Bath, BA3 2HX
The beautiful Old Priory dates back to medieval times and offers guests a delightful place to stay in the heart of Somerset. Lovingly preserved, the hotel features a wealth of character and charm in the form of inglenook fireplaces, flagstone floors and oak beams. The guest house has a choice of wonderful rooms suitable for the travelling business person, families with children or couples visiting Bath and Somerset. Each room is equipped with en suite facilities and contemporary touches to ensure your stay is relaxed and comfortable. The guest house is licensed and you can enjoy drinks in the lounge or in the walled garden which features a croquet lawn in summer. We also provide fine dining for groups of eight or more on request but do not normally serve food in the evenings.
Picture of The Old Priory, Bath at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lacking both welcome and atmosphere
This hotel feels more like a B&B. There is no evening restaurant and I was telephoned at 9 45pm and asked what I wanted for breakfast! The room was noisy with either tumble dyers or dishwashers below. There are no duvets just rather scratchy blankets. Customer service is poor e.g. no good morning or directions to breakfast. Overall a rather cold unwelcoming atmosphere.

Reviewed by
Marilyn H

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent 1 night stay
I was going to a wedding locally
The welcome was exceptional , warm and helpful
Evening booking my taxi . The room was spotless
Lovely room retaining original features.
Breakfast was excellent and the service wonderful.
I have been a few times before and each time I have
Been impressed itch everything from the welcome to the service
And the quality of the room .

Reviewed by
Susan Gahan

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay and would return
Melody is a fantastic host, attentive without being intrusive. Such an old building, really appreciated the sense of history and the surroundings are gorgeous! I have seen comments re decor but once you hear and appreciate how long the process is to update such a listed building it means lots of plans in the pipeline but lots of red tape in between I just hope they get everything approved! Would return with the younger members of our family as I like the relaxed atmosphere.

Reviewed by
J Smith

From Cheadle, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the moody goose
Hosts and accommodation were 1st class would highly recommend and will be using again soon.

Reviewed by
t hall

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The old priory was a beautiful quaint little inn! The accommodation was lovely, comfortable and clean. The gardens were beautiful and it was a shame it was raining when we got back from dinner as it would have been lovely to sit there with glass of wine and play croquet by floodlight!! Melody, the owner was extremely helpful and polite, and was very friendly. The breakfast was lovely especially the scrambled eggs! Lovely place to stay.

Reviewed by
Angela A

From Helston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasant stay.
Love the place. Very quaint and cosy. Beautiful gardens to relax in. It was a lovely relaxing place to stay. A slight shame that the restaurant is pre book only and this is not clearly identified when booking. Also nowhere to get a drink
This is a very good bed and breakfast not a hotel, the breakfast by the way was perfect. . Our hostess was very welcoming and friendly. All in all a pleasant stay but we enjoy having an evening meal in the hotels we stay in. We walked for a few minutes down the road to the number 6 though and had a very nice meal there. Would highly recommend this to anyone staying at the moody goose.

Reviewed by
A Evans

From Cydweli, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

BANK HOLIDAY STAY
Lovely host in Melody, beautiful gardens and a characterful house. Breakfast great. Lovely spot.
A bit on the pricy side because room a little "tired" in decor and same goes for bathroom.
Overall though a nice place.

Reviewed by
Richard C

From Alderley Edge, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Hotel with Excellent Host
A wonderful two nights at an historic hotel. Room was clean with beautifully starched linen sheets. Bathroom was large and spotlessly clean with endless hot water. The service that Melody provided was always friendly and attentive, you feel like a welcome guest in a warm and welcoming home. Breakfast was excellent with food cooked to order. This will definitely be our place to stay in Somerset.

Reviewed by
H Lawson

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy to stay again
Excellent host. Lovely hotel and gardens. Cosy lounge. Breakfast excellent. Very good location for visiting Bath. Décor a little old fashioned for our tastes.

Reviewed by
Jane Davies

From Llanfechain, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stay at the Old Priory
We had a lovely Friday night stay to visit family. Host was excellent and made us feel very welcome. Beautiful hotel, very quaint. Lovely breakfast - well cooked and presented. Will stay again:)

Reviewed by
Sharon P

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next