No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Gulliver's Hotel

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
12a New Steine , Brighton, BN2 1PB
The Gullivers is a charming, elegant and tranquil Georgian Townhouse in central Brighton, located on the picturesque New Steine square. Following recent refurbishment, the Gullivers has re-opened with a mix of baroque and contemporary design incorporating a unique attention to detail and the most personal and friendly of service.

From the moment you arrive to your departure, you will be truly looked after. During check-in you can take in the relaxing surroundings of our Gullivers Lounge and Hallways - surrounded by original artwork and caricature murals - you will be personally shown to your bedroom and all the facilities your room has to offer will be explained. Throughout your stay staff are on hand to assist with any query you may have, and on check-out (after a hearty breakfast, of course), we will ensure you an efficient and memorable departure, wishing you a pleasant journey and hoping you return again soon.

A personalised concierge service is at the guests' disposal 24 hours a day for all requirements and needs and each of the bedrooms has been designed to incorporate comfort and style with modern needs, suiting both leisure and corporate clients alike.

The New Steine Bistro, located at our sister hotel 2 doors down, is our own restaurant, which caters for snacks throughout the day and evening 7 days a week, with a full a la carte available Tuesday to Saturday inclusive in the evening. Offering homemade French cuisine along with British fare, with either a full a la carte menu or daily 3 course special menu, it is the perfect place to enjoy exquisite food in a welcoming environment.

We also have available for hire a selection of conference rooms with full facilities, with a capacity up to 55 people theatre style, which can be hired out on a room only basis, or on a selection of Day and 24 Hour delegate rates.

Please note that, as we are a small intimate venue, we are unable to accept children under the age of 3 years old within the breakfast room, restaurant or bar. However room service breakfast and dinner can be arranged at no additional charge.
Picture of Gulliver's Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great breakfast !!
Stayed for two nights in a double room . Room was very clean with a large bathroom and seperate toilet . Nicely decorated and very comfortable but could have done with being warmer ( central heating was off)
Excellent cooked breakfast in the morning and nice staff :)
Would stay again

Reviewed by
neil a

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff at Gulliver's couldn't be more helpful
They happily let me leave my bag on checkout and then when I called back for it in the evening they were happy to let me use the facilities and called me a cab - great for a small hotel! The location is great and the prices good. The hotel is clean and I like its styling. I stayed before and would do so again. I had a really good night's sleep. The rooms at the back seem very quiet! My only disappointment was that the breakfast was a bit undercooked, probably because they were busy. But the grilled tomatoes were cold (uncooked) in the middle and the other parts could have done with a few minutes more. But still full marks for having the standard veggie and vegan options.
For the price in Brighton right near the pier I don't think you could beat it.

Reviewed by
Julie L

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was clean and well appointed but I would recommend that you choose not to stay on the ground floor. The floor boards in the rooms above squeak and are very noisy

Reviewed by
E Rees

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The best thing about the hotel was the breakfast which was very nice indeed. The room was clean although very small for a twin room compared to the photos. The twin beds were very small- like children's beds and the mattresses were terribly uncomfortable. That definitely put me off staying here again as I just couldn't sleep well. Saying that, the staff were polite and very helpful.

Reviewed by
Liam C

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gullivers Travels.......
Excuse the title pun......I couldn't help it. Gullivers is a good option in Brighton. I stay in Brighton often for overnight business stays and I stay here when they have vacancies at the right price. I usually stay at the hotel that is offering the best deal at the time, however, if I see Gullivers available, even if slightly more expensive than others, I choose here purely for the breakfast.....out & out the best full english around....not big, but delicious and all cooked with local ingredients. Mmmmmmm

Reviewed by
g steel

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic bed and breakfast with a tiny room

Reviewed by
kristian j

From Norway
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room and wash facilities very clean, best sleep in hotel ever (bed was so comfortable) very pleased overall

Reviewed by
M O`Dwyer

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the worst place to stay, but not 4 star as stated
The welcoming was awkward as there is an adjacent hotel next door so had to wait for the staff to come across. The hotel has character, meaning floors are uneven and noisy. The double bed was infact twin single beds pushed together. The toilet is very cramped, and shower more so. The carpet is stained everywhere and the beds themselves. The windows were infact broken and didn't close, just hanging away from the wall, so you could hear everything outside. The bedside lights were loose and wired visible. The breakfast was the best part of the stay. The staff are friendly and welcoming but in a whole I wouldn't stay here again. I'd prefer to pay more and go somewhere more relaxing

Reviewed by
D Rose

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice cosy room
Nice place to stay, close to central Brighton. Would recommend to friends and family.

Reviewed by
Vilius S

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant but can be noisy
Staff were really helpful and friendly throughout our stay. Our room was spacious, warm and pleasant and the breakfast was good. Location is very convenient and it was affordable.
The minus side was that on the ground floor at the back, street noise came through into our room at night e.g. music, voices of passing pedestrians, and some mysterious banging noises! Maybe it's better on higher floors.

Reviewed by
Kate D

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next