No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bannatyne Hotel Darlington

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Southend Avenue , Darlington, DL3 7HZ
Grade II listed Town House in the heart of Darlington with luxurious accommodation including Executive and Junior Suite rooms.

Superb Maxine's restaurant which offers 3 course Lunch, Dinner and Afternoon Tea overlooking the beautiful garden. Our fabulous function suite can cater for large or even those smaller intimate parties.

Easy access from the A1(m), train station and Durham Tees Valley Airport.

Free Access to the Health Club facilities located approx 15 minutes walk from the hotel, this includes use of the gym, swimming pool, steam room and sauna.
Picture of Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, Darlington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 72 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room got to hot through night with window open other than that fantastic

Reviewed by
S Ball

From Chester le Street, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Handsome, comfortable and friendly
Very handsome and comfortable old fashioned hotel. Good location convenient for town and yet hotel is quiet. Door keys are actual keys not swipe cards. Staff very friendly and attentive. Food available at any time as lunch time is replaced by afternoon tea and then early bird supper and then dinner. Will stay again.

Reviewed by
J Adams

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reviewed by
Caroline Rust

From Saltburn by The Sea, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal town centre location
We always use this hotel when visiting Darlington. It is perfectly situated close to shops, pubs and restaurants. The staff are superb, very friendly and helpful. The drinks served at the bar are expensive, and the décor is in need of refreshing, but all considered, it is a lovely place to stay

Reviewed by
Sue R

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect location for overnight Darlington stay.
This is our fifth visit to Bannatye hotel Darlington which we use when we are going to a gig at the forum music centre. As usual the staff were friendly and seem genuinely happy to help.
Check in was quick and easy, we did not use the health club and spa this visit but have on previous occasions which really make this hotel a super bargain!
Rooms are tastefully decorated and have all you need for a short stay. Good range of tea/coffee/hot chocolate provided with biscuits. Fantastic parking within the grounds of the hotel which makes you feel secure leaving your car.
Location is perfect for a walk into town with its many restaurants, bars and shops.
Breakfast was buffet style, which is the only change that we were not keen on as the hot food serving dishes were very awkward to use (you needed 3 hands!) and the whole process was slow.
Overall a very pleasant stay and we will return again soon.

Reviewed by
L Johnson

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for what I wanted
I needed a comfortable hotel close to Darlington hospital at short notice for me & my 3 month old. This fit the bill perfectly & staff couldn't have been more helpful
I was pleasantly surprised at how quickly a very nice breakfast was served, so often it takes ages for a cooked breakfast

Reviewed by
Louise S

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely stay!
We stayed at the Bannatyne Hotel for a wedding we attended at another venue. We were able to check in early, and found the room to be warm, clean and so homely. Despite there being a function on at the time, the room was quiet and our breakfast the next morning was delicious!

Reviewed by
Nena Logan

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel shame about our room
Let me start by saying this review is not a reflection on the whole experience as we really enjoy the hotel but the room we got but in room 5 is to be avoided at all costs , it is on the ground floor right next to the lifts and all the noise associated with that up till the early hours , then we were women up at half 5 by the cleaned banging about cleaning toilets next to the lifts resulting in me having to get out of bed and go and tell her to shut up , I'm sure any other room in this hotel would be amazing as the inside of the rooms are lovely just the position of room 5 is bad lifts one side and the kitchen on the other side but I would stay again if I was in a room higher up in the hotel

Reviewed by
Simon C

From Co durham , UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb Value and Superb Staff
Superb value - love this hotel - ALL staff are professional, polite, friendly and very helpful. They are happy to assist with anything they can to make your visit just what you want it to be.

Reviewed by
JENNIFER B

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location as walking distance from the station and also to the shopping centre. The room was comfortable and clean with a good shower and tea and coffee. Stayed 2 nights and ate in hotel on the second night. We had the early bird menu which was two courses for £10which we really enjoyed. Very friendly welcoming staff across all areas of hotel. Could have done without the fire alarm going off at 7.15 am, but everyone was very good natured about it!!!! Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Janet Marks

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next