No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Hotel

2Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
RAILWAY STREET , GATESHEAD, NE11 9EB
Situated between the Newcastle/Gateshead Quayside and the Metrocentre and just off the A1. The Royal Hotel is a convenient and amicable place to stay. With friendly staff and excellent food served daily, we are an ideal place to stay for either weekend trips or longer. We offer triple and family rooms as well as single, twin and double rooms. All rooms come with televisions an tea/coffee making facilities and breakfast in included as standard. Wifi available.
Picture of Royal Hotel, GATESHEAD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lads weekend away
Great hotel for a group of guys looking for somewhere to stay. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful

Reviewed by
R Hunter

From North Berwick, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay in the Josephine room
When we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted by a very friendly lady who showed us our room. The room was quite dated, but very clean and very comfortable. The staff were all lovely and the breakfast was generous. We were very happy with our stay, no problems with noise or any of the problems in previous reviews.

Reviewed by
Amy C

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One of the worst nights ever . . .
I expect to get what I pay for when booking late, but £60 a night should be better than this! Adequate twin room but a bathroom that could have done with a good clean
We slept, but 4am and it sounded like a riot in the corridor. Men screaming and swearing, pounding up and down, hammering on doors. It got to the stage where I put a chest of drawers in front of the door, before calling the hotel
What was done? Absolutely nothing until it died down at about 7am
Avoid the ‘cooked’ breakfast if you can; a no choice pile of overcooked junk, swimming in grease. We complained but the only comment was, ‘you should have called’! and of course the manager ‘wasn’t available’ to authorize a refund and he also ‘wasn’t available’ when I called for the next 2 days
NEVER again, so be aware if you decide to go there yourself

Reviewed by
Roger C

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay no problems

Reviewed by
Michael Dawes

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for a one night stay.

Reviewed by
W Forster

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

all right price for a single but at double the price for twin or double room not worth the money

Reviewed by
brian donnelly

From Bridlington, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Hotel
On arrival I received a warm welcome and check in was easy and efficient, I was directed to the Car Park and to my room, I stayed in the room known as Joanne, a single room that was clean and tidy with en suite facilities, tea and coffee making,
If I had any thing to criticise it would be the lighting in the room it seemed to be extremely dark and with energy saving bulbs it could fo with a lighter shade. The strip light in the bathroom was not working so could not use the electric razor point.
The breakfast was excellent and could not have wished for better service from the waitress.
I would recommend the hotel for businessmen and contractors.

Reviewed by
Anthony Church

From England
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not to keen on the late night Bollywood music
The room was tidy the sheets were clean. Another pillow would have been nice. Sorry to say there was a bit of a stale smell to the room.
My only real complaint was the Bollywood music that went on till 2am.
Have to say I wouldn't want a longer stay but it was ok for a one night stopover for my purposes.
None of the below selections fit my reason for staying there.

Reviewed by
William F

From Leigh on Sea, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Customer service, quality of room basic and outdated
The service I received by Vicky was excellent who ordered us takeaway in as there was no food during the evening. Providing us with the space and the utensils to eat it in the hotel. Lovely friendly atmosphere during the evening we stayed.
My only criticism was the outdated room we stayed in and the poor workmanship of the bathroom fittings making it look very shoddy.

Reviewed by
c rogers

From Loughborough, England
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was basic, but comfortable. Staff very helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
H Okroy

From Magherafelt, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next