No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - New Inn by Good Night Inns

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
CHEPSTOW ROAD , NEWPORT, NP18 2JN

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Surrounded by picturesque Welsh countryside in the affluent village of Langstone, The New Inn is a family friendly hotel on the rural outskirts of Newport, just minutes from the M4 motorway and close to some of the best golf courses in the UK, including Celtic Manor.

Cardiff and Bristol are both less than 30 minutes away on the M4, making the New Inn a relaxing base for doing business in either city, or planning a last minute short break. With free parking and a fully equipped meeting and function room, the hotel is ideal for meetings and away days too.

The hotel has 35 en-suite bedrooms including family and pet-friendly rooms, all with flat-screen digital TV, unlimited free Wi-Fi for guests and tea and coffee making facilities. There is ample free parking and a Fayre & Square pub restaurant and Wacky Warehouse on site.
Less than 20 miles from Cardiff and close to Newport, historic Caerleon and the famous Celtic Manor course, the hotel is conveniently located just 1.6 miles off junction 24 of the M4, on the A48 Chepstow Road.
Picture of New Inn by Good Night Inns, NEWPORT at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 96 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Easy to find and great value
when we arrived very friendly staff on reception gave us full details on how to get in after out of hours, room was really spacious, very clean, the only problem was the room was for a disabled person as the sink was very low, room more for wheel chair user, also had alarm cord pulls, shower not easy to adjust the temperature, would stay again but in a different rom

Reviewed by
laurence h

From Lymington, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good clean and very well maintained

Reviewed by
W Clarke

From Tredegar, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

david's stay
I arrived late, I think your postcode is incorrect. The lady on reception, (Anna) was very welcoming and helpful. I suffer with back pain, (even bringing several extra duvets to lie on), and need to have a bath to relieve the aches so Anna kindly swapped my shower equipped room for one with a bath. However, this was a waste of effort as the bath in room 11 was so small! I did have a quiet night for which I thank you. David Da Costa.

Reviewed by
D Da Costa

From Paignton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we stayed in a downstairs room at the end of a long corridor, we had our crated little cavalier dog with us..and assume that was the dog rooms..however we paid the same price as any ther room , but were not charged for the dogs... it was a little unnerving late at night going down the corridor as their were alot of single workmen staying in the rooms and when on my own felt uncomfortable. The room was quite dark and very hot due to hot water running through the pipes..our friends were upstairs in a much nicer room but there was a query that we had only booked one dog when my email had stated that there would be one dog in each room required.. we were made to feel like we had tried to sneak a dog in which is not the case by a young receptionist.. however the rooms were clean and the food at the inn was lovely, beds clean and comfortable and we would stay again ..regards Sheena Player

Reviewed by
s player

From Liskeard, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
Ok for an overnight business stay.

Reviewed by
J Wilson

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Security and a bit of lighting wouldn't go amiss
Arriving late at night both nights the front door was not properly closed so anyone could have walked in. Plus the fire escape door was wedged wide open. Reception was closed, not a soul in sight. Didn't seem secure to me.
Two lights in the room didn't work and the other bulb was so dim it was useless.
Reception were helpful enough. I chose this place on price so wasn't surprised the room was small and basic. But security and working fixtures should be a given wherever you are.

Reviewed by
Rebecca A

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bill was a positive surprise
I used the New Inn with very short notice. Value for money meal. In the morning, there was no power in the sockets, so no tea. when I mentioned it to reception they discounted my stay without me asking for it which was more than fair

Reviewed by
Herluf T

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Adequate low priced hotel - Wales
It was OK

Reviewed by
Ian M

From Newton Aycliffe, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed in New Inn Motel - very cosy little hotel with friendly staff and nice atmosphere.

Reviewed by
Anna C

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

honeymoon
we thought the hotel was brilliant everything that you needed friendly staff should be able to get cash out of the atm for free not having to pay 1.99 for it clean hotel will recommend it to family and friends would love to stay there for the xmas offer if i could pay when i get there

Reviewed by
jenny palmer

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next