No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Kinmel Arms

5AA Assessed Restaurant with Rooms Ratings explained
THE VILLAGE ST GEORGE, NR ABERGELE, CONWY, LL22 9BP
The Kinmel arms is a haven of rural tranquillity only a few 100 meters from the A55 with ready access to the coast, mountains and cwms of North Wales. In our award winning restaurant and bar we serve local real ales and an extensive wine list with produce sourced locally to produce rosette standed cuisine.

Four remarkable and individually designed superior 5 star suites complete our restaurant with rooms. We serve excellent food - lots of local fresh fish/shell fish all local meats. CAMRA real ale winners. We have now been awarded 2 rosettes from the AA. AA seafood of the year, commended Taste of Wales winners, Les Routiers Regional In of the year award in 2005 and Best Inn in Wales and the Marchers 2006.

Voted 8th sexiest place to be fed (The Observer) in the world. In the top 10 spots for walks (Times magazine 15/03/2008) guide to best restaurants for walks nationwide.
Picture of The Kinmel Arms, NR ABERGELE, CONWY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 44 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Kinmel Inn, St George near Abergele
The staff were very friendly and welcoming. I thought the room was lovely and I thought the idea of the continental breakfast being available within your own room was novel and a little bit different. It was almost like self catering without self catering as the room had its only tiny little kitchenette which I thought was very clever. It was a little bit of luxury for a birthday treat.

Reviewed by
A Williams

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great find
Lovely room. Very helpful and friendly welcome. Dinner was excellent. I had heard good things and wasn't disappointed.

Reviewed by
Anne S

From Frodsham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect!!
I couldn't have picked a better hotel to stay in for my friend's wedding. I stayed in the Pebble Suite - beautifully decorated, spotless, designed to perfection and completely luxurious! The staff couldn't have been friendlier. I am only disappointed that we didn't get to have dinner there as the food looked amazing! I will most definitely be back...

Reviewed by
Jennifer M

From Poulton Le Fylde, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room with no View
The 4 rooms available are split between two storeys. Occupying the Eryr (Eagle) room, our view was of a newly built breeze-block wall. An eagle might expect to see more. The room itself was very well appointed, spacious and with a wonderful wet room, en suite. The bed was large (6ft wide) and firm of mattress.
The service was attentive without being overly so and everything happened as and when it was supposed to - they have a lovely way of delivering your breakfast to your room, whilst you are out having dinner.
The pub/restaurant of which the accommodation is part is also nicely spacious and pleasant, particularly if you like wood. Lots of nice touches. The range of proper beer (2) is small, however, and what there was was fine without being greatly flavoursome. We ate there on both evenings of our stay and ate very well. The food was great, especially the carrots.
Overall, very good but they charge you handsomely for it. Our bill for 2 nights, food and drink was £350, which was easily £50 - £100 too much. We wore it because it was a special occasion but wouldn't do it more than once a year.

Reviewed by
stephen dewhirst

From Matlock, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good food, excellent room. My only criticism would be that the garden area outside the room looked a little neglected.

Reviewed by
Peter R

From Penrith, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Damn near perfect!

Reviewed by
Julian L

From Redditch, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value
We had the same suite as we had last year and as last year, our stay was excellent.

Reviewed by
David Collins

From Kidwelly, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended would visit again
Booked this place due to family recommendation as with reviews you don't actually know the person who is doing the review and I preferred to have a review from a person I knew rather than a stranger. This place is situated in a nice quiet village within one hours drive from all the places we wanted to visit and it did not disappoint. The room was large with an super king size bed and a wonderful shower room. The breakfast was continental style and brought to your room on an evening and placed in the hidden fridge for the morning, for you to have at your leisure at what ever time you liked. The restaurant was of a high quality and the food was exceptional and was reasonably priced. The staff in the pub and restaurant were all very friendly and we always received a warm welcome and they even remembered what drinks we drank on the second night when we walked through the door. The pub is also filled with awards for food etc which again speaks for itself. Well worth a visit for the food alone, but if you can spend a night as well you won't be disappointed.

Reviewed by
S Smith

From Scarborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely country restaurant with rooms
Stunning bedroom.
Lovely meals and superb wine list

Reviewed by
SUSAN P

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
The Kimmel Arms was a hidden gem. Superb room. Breakfast was a pleasant surprise
And it was nice to relax in the room. We only wished we were staying more than one night.

Reviewed by
Steven S

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next