No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bannatyne Hotel Darlington

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Southend Avenue , Darlington, DL3 7HZ
Grade II listed Town House in the heart of Darlington with luxurious accommodation including Executive and Junior Suite rooms.

Superb Maxine's restaurant which offers 3 course Lunch, Dinner and Afternoon Tea overlooking the beautiful garden. Our fabulous function suite can cater for large or even those smaller intimate parties.

Easy access from the A1(m), train station and Durham Tees Valley Airport.

Free Access to the Health Club facilities located approx 15 minutes walk from the hotel, this includes use of the gym, swimming pool, steam room and sauna.
Picture of Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, Darlington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 65 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb Value and Superb Staff
Superb value - love this hotel - ALL staff are professional, polite, friendly and very helpful. They are happy to assist with anything they can to make your visit just what you want it to be.

Reviewed by
JENNIFER B

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location as walking distance from the station and also to the shopping centre. The room was comfortable and clean with a good shower and tea and coffee. Stayed 2 nights and ate in hotel on the second night. We had the early bird menu which was two courses for £10which we really enjoyed. Very friendly welcoming staff across all areas of hotel. Could have done without the fire alarm going off at 7.15 am, but everyone was very good natured about it!!!! Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Janet Marks

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel in a good convenient location.
lovely hotel, very helpful staff and a good choice of food in the restaurant.
I would recommend it to anyone

Reviewed by
helen dear

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall a nice hotel with friendly helpful staff
A warm welcome and very friendly, helpful staff. Nice clean room. We enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was very good. The only thing that could be improved is the attention to detail ie. ensure that there are full new jam pots on the breakfast table, breakfast things cleared quickly, the note pad in the room had a coffee stain on it so should have been replaced. Obviously that is being super critical but that level of attention would have gained a 6 throughout. If we need to stay in the area again we would come back.

Reviewed by
Abi B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top Hotel!
We stayed for one night, B&B, in order to visit the theatre. The hotel is in a lovely old building and is well placed to visit Darlington town centre. A bonus is free parking at the hotel. Although the road is a busy one, by evening the traffice calms right down and so we were'nt bothered by any noise. We did ask for a quiet room however and this was granted, we overlooked the hotel garden, so it was nice and peaceful.
All the staff at the hotel, without exception, were courteous, friendly, professional and you had the impression nothing at all was too much trouble. They are all a credit to the hotel!
Our room was clean and bright, contemporary furnishings complimenting the original features of the room (this was also eleganty done throughout the hotel), not detracting from the period feel of the place. We had nice fluffy towels and a good supply of toiletries too, with a well stocked supply of tea/coffee and biscuits.
We decided to have dinner in the hotel although on readling the fixed price menu we nearly changed our minds. It did not describe the dishes very well, not inspiring enough to persuade us to stay, however we were very glad we did, as the food was delicious!! Just needs the menu description "pimping up" a bit, as it really was tasty, well presented and good portion sizes, it was excellent value for money. Drinks were well priced too, we enjoyed our dining experience very much.
All in all, a lovely stay, great value for money (no taxi fares needed to get into town) and we will certainly return!

Reviewed by
A Thompson

From Whitby, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Always a pleasure
As always, very good staff, comfy feel to rooms, and nice food.
Downside- twin beds (single) was not comfortavble.

Reviewed by
STUART C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gwen and Pat D's week holiday
We loved our week's holiday at this hotel. The hotel was just perfect for us. A beautiful building, very tastefully decorated. Excellent location for the town centre, and for exploring the surrounding area. All the staff were friendly and helpful. A lovely evening meal in the hotel at a reasonable price. Would be very happy to return.

Reviewed by
Patrick D

From England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely relaxing mini break !
We had an overnight stay at Bannatynes. The building is lovely. The decor is due a tidy up but still felt like a bit of luxery. Good location for walking into town, bars and restaurants. We also used the spa which was a short drive away and staff there were fantastic.

Reviewed by
lisa n

From North Shields, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stop over
My wife and I were looking for a good quality hotel at a good price for an overnight stay in Darlington. We certainly were not disappointed with the Bannatyne Hotel. Right from our service on arrival to leaving the following day the staff were friendly and very helpful. The room was excellent and the breakfast very good quality. The hotel is well presented and the grounds relaxing and well kept.

Reviewed by
George Taylor

From Jarrow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

central position
visiting relatives in area,hotel ideally placed.Stayed here 4 times before and we always book a deluxe room.
Breakfast always excellent and so is the service.
Only 10 minutes walk from the station.

Reviewed by
m darlington

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next