No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Old House Hotel

3Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
The Square, , , Wickham, PO17 5JG
The Old House Hotel & Restaurant is the ideal venue for all occasions. The elegant Grade II listed building is situated in one of the finest village squares in southern England. Within close proximity of the M27 and easy access to Southampton & Portsmouth. Built in 1707, The Old House Hotel & Restaurant has a relaxed informal atmosphere. Using the best local seasonal produce the fine dining restaurant offers classical British/Mediterranean cuisine with a contemporary influence. The Old House is fully licenced to hold civil ceremonies and partnerships with the Garden Room being a popular choice, together with the Private Dining room which is suitable for business meetings. With many original features remaining the hotel offers luxurious en suite guest rooms and for the more discerning traveller spacious garden rooms. For all occasions we aim to make your visit memorable.
Picture of Old House Hotel, Wickham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable retreat with character and easy access to business opportunities
Very welcoming, quiet village away from sterile hotel chains and business and superstore distractions.

Reviewed by
Wig grace

From Wilmslow, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good,but could improved
Overall my stay was satisfactory,but parking was an issue and general appearance in rooms,such as paintwork not being touched up and old light switches looking shabby and a temperamental television.
With a little attention, things could be improved greatly.

Reviewed by
Dave C

From Tenbury Wells, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommend
Absolutely beautiful place, fantastic food and excellent service. All staff were talkative and very helpful. Rooms were 5 out of 5 for those who like older surroundings. The breakfast was also top quality and food was delicious. I will definitely be going again as the price is also excellent for what you get. 5 out of 5 for all 4 of us that came

Reviewed by
Daniel Brindley

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent customer service and fantastic food. Rooms We're very clean and well presented. Parking at the back of the hotel is limited and very tight but lots of space in the square out the front. Will certainly recommend and hope to stay again in the future

Reviewed by
David H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel
Hotel is very pretty, but not enough parking, we had difficulty as we were in a van, but even so there are only about 5 spaces although there is parking on the square opposite but that was full. Very clean room but a major complaint was the bed, we had room 1 which had a large four poster, the mattress was quite honestly rock solid, firm doesn't even cover it! A decent mattress topper would be an excellent idea! Overall though it was a very nice hotel, and the staff were extremely polite and friendly.

Reviewed by
Judy Seal

From Daventry, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
We stayed for one night to visit family in the area. The room was lovely, spotlessly clean and would definitely book again. The staff were very helpful at both check in and check out.

Reviewed by
B Stevens

From Essex, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Late booking overnight stay
I was really pleased with my Garden room it was lovely and clean and well furnished. The breakfast was very good and the waitress was very helpful, pleasant and made you feel at home.

Reviewed by
M SPENCER

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely furnishings and quality products. Stairs a bit tricky whilst carrying bags! My only thought was I wish had been amore quality mattress, it was better than a lot we had slept in on this trip but it could have been better or maybe a topper could be used. The staff were lovely, it was pretty and breakfast was awesome ;-)

Reviewed by
Belinda G

From Dubai , United Arab Emirates
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old house hotel
Very comfortable stay. Added on another night direct with hotel, arrived 4 July, stayed 2 nights.
Staff were all excellent and we were made very welcome. The room was in the old part of the house and was very cramped with the en-suite. The room was quite noisy with air conditioning units outside the window.. Flaking paint on ceil;ing. I thought thios particular room was overpriced )£110 for the Saturday night). We were also shown rooms in the more recent annexe and they were huge ! Spacious, clean and modern. Despite criticisms, we had a lovely weekend.

Reviewed by
Peter Booth

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

second visit here - highly rated
I had stayed here previously and again the same level of excellent service. The room was good and the breakfast service was excellent , catering for all needs.

Reviewed by
david ingall

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next