No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Saunton Sands Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Saunton, Devon, EX33 1LQ
The Saunton Sands Hotel is a luxury four star resort hotel, overlooking 5 miles of golden sands.

Perched high on a cliff with miles of golden sands at its feet, The Saunton Sands Hotel was always going to be something truly special. This is evident from the moment you first take in the views, stretching along the dramatic coastline and across the fascinating World Heritage Site at Braunton Burrows

Whatever you want from your holiday, we're confident that you will find it at The Saunton Sands Hotel. For that special break, you'll find that our spectacular location makes us one of the most romantic hotels in Devon. If it's an active holiday you're looking for, the surrounding area boasts some of the best surfing beaches in the country, and the windswept beauty of Exmoor, perfect for walking, is just a short drive away
Picture of The Saunton Sands Hotel, Devon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

holiday for one
Comfy hotel, a must to have room with a sea view. Menu seemed to be complicated for evening meal not just me but several guest wanting to know what it meant. Value for money out of season.

Reviewed by
s phipps

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
I really enjoyed the stay at saunton sands, the hotel was clean, we'll appointed and friendly. The public areas are well decorated and modern the breakfast was well cooked and had plenty of choice. The waiting staff were smart and welcoming.
I think my room was due an update in decor, single rooms tend to be fairly depressing the room I had was a tad drab compared to the rest of the hotel but was clean and comfortsble. It was a bit chintz compared to the lounges and breakfast area so I was a little disappointed upon arrival.
I always think that single rooms are badly designed, it would be so much more welcoming to have the bed in the middle of a wall as you would expect with a double room, usually they are pushed up against a corner - this was no exception.
The hotel was well placed and I enjoyed a walk on the beach each morning after breakfast. Perfectly situated for wools ombré and Barnstaple

Reviewed by
Rob Surtees

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous hotel in wonderful location
We only stayed for one night but were impressed by the friendly staff and lovely food. I swam in the indoor swimming pool which was so warm and relaxing. We will definitely stay there again if we are in the area.

Reviewed by
Jane C

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room needed air. con. unbearly hot dinner very poor service also poor. Well maintained coomon areas
Beautiful setting all areas, with the exception of the bedroom, were well kept and air. conditioned. On the third day our room wasn't serviced properly and the towels were not changed. We were given a discount of 10% due to lack of sleep for the first two nights. We came for a complete rest are very disappointed

Reviewed by
Claire Cunningham

From Horsley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sublime saunton sands
Upon arrival we received the highest standard of service from Peter and the staff at this hotel, when I booked they did not have a room with a sea view but upon arrival they went out of the way to try and rectify this, Peter was very helpful and gave us a tour of the hotel and amenities it's not very often you get a director that is so hands on fantastic views great location, I will definitely be staying here again.

Reviewed by
Michael Greger

From Torquay, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic location,
You pay for the location overlooking the wonderful 3 mile beach. The service from all staff, mostly from UK, was first class. The food was average and could be hotter. However the new Sands on the Beach café/bistro was great, probably dealing with fewer customers and the food there was original and hot.

Reviewed by
G Lancashire

From Dorchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced and Noisy
We had a room directly above a wedding reception. Things in the room were shaking from the vibrations so much we had to take the door stop off the wall. It was incredibly loud and you could hear the disco and then live band and every word of every song. I paid half price with laterooms, but it was still a ridiculous price for a very average room and a very bad sleep. You advertised it as a family hotel, but it would have been horrendous to have children in that room, where it was impossible to sleep before midnight. I was very disappointed. I wasn’t told about the wedding either on booking, or when I checked in. I would have got more sleep if i’d slept in my car.

Reviewed by
k griffin

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Saunton Sands
I have stayed at this hotel a number of times and although pricey I normally think that the whole experience is worht the money.
We had a family suite which had sea views but the bathroom was tired and the experience was ruined on day 2 when the hotel decided it was time to re-surface the tennis court at 8AM in the morning and our room was right next to the car park where tarmac was being delivered and layed. Why this is being done in July really does surprise me. One night we were put on the terrace by the Maitre 'D for dinner (I am not sure why as there was plenty of space in the restaurant). Our dinner was ruined because we were cold and in the end had to move into the bar to finish our meal. There appeared to be no reason for this.

Reviewed by
Ewan Cox

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great weekend at this fab hotel
I bought a night at Suanton Sands for my son and his girlfriend as a birthday treat for him. Pushed the boat out and had a deluxe room. they stayed on the night of the 21st June. The weather was fantastic and the room and facilities were all brilliant. They ate at eh beach cafe and said this was excellent - very relaxed and laid back. Only littlle niggle as that there was a wedding on that day and the Terrace restaurant was closed off for this plus it was pretty noisy until very late. Apart fromn this the hotel and staff cannot be faulted. If you get the weather as well you could be anywhere in the world.

Reviewed by
D Green

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.

Reviewed by
David D

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next