No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hallmark Hotel Carlisle

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Courts Square , Carlisle, CA1 1QY
In the heart of the city centre, this elegant Victorian hotel offers stylish rooms with 32-inch Freeview flat-screen TVs. With free Wi-Fi and limited free parking, guests are also next to Carlisle Rail Station. Each of the contemporary rooms at the Hallmark Hotel Carlisle features a seating area, work desk and free tea and coffee.

The attractive and modern lounge bar serves snacks and evening tapas. The Brasserie is open every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner, offering great food and wine. With a superb central location, the hotel is only 2 miles from the M6 motorway.

The scenic Lake District National Park and the beautiful English/Scottish border are both just a 30-minute drive away. Guests at this Hallmark hotel receive discounted rates at the DW Sports Fitness Club, which is 10 minutes’ walk away. Facilities include an indoor pool,2 spa baths, a steam room and modern gym. With Gretna Green just 10 miles from Hallmark Carlisle, the hotel is the ideal venue for a post-wedding celebration after eloping over the border to get married!

Accommodation and wedding packages available.
Picture of Hallmark Hotel Carlisle , Carlisle at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 78 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

shame scaffold up needs bit of updating but nice hotel
needs updating but nice

Reviewed by
J Roberts

From Oswestry, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An old hotel with problems
A town centre hotel unfortunately next door to a nightclub so if you're unlucky to be on that side don't expect to be able to sleep. This hotel has good staff but a poor general manager who thinks it is best not to tell guests about the club! and seems incapable of managing obvious problems. The hotel is old with rooms that are cramped and packed with ill fitting furniture. Mattresses are of poor quality and without the expected hygiene of a fitted mattress protector. Bathrooms outdated and often cramped. Secondary glazing fitted to some windows but not all. Old fashioned blankets rather than duvets. Sum up: Poor quality hotel and most people will be happier at a Travelodge.

Reviewed by
d stevenson

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Can the breakfast make up for poor room quaity?
1st room had a leak in the bathroom, very quickly changed, good start. the second room like the first had a good bed, décor, carpet and ties, but poor bathroom, they have gone to the effort of updating parts, but not changed the dating ceramic and fittings. Single glazed windows to the front of the hotel=noise.
The general Hotel areas are good
The hotel is very close to everything, great location.
The Breakfast is very good and the people great.. get their early if you want a parking space.
Would recommend that you book a Deluxe room (I did last time and it was a lot better) these Standard rooms are well below par.

Reviewed by
John W

From Princes Risborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
The room for two people was very small, but the bathroom was tiny! Your head was in the sink when sitting on the toilet. Breakfast was okay but the bacon was inedible. We had to pay £9 to park in the station car park because the hotel's car park was full. So with the £87 accommodation cost and the parking fee I do not think this stay was good value for money.

Reviewed by
Eileen A

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quick but thoroughly enjoyable stay at Hallmark
The reason for our stay, was to undertake the Leeds to Carlisle rail journey, taking in
Ribblesdale and Settle etc. Rather than a quick return journey, we booked a one night stay at the Hallmark, which included bed/breakfast/evening meal. What a great value for money stay. Staff we're friendly and efficient. All meals were delicious and well presented. The rooms were very comfortable and quite spacious. The location was outstanding - 20 meters from the station entrance and right at the heart of Carlisle for shopping and nightlife. The only negative was that, although our room was brilliant, it needed a little more thorough cleaning, as dust had been allowed to gather in quite obvious places. However, it did not detract from the excellent time we had and it will be our first choice when we go again.

Reviewed by
Nigel Sumner

From Doncaster, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall, a really good place to stay, especially with the helpful reception staff able to respond at a moment's notice. Good wi-fi at all times. An executive room didn't seem to have much different to a normal double room except a bit of extra space to work in. The shower head was tired and a bit of mould above the bath was disappointing. The breakfast was decent for the first couple of days but the attendants forgot to say why yoghurts and other small offerings were not available when I asked on other days. Some excellent staff make the standards of service seem, overall, first rate.

Reviewed by
M Keech

From Eastbourne, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money but too hot!
I got the room at a discounted rate so value for money, interior of room lovely, bathroom a little dated but clean. Main issue was the heat, was uncomfortably warm in the room, the reception and restaurant areas were fine.

Reviewed by
Leona R

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

an enjoyable stay at Carslisle in Hall mark hotel
The hotel is next to the station which was ideal for our ride o n the Carlisle/Settle trip
The breakfast was excellent all we wanted without extending to the cooked to order menu.
Room clean and roomy.
Shower good and hot. nice towels.
Friendly room staff
Nice biscuits in room tray
Horrid view of dirty back but not in room during day so did not bother us.
All in all a good stay for us

Reviewed by
Joyce g

From Perranporth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good weekend break
Good location. Spacious room. Breakfast excellent.

Reviewed by
kevin h

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK for Carlisle
Carlisle has a real lack of good hotels in the centre, in other towns I probably would have stayed somewhere else. That said the staff were friendly and breakfast ok. I was 'upgraded' to an executive room which I had in fact already booked, which in fact would be a standard room in most other hotels. For Carlisle however this is probably the best choice hotel.

Reviewed by
D Jennings

From Saltash, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next