No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Moonfleet Manor

3AA Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Fleet Road,Fleet , Weymouth, DT3 4ED
Moonfleet Manor, overlooking the world famous Chesil Beach and the Fleet Lagoon, is set in the heart of some of England's least discovered, yet most beautiful countryside. This handsome Georgian manor presides over an inspirational location of World Heritage status. Moonfleet offers comfortable rooms, great beds, wonderful food, helpful, caring and considerate staff, all in a fabulous setting. Our aim is to ensure all these elements provide our guests with the warm welcome they deserve. The crèche is open from 10am to 4.45pm every day and is absolutely free to residents. Pop them in and take the time to read the newspaper, catch up on sleep or have a relaxing massage in one of our treatment rooms. If you don’t mind getting wet, make sure you pack your swimming costumes and visit our indoor swimming pool.
Our lovely Mediterranean style, 2 AA Rosette restaurant looks out over Chesil Beach, The Fleet and the open sea; on a sunny day, there's nothing like it.
Picture of Moonfleet Manor, Weymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will be visiting again

Reviewed by
E Motler

From Sidmouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
Pretty disappointed with our stay at Moonfleet Manor, certainly not worth the £120 a night that we paid. Room wasn't cleaned properly and whole hotel was very tired looking. Very different to how it is pictured on the website. We wouldn't stay here again or recommend.

Reviewed by
Lisa S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a great stay
The best feature of Moonfleet for us was the Verandah ie. a big building with lots of games for the children - trampolines, football, table tennis and many many more. We particularly loved the old fashioned skittles. Room was big and clean and the whole house was impressive. There is no real beach in the walking distance of the hotel. However, Weymouth beach (about 10-15 mins drive) is absolutely fabolous for families. We really liked the hotel, but thought that it was on the expensive side for what you get. We would go again but only if offers available.

Reviewed by
A Williams

From Chertsey, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Little Piece Of Heaven
Very impressive location and accommodation with excellent choice and quality of food from the restaurant. Staff were very friendly with an excellent night porter service. Alec is our hero!
Although spa facilities were lacking, this was made up for in the quality of treatments and there were lots of amenities indoor and outdoor for families and children. We would definitely consider returning for another visit and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this venue to others. If you're thinking about going, just do it! A little piece of heaven on the Dorset Heritage Coastline

Reviewed by
Laurence Young

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel is only for families and for those who don't like to sleep
My room overlooked the kitchens who started clearing the empties at 10 pm. The window to my room was also next to the noisy air circulation unit. I complained and was told my room is always problematic. Unimpressed.

Reviewed by
elaine rose

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely setting, poor rooms
The hotel itself is lovely though a little bit shabby and tired. If you are with young children or toddlers though, this is less of a problem. However, our room was really very shabby, had cracked glass in the patio door and a wardrobe that was about to fall apart. For the money we paid, I expect more than that.
Food in the restaurant was expensive, but excellent in quality so no complaints there.

Reviewed by
Andrew P

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Moonfleet magic !!
We spent a long time looking for a weekend break that was different and provided our two children with activities to keep them busy and us stress free !! Moonfleet Manor delivers this in spades, the staff are the friendliest and most accomodating I have come across in my considerable travels, the facilities for children are first rate (in fact they do not do themselves justice on their own web site!), the food was excellent and the accomodation just what we needed. We stayed in their 'Henry Peto and Elsevir' 'Luxury Family Rooms', the former is outstanding if you like quirky and eclectic with great period character and the latter more mainstream, but nevertheless just as full of character. The location of Moonfleet Manor is perfect for visiting many of the sights of Dorset during a long weekend and it's 'out of the way' location (even though just a couple of miles from Weymouth) is great if you like dark skies and a spot of astronomy. So, it's late evening on a cold February night, you spend a hour in front of a roaring fire with a large glass of red playing games (many supplied) with the children before ordering your meal in the restaurant. After a first rate dining experience you return to the fireside for a nightcap and then retire to your room to watch a DVD with the kids. If that sounds like your cup of tea, then Moonfleet is for you!! One thing I would stress is that the word 'luxury' is dependent on previous experiences and your outlook. At Moonfleet you will find some flaking paint, areas which are not newly refurbished and furnishings which are worn, I urge you to see through this and understand that 'luxury' in this context is more than skin deep, it's in the people, the relaxation and the stress reduction which only occurs when your children are happy and content. We'll be trying other 'Luxury Family Hotels' in this chain and hope to return to Moonfleet some day.

Reviewed by
P David

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peaceful retreat, perfect location, fantastic food, great walks and an overall feel of shabby-chic
It was my third visit to Moonfleet over the past 15 years to celebrate special occasions. This time we were celebrating a friend's 50th birthday. Although the hotel is primarily geared up for families, this wasn't a problem. Moonfleet caters for all. There is a shabby-chic feel to the manor house interior with log fires and comfy settees providing a perfect place to unwind. Chesil Beach provides a dramatic backdrop, while the coastal path is just yards away. Food was fantastic. Although the service was a bit hit-and-miss, the staff were always polite and friendly.

Reviewed by
A Goodall

From Verwood, England
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place for young families, like staying in someones large house
My wife and I took our 11 month old son to Moonfleet Manor for a two night stay. We got parked straight outside the hotel, and when we walked into the hotel lobby area, the smell of Christmas just hit you and straight away you felt at home. Check in was very simple and efficient, we got shown to our room, which was fantastic, lots of room, and all the facilities you needed. We did swap the travel cot they set up for a wooden cot, which they did without any problem. The hotel itself is just like staying in someone’s large house, which is perfect for relaxing and taking young children. The hotel probably could do with a little refurb, however I think it adds to the character and you also feel more comfortable taking young children to the house. The facilities for the children are fantastic. You have an enormous play area which includes a soft toy play area as well as areas for older children including pool tables, mini tennis and football pitch. The swimming pool is also good for young children, with a specific baby pool that is a little warmer than the others. The crèche is also handy, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The spa is small but excellent. Limited treatments and a little expensive, but the massage I had was excellent. The best part was the food, both nights we have exceptional food and wine, with great service. We will definitely be going back. The staff also made it, they could never do enough for you.

Reviewed by
M Glenn

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.