No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hallmark Hotel Carlisle

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Courts Square , Carlisle, CA1 1QY
In the heart of the city centre, this elegant Victorian hotel offers stylish rooms with 32-inch Freeview flat-screen TVs. With free Wi-Fi and limited free parking, guests are also next to Carlisle Rail Station. Each of the contemporary rooms at the Hallmark Hotel Carlisle features a seating area, work desk and free tea and coffee.

The attractive and modern lounge bar serves snacks and evening tapas. The Brasserie is open every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner, offering great food and wine. With a superb central location, the hotel is only 2 miles from the M6 motorway.

The scenic Lake District National Park and the beautiful English/Scottish border are both just a 30-minute drive away. Guests at this Hallmark hotel receive discounted rates at the DW Sports Fitness Club, which is 10 minutes’ walk away. Facilities include an indoor pool,2 spa baths, a steam room and modern gym. With Gretna Green just 10 miles from Hallmark Carlisle, the hotel is the ideal venue for a post-wedding celebration after eloping over the border to get married!

Accommodation and wedding packages available.
Picture of Hallmark Hotel Carlisle , Carlisle at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 78 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exactly as expected
Typical old 'railway hotel' building. Only downside, the room was very dark. Dark furnishings, dim lighting. Staff were excellent, very professional. Food great.

Reviewed by
Margot B

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good overall stay
definatly will stay at this hotel in the future

Reviewed by
pamela thraves

From Newton Stewart, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location.
Right in the city centre. The rooms could be doing with a bit of redecorating but the bed was comfortable. Our only disappointment was the breakfast. Buffet style hot breakfast was cold . Would stay again but breakfast elsewhere

Reviewed by
I Baxter

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Reviewed by
s brown

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location is very central which made up for the fact the hotel didn't look as good as the pictures.
We stayed in an Executive room which was by no means executive. It has everything we needed or could request from reception but was quite small and tired looking. The bathroom was very dated.
The staff were great and the bar / reception area look great as you walk in but the rooms do need a make over. If you're hot I would request a fan from reception as the sash windows are poor and there is a train station next door so quite noisy.

Reviewed by
R Hughes

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

shame scaffold up needs bit of updating but nice hotel
needs updating but nice

Reviewed by
J Roberts

From Oswestry, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An old hotel with problems
A town centre hotel unfortunately next door to a nightclub so if you're unlucky to be on that side don't expect to be able to sleep. This hotel has good staff but a poor general manager who thinks it is best not to tell guests about the club! and seems incapable of managing obvious problems. The hotel is old with rooms that are cramped and packed with ill fitting furniture. Mattresses are of poor quality and without the expected hygiene of a fitted mattress protector. Bathrooms outdated and often cramped. Secondary glazing fitted to some windows but not all. Old fashioned blankets rather than duvets. Sum up: Poor quality hotel and most people will be happier at a Travelodge.

Reviewed by
d stevenson

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Can the breakfast make up for poor room quaity?
1st room had a leak in the bathroom, very quickly changed, good start. the second room like the first had a good bed, décor, carpet and ties, but poor bathroom, they have gone to the effort of updating parts, but not changed the dating ceramic and fittings. Single glazed windows to the front of the hotel=noise.
The general Hotel areas are good
The hotel is very close to everything, great location.
The Breakfast is very good and the people great.. get their early if you want a parking space.
Would recommend that you book a Deluxe room (I did last time and it was a lot better) these Standard rooms are well below par.

Reviewed by
John W

From Princes Risborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
The room for two people was very small, but the bathroom was tiny! Your head was in the sink when sitting on the toilet. Breakfast was okay but the bacon was inedible. We had to pay £9 to park in the station car park because the hotel's car park was full. So with the £87 accommodation cost and the parking fee I do not think this stay was good value for money.

Reviewed by
Eileen A

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quick but thoroughly enjoyable stay at Hallmark
The reason for our stay, was to undertake the Leeds to Carlisle rail journey, taking in
Ribblesdale and Settle etc. Rather than a quick return journey, we booked a one night stay at the Hallmark, which included bed/breakfast/evening meal. What a great value for money stay. Staff we're friendly and efficient. All meals were delicious and well presented. The rooms were very comfortable and quite spacious. The location was outstanding - 20 meters from the station entrance and right at the heart of Carlisle for shopping and nightlife. The only negative was that, although our room was brilliant, it needed a little more thorough cleaning, as dust had been allowed to gather in quite obvious places. However, it did not detract from the excellent time we had and it will be our first choice when we go again.

Reviewed by
Nigel Sumner

From Doncaster, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next