Reviews - New Steine

4

10-11 New Steine, Brighton, East Sussex, BN2 1PB

Price From 137.52 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (22)

77% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • S Bay

  • February 2016

Nothing special but okay

We booked an Executive Deluxe Double for £119 and it was okay.

The room was small and the walls are paper thin so you can hear everything going on in other rooms. Breakfast was no frills but tasty. We managed to find a parking space and purchased a 24 hour permit from the hotel. We wouldn't stay again as we both value a good night's sleep and need a bigger bed.

  • Steven Leigh

  • December 2015

Simple single

The greeting at reception was good and I was offered help to take bags up to my room.

The receptionist gave details of facilities and breakfast but did this as he was walking ahead of me upstairs so I didn't get all he said - I'd suggest all of this information was given at reception face to face. The room was clean and tidy though very small. It had a single bed and a wardrobe and the remaining floor space was just about the size of a single bed. I had two guitar cases and luggage and it was therefore very cramped. There is a small sink in the room but why do hotels insist on placing a glass shelf only several inches above the sink so that you bash it with your head when cleaning your teeth. The bed was comfortable, the shower was ok but the window at the 'head' end of the bed was a bit drafty and let in a bit of noise. Breakfast was excellent with good coffee and the staff were very polite and efficient.

I'd stay again but in a slightly larger room. Overall I'd rate the experience as 7/10 and feel that the room was a little over-priced considering it was so tiny.

  • Amy F

  • November 2015

Lovely staff, lovely hotel

I arranged a surprise mini break for my partner and I, the hotel arranged wine and chocolates to be there on our arrival, nothing was too much trouble for the staff throughout our stay.

Our initial basement room was loud (being right next to the pavement with single glazed windows) but when we mentioned this to them they immediately stated they would easily move our stuff to a quieter, upgraded room, free of charge and all whilst we were out for the day. The breakfast was lovely, the second room was clean, spacious, and peaceful. Thank you New Steine for all you customer service and kindness.

  • Catherine Gerrard

  • November 2015

Unexpectedly good

Even A.

Though we were in the attic room, my daughter and I had a great 2 night stay here. My bedside light wasn't working, when I informed the staff, it was immidiately fixed. Staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Room was very comfortable, however getting up the narrow staircase was a struggle for me. The breakfast was exceptional and better than many a 'posher' hotel I have been in. The chef's special of poached egg on avocado spread toast, was delicious. The bread they use is wonderful. Exceptional value having booked through 'LateRooms.com'.

  • N Aktipis

  • March 2015

Weekend Holiday

I had an enjoyable time at the New Steine.

I had a single room for two nights, which included breakfast. The only real issue I had was the room kettle didn't work and the shower drain was a bit back up. Other than that the room was very clean and tidy and the food was fantastic. :)

  • Julie L

  • November 2014

Memorable for the wrong reasons

I arrived at the hotel late in the evening after a 5 hour drive there.

I was greeted by a porter who knew little English and made checking in slow & tedious. My room had no towels left for the guest and it was too late to request them. There was only a sink in my room. Toilet and shower has to be shared. The mattress was old and lumpy. The bedroom window didn't close properly and I couldn't block out the noise from the street.

  • Stephen Wise

  • October 2014

Clean hotel which is full of character

This is a very nice hotel, close to the centre of brighton and convenient for buses.

The hotel has a distinct style which is reflected throughout and a good deal of attention has been paid to the decor. I like the use of art throughout the place although this would not be to everyone's taste - it is not outrageous but it is also not your usual bland hotel fare. The room was spotless, although very small indeed. I had breakfast both mornings - scrambled egg the first day was a bit dry but the poached eggs on the second morning were terrific - done properly, in a pan of boiling water, and lovely and fresh. Staff friendly and helpful. I will use it again on future trips but will book a larger room.

  • Mark Richmond

  • October 2014

Excellent hotel Efficiently run. Comfortable and Central

Good all round hotel.

Staff very helpful and professional. High Standard of everything!

  • Darius A

  • August 2014

New Steine Hotel

Stayed here for one night over Bank Holiday weekend.

Felt lucky to get a room at all at such a busy time. Friendly staff, decent enough breakfast. For the money, it was good.

  • D Lynch

  • August 2014

I came down to Brighton for a few days to escape London.

The hotel is located a stone's throw from the pier. The weather was great so it was lovely to be able to run along the beach in the morning. The room was ok but could do with a bit of TLC. A few holes/cracks in the wall. Shower in room was good. The room was adequate but was a bit smaller than i expected. Breakfast was good and despite the breakfast room being busy, I didn't have to wait long. All in all, for a few days out of the big smoke, it was just what I wanted. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Allowing me to leave my bags there after I checked out, in order for to wander around the city centre, was really useful and much appreciated.