No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Hotel

2Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
RAILWAY STREET , GATESHEAD, NE11 9EB
Situated between the Newcastle/Gateshead Quayside and the Metrocentre and just off the A1. The Royal Hotel is a convenient and amicable place to stay. With friendly staff and excellent food served daily, we are an ideal place to stay for either weekend trips or longer. We offer triple and family rooms as well as single, twin and double rooms. All rooms come with televisions an tea/coffee making facilities and breakfast in included as standard. Wifi available.
Picture of Royal Hotel, GATESHEAD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but value for money
Very basic but great value for money. the hotel was used as a quick stop off for a shower and beer before sampling the local night life.Rooms all warm and with free wifi. Freeview TV in each of the 6 rooms we booked and breakfast in the morning was good. Self service for people with great appetites. Overall very pleasant stay. Would recommend here again for stag/lads nights out.

Reviewed by
C Ingle

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated but clean
Although the decor was dated (and the floor wasn't level) the room and bathroom were clean and tidy. Breakfast was fine, although it was a shame there weren't more options for the vegetarian in our group. Walls are fairly thin, so it gets noisy on a Saturday night. However, very cheap for us and near where we wanted to be.

Reviewed by
Saskia B

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recent Stay
A lovely relaxed and friendly pub / hotel, my only criticism was the lack of food available after breakfast, it was advertised as having a dining room and meals available daily, however the staff kindly pointed us in the direction of other local places for eating. Room was neat and tidy, definately value for money!

Reviewed by
Karen C

From stockton on tess, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two nights
Great value for money. Friendly, helpful staff.

Reviewed by
brian o reilly

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Hotel
Royal hotel was ideal for me, good value, helpful staff, they were happy for me to leave my car in the car par all day after I'd checked out, good taxi service to city centre.

Reviewed by
M Fox

From Bramham , UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place for the arena or night out
3 of us stayed for the lee evans, the customer service was excellent, cleanliness was brilliant and the food outstanding, stayed many places like travellodges etc but this was the most comfy and cosy place, shame we only stayed 1 night but will definitely use for future events.

Reviewed by
Emma N

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for, cheap and cheerful

Reviewed by
a hurley

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

staff very helpful good value for the price would stay again
Decent room for price definitely be booking again if in the area

Reviewed by
Andrew F

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasant and friendly
From our arrival hotel management and staff were pleasant and friendly. Hotel fully respected that we were working nights didnt disturb us during the day. En suite room was comfortable and clean and secure.

Reviewed by
K TERRY

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lads weekend away
Great hotel for a group of guys looking for somewhere to stay. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful

Reviewed by
R Hunter

From North Berwick, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next