No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ethorpe Hotel by Good Night Inns

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
85 Packhorse Road , Gerrards Cross, SL9 8HX
Located in the affluent village of Gerrards Cross, the Georgian-style Ethorpe Hotel is a former gentleman’s residence with exposed beams and snug corners, the ideal springboard for exploring Buckinghamshire’s outstanding natural beauty or day trips to London, just 30 minutes by rail.

Offering excellent rail and motorway access, and with Beaconsfield, Watford and Slough all within easy reach, The Ethorpe is a perfect base for doing business in the area from a relaxing rural base or planning a last minute London trip. The hotel has ample free parking and a fully equipped meeting and function room.

The hotel has 36 rooms with en-suite bathrooms including family, disabled and four poster rooms. Each room has flat-screen digital TV, tea and coffee making facilities, unlimited Wi-Fi for guests and access to the welcoming Chef & Brewer pub restaurant on site.

Cliveden Gardens and the glorious Chiltern Hills are nearby, and London’s attractions are just a 30 minute direct rail journey to London Marylebone station. The hotel is easy to find on Packhorse Road at the heart of Gerrards Cross, close to the M40 and M25.
Picture of Ethorpe Hotel by Good Night Inns, Gerrards Cross at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great food and staff - hotel needs some TLC
Nice building, staff pleasant but was given wrong room for someone with same surname so had to lug all luggage back downstairs through numerous firedoors - no offer of help. Room big enough for single but paint peeling off walls, basin hot tap loose. Over hot until I switched off heater - difficult to open ground floor window for fresh air due to secondary window and steel bars! Very dim with low energy bulbs. Asked for more teabags and milk cartons to be brought to room but girl said only coffee creamers available - offered to bring a jug of fresh milk. Turkey roast dinner was very good, along with full English breakfast. Wasnt that obvious from Laterooms website that it was room only or I could have got a free breakfast by signing up for deals from Goodnight Inns! Parking not a problem onsite - free to guests. Gerrards Cross a pleasant place to stay with cinema just a few yards away.

Reviewed by
Barry J

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonable value Gerrards Cross hotel
Good value for an expensive area, good location, big room and reasonably well appointed, comfortable bed, bearing most hotels in the UK do not deliver on most levels, this hotel was reasonable. Television was tiny, and room 22 needed better lighting , no bedside lights.

Reviewed by
james c

From Amersham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room
Was attending a party, so didn't arrive until 2am & left first thing in the morning. However a very nice roomy suite. Unfortunately didn't have time to use any of the hotel facilities.

Reviewed by
Simon H

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs some TLC
Was surprised to find that no toiletries were supplied in the bathroom (hotel policy). Also only plastic tumblers not glass. Surprising as this is not a 'budget' hotel.
Toilet was constantly flushing so asked to be fixed while I went out to dinner. When I came back that problem was fixed but then it wouldn't flush.
This hotel just needs a bit of TLC although having said that I would commend the staff that I came in contact for their good customer service

Reviewed by
Brian H

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business meeting away
A nice conveniently located hotel. Staff all very pleasant, room a bit on the small side but perfectly adequate. Everything worked which is always a plus. Paintwork in the room a little tired but apart from that a nice place to stay.

ManagementResponse

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay at The Ethorpe. As you noted we are very well situated, as the train with direct link to London is great for commuters and for seeing the sights. We are currently working towards redecorating all our rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind Regards, Brandon, General Manager

Reviewed by
J Bambery

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely experience
Had a very romantic stay and was upgraded to the Tudor room the receptionist was extremely helpful and we had a lovely anniversary

Reviewed by
P Short

From Ruislip, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thought over priced as an old tired building which needs re-vamping

Reviewed by
m lewins

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

traditional old school hotel
If you want a quaint old hotel then this is the place to stay. The food in the evening is really good, but don't have the cooked breakfast, it varies from just adequate to overcooked and ill prepared

Reviewed by
Henry L

From East Preston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great base for London visits
Great place to use as a base for both work and sightseeing..........Good food and rooms, have used before over the years and does not disappoint.

Reviewed by
Phil H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

my stay at the ethorpe hotel gerrards cross
great room geat food friendly staff good prices will be back

Reviewed by
Edward L

From Great Yarmouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next