No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Astors Hotel

4Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
110-112 Ebury StreetVictoria , London, SW1W 9QD
Astors Hotel is situated in Ebury street, a quiet tree filled street in the heart of Belgravia. Harrods, Harvey Nichols, the international designer stores of Sloane Street and Brompton Cross, art galleries and bespoke antique shops are minutes walk away, as well as world famous Buckingham Palace, the museums of South Kensington - Victoria & Albert, Natural History and the Science Museums.
The hotel is also located minutes walk from Victoria coach station and only 7 minutes walk from Sloane Square and Victoria train station which takes you directly to Gatwick airport via the Gatwick Express.

Whether you are traveling on business or leisure - you will find the perfect location here! Twenty designer appointed bedrooms feature state of the art modern facilities and are skillfully decorated to suit most exquisite taste. Our friendly reception staff will make your stay with us truly enjoyable.
Picture of Astors Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good overall
The room and location were excellent. The only downside was the breakfast room, which was horribly cramped.

Reviewed by
Richard M

From York, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very disappointing place ,,, certainly not a hotel
We booked what we believed to be a four star hotel ,,, but on arrival we were told we were on 3 rd floor but after walking up 4 flights of stairs we found we were in what can only be described as an attic room ,,, very small with tiny window and not much space to move around at all ,,,, my partner has a heart condition & certainly couldn't cope with being on top floor with no lift let alone awful room ,,, we asked for a refund but was refused as we booked on your site ,,, so we lost all money paid & had to book another hotel close by ,,,,,, a very disappointed customer

Reviewed by
J Daniels

From Hailsham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night theatre trip
What a find ! In an upmarket area yet
half the price that I was quoted for one night
At a budget hotel!
Walking distance to Victoria tube, train station,bus and
coach stations
Also walking distance to local theatres.
We'll definitely book again A*****

Reviewed by
JOANNE O

From Knutsford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Good Hotel
This was a good value for money hotel. Small room and bathroom but extremely clean and an excellent location.

Reviewed by
B O'Connor

From Belfast, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family stay
Double bed was fine, put up bed for child was basically a board with a very thin mattress. Room also very small. Hotel was clean and staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast room is in the reception and was a continental breakfast. Galley type kitchen and busy with guests so not always a seat available. Overall a reasonable stay but for the money I would stay further out for more facilities. For a couple this would be great realistically and no real fault with anything.

Reviewed by
Andrew D

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The most disgusting place I have ever stayed in
I have never been to such a disgusting hotel in my life. I am frustrated as this was supposed to be a hotel room costing £300 per night and to my astonishment, my home bathroom was bigger than the entire room (inc the bathroom)!
The breakfast in the morning was the most disorganised breakfast hall i have ever experienced, and not only that, but I had to wait for the food to be cooked (in the communal breakfast area! I couldn't believe it when the staff member brought out the eggs and the microwaved sausages & started to microwave them in front of the paying customers (- this was the ONLY hot food available - microwave sausages and eggs!). There were approximately 10 seats for customers and it was 'one in one out' - people were actually waiting for us to finish our food so they could be accommodated! Whilst I waited for the eggs to cooked(!), i decided to have a bread roll. I was astonished to find mould all over the cheese. I passed it to the reception and said this is disgraceful, and her reply was 'sorry, sometimes we do find mouldy cheese'! The coffee machine wasnt workign properly and also the frust drink machine was being repaired! I could not believe the customer service, the accommodation, the cleanliness of the hotel; it really was disgusting and I urge people to spend LESS and stay at a local premier inn.
This room was supposed to be a surprise for my girlfriend and i have never been so embarrassed. Never ever ever would I stay at this hotel again, and I would highly recommend to stay clear.

ManagementResponse

Dear Customer, Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback, and I have now had time to investigate your comments further, and speak with the relevant members of staff. May I address your comments as follows: Firstly, I would like to point out that you paid £99 per night for your stay at our hotel, less than a third of the purported £300 in your review. With regards to the rooms size, I apologise if the size did not meet your expectation, however, London hotel rooms are typically small in size, indeed our room sizes are rather generous for the local area. On the day of your stay, we were not full, and if you had informed our reception team during your stay, we would have endeavoured to provide you with other options. We are a small bed and breakfast guest house, and the breakfast area is for the most part of sufficient size to cope with the number of guests we accommodate. However, on occasion, there can be a short wait for breakfast but, given that many of the local hotels don't have a breakfast room at all, and offer no breakfast whatsoever, we feel that our breakfast area and the food we offer is to a good standard. Indeed many guests have in fact praised us for the quality of the breakfast that we offer them, and are pleased with the service they receive. The price advertised only includes Continental Buffet Breakfast, but as you observed we do aim to offer some cooked food for our guests. With regards to the mould on the cheese piece that you collected, this is something we will investigate further with our suppliers, as clearly this is not acceptable, but from what I understand, this was a single piece of cheese with this issue, and as all cheese pieces are individually wrapped, this would not have affected any other cheese pieces. As for the juice and coffee machines, they were both fully functional on the day of your stay. The only "maintenance" that took place was to replenish the supply of juice, as the juice in the machine had run out. They were no other issues with either machine. Overall, you did not pay £300 for your room, many of our previous guests have commented that we offer a great service and good value for money, and I feel this review stating that the room was £300 per night and several of your other comments are extremely misleading.

Reviewed by
J Nixon

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good price
Very small hotel, our room was downstairs and was extremely difficult to get down the stairs, shouldn't really be in use.

Reviewed by
S Jones

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Astros Hotel
The room was excellent. The only problem as the room where you had breakfast which was a glorified canteen.

Reviewed by
Mark Smith

From England
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Midweek Break
Ideally located if travelling by initially to Victoria Coach Station as I was. Main concern was the size and location of the breakfast area and the quality of breakfast. Situated openly adjacent to the reception area and tables cramped together - not ideal when you are up and down collecting from buffet style servery. Maybe we turned up for beakfast at the wrong time but there was very little cooked food available and what was there was cold - admittedly, they did eventually top-up but unfortunately, too little too late! Room was adequate for a one night stay but would have been cramped for a longer stay. We were two plus child in a two person room methinks!) Hardly a hotel, more a B&B. Staff were pleasant and helpful, letting us leave bags in luggage room before and after booking in/out. I would stay overnight again because of the convenience but would prefer better food service and a bar if staying longer

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your review, we are glad you were happy with the location, and also that you would choose to stay with us again. Also, we are pleased that you were happy with the service received from our staff. Our triple rooms are more than adequate for two adults and one child, so I am surprised you found the room to be cramped. Perhaps on your next visit you would prefer to book a Family room, which is larger. As you point out, we are only a small hotel, and as such the breakfast room is an appropriate size for the number of rooms that we have. Our breakfast is a continental buffet breakfast, but we have recently introduced a selection of cooked food, including sausages, eggs and beans, these should have not have been cold. Had you requested more, we would have been more than happy to provide you with such, and we will liaise with our housekeeping team to ensure sufficient food is being provided. If this was not the case, then I can only apologise. We look forward to welcoming you once again to our hotel, and hope we can improve on the quality of your stay!

Reviewed by
Alan B

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

small but nice
the rooms are small but well appointed and modern.

Reviewed by
craig Anderson

From Richmond, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next