Reviews - Gulliver's Hotel


12a New Steine, Brighton, BN2 1PB

Price From 243.35 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (28)

64% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Raymond M

  • July 2015

Brief visit

I booked to stay in an executive double room which was supposed to be 4 star at Gullivers, but when I got there I waited 10 minutes before anyone turned up to let me in, then I had to wait a further 15 minutes to be checked in while the young man ran around sorting out the room of another guest.

When I was eventually seen too I was told they had put me in there other hotel down the road the New Steine. The room I was given was a family room, it was tired, fatty and had a musty smell by this time I could not be bothered to complain all I wanted was a shower and to lie down. I won't be booking there again and I would rate this as 2 star not 4

  • A Kirby

  • May 2015

Gullivers Travels

As someone who stays in hotels frequently through business and leisure this was a mistake I won't Make again but it was a late decision as my Wife wanted to visit Brighton.Hotel is a typical seaside Contractors abode great location very tired .The Room we were we were given haha on suite a drab Looking room with wedged open door ,leading to dark dull shower only bathroom ,we had to shower And use bathroom in the dark after lights failed during the night.Breakfast was ok but oh so slow.

Probably stick to Premier inns in future.

  • A G

  • April 2015

A No-Frills Bed for the Night

I can't comment on the state of the double or family rooms, but if you're a sole business traveller simply after a no-frills bed to lay your head for a night, then this place could be considered.

It's decently located not too far from the beach front. The staff were very nice and relatively helpful, but it's let down by the quality of it's poky single rooms and is incredibly noisy at night. However, for a similar price, you could get a much nicer and more spacious room at a local hotel.

  • C Wells

  • January 2015

Beautiful venue for romantic getaway!

Staff were friendly, accommodating and went out of their way to help, room was comfortable and view was amazing!

  • D Boyd

  • December 2014

Good Experience in Hotel In Good CDistrict

Room was adequate but a bit small.

Location was excellent being close to town centre via a pleasant walk along St james Street or Sea Front. District is lively and full of bars, restaurants and late night shops. Staff were attentive, friendly and effective. Breakfast was very good. This was just what I needed as a private attendee at a conference in Brighton

  • g steel

  • October 2014

Gullivers Travels.......

Excuse the title pun......I couldn't help it.

Gullivers is a good option in Brighton. I stay in Brighton often for overnight business stays and I stay here when they have vacancies at the right price. I usually stay at the hotel that is offering the best deal at the time, however, if I see Gullivers available, even if slightly more expensive than others, I choose here purely for the breakfast.....out & out the best full english around....not big, but delicious and all cooked with local ingredients. Mmmmmmm

  • neil a

  • October 2014

Great breakfast !!

Stayed for two nights in a double room .

Room was very clean with a large bathroom and seperate toilet . Nicely decorated and very comfortable but could have done with being warmer ( central heating was off)

Excellent cooked breakfast in the morning and nice staff :)

Would stay again

  • Julie L

  • September 2014

The staff at Gulliver's couldn't be more helpful

They happily let me leave my bag on checkout and then when I called back for it in the evening they were happy to let me use the facilities and called me a cab - great for a small hotel.

The location is great and the prices good. The hotel is clean and I like its styling. I stayed before and would do so again. I had a really good night's sleep. The rooms at the back seem very quiet. My only disappointment was that the breakfast was a bit undercooked, probably because they were busy. But the grilled tomatoes were cold (uncooked) in the middle and the other parts could have done with a few minutes more. But still full marks for having the standard veggie and vegan options. For the price in Brighton right near the pier I don't think you could beat it.

  • E Rees

  • August 2014

The room was clean and well appointed but I would recommend that you choose not to stay on the ground floor.

The floor boards in the rooms above squeak and are very noisy

  • Liam C

  • June 2014

The best thing about the hotel was the breakfast which was very nice indeed.

The room was clean although very small for a twin room compared to the photos. The twin beds were very small- like children's beds and the mattresses were terribly uncomfortable. That definitely put me off staying here again as I just couldn't sleep well. Saying that, the staff were polite and very helpful.