No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ethorpe Hotel by Good Night Inns

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
85 Packhorse Road , Gerrards Cross, SL9 8HX
Located in the affluent village of Gerrards Cross, the Georgian-style Ethorpe Hotel is a former gentleman’s residence with exposed beams and snug corners, the ideal springboard for exploring Buckinghamshire’s outstanding natural beauty or day trips to London, just 30 minutes by rail.

Offering excellent rail and motorway access, and with Beaconsfield, Watford and Slough all within easy reach, The Ethorpe is a perfect base for doing business in the area from a relaxing rural base or planning a last minute London trip. The hotel has ample free parking and a fully equipped meeting and function room.

The hotel has 36 rooms with en-suite bathrooms including family, disabled and four poster rooms. Each room has flat-screen digital TV, tea and coffee making facilities, unlimited Wi-Fi for guests and access to the welcoming Chef & Brewer pub restaurant on site.

Cliveden Gardens and the glorious Chiltern Hills are nearby, and London’s attractions are just a 30 minute direct rail journey to London Marylebone station. The hotel is easy to find on Packhorse Road at the heart of Gerrards Cross, close to the M40 and M25.
Picture of Ethorpe Hotel by Good Night Inns, Gerrards Cross at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 62 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Returning guests
My wife and I have stayed at the Ethorpe a number of times, the staff are always very friendly and welcoming.

Reviewed by
M Foster

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ethorpe hotel
We had a pleasant stay in the hotel and would recommend this hotel to anyone. The staff were very helpful and polite the room was very clean with clean bed linen .

Reviewed by
A Kerrison

From New Milton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant staff who were very helpful and polite, the room was spotlessly clean and had everything that was needed for a comfortable stay. Nice and close to the shops as well. As a single female traveller I felt very safe. It was also quiet and I wasn't disturbed by other guests either in the late evenings or early hours of the morning, I have already booked to stay for 3 nights in July .

Reviewed by
Barbara Buxton

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic room. Has a nice pub.

Reviewed by
Andrew M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
Really good location,we were heading into London on two separate days and the Ethorpe was a great base,2 min walk from Gerrards Cross train station and then 20/25 min to Central London.
Family room good for our family(3 girls aged 12,10 and 7,the only thing is it specifies on the website only children upto 8 but the room is really spacious with the separate adjoining room) but nice and quiet.The food at the adjoining Chef and Brewer was excellent and service overall both in pub/restaurant and hotel was really good.Will definitely stay here again if we visit London.

Reviewed by
G Emery

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal location for a trip in to Lodon
The hotel is ideally located if you wish to take a trip in to London, just a few minute walk from the Train station, Staff were brilliant, warm and friendly welcome. Food was spot on, and the accommodation left nothing wanting.

Reviewed by
M Stuart

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect for what we needed
Hi
We stayed prior to the fa cup semi final mainly because of the hotels proximity to the train station (2mins walk, direct line to Wembley). The building is beautiful. The staff were fantastic, really friendly and super helpful, the room was perfectly adequate and the kids even reported the sofa bed as comfortable. The restaurant food was a reasonable price and reasonable quality. The breakfasts were a bit poor - the range for the continental was very limited, pre-wrapped croissants and even the porridge was make your own! The cooked breakfast lacked quality and quantity. Cups and water kept running out for drinks, however the hotel was perfect for what we needed and we had a great time.

Reviewed by
Tracey D

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect
We will be returning to this hotel, it was the perfect evening away from home,
The bar was heaving but in our room we couldn't hear it.
The cooked breakfast could have been hotter but we were too hungry to care.
I loved the room although one tea bag?

Reviewed by
Mark G

From Ruislip, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
The Ethorpe has everything the budget traveller needs. Clean rooms that are practical. The staff are friendly and accommodating. The cooked Breakfasts are little on the small side, but that works with my diet anyway.

Reviewed by
John J

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dark room, noisy 'heater', variable quality breakfast...
Shame I had a 'single' room. Seemed to be very dated (what I could see!) Bed rather short (I'm over 6 foot, and duvet just about covered the bed.
Even with all the lights on, it was quite dark in the room, I had to use a torch to try and see how to turn the 'heater' on. I wished I hadn't.. very noisy! ended up turning it off.
Shower curtain appeared to be held on my 'tie wraps' and on opening the curtain, the rail detached itself from the bracket. Cold tap appeared not to be attached to the sink, turning all the way around when I tried to turn it on.
Breakfast the first day was excellent! Second day, a disappointment. Scrambled eggs appeared to be a mixture of chopped up omelette and fried egg, one piece of luke warm bacon. Not great.
Can't fault the staff, but the room in particular was a disappointment

Reviewed by
Don C

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next