No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Elizabeth House Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
42-44 The Avenue, Southampton, SO17 1XP
Owner managed hotel perched on the edge of the city centre. Within a comfortable walking distance of the universities, Mayflower Theatre and within easy reach of the airport, coach station, central railway station, general hospital and docks you are supremely well located. Free WiFi available in public areas and most bedrooms. All rooms tastefully decorated and some even overlook the charming town garden. Free parking is guaranteed for residents. All rates include full English breakfast served in our large airy breakfast restaurant. Dinner available in the intimate Lizzies Bistro.
Picture of The Elizabeth House Hotel, Southampton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 43 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant stay!
We booked one night for ease of going to a concert nearby and we were very satisfied with its convenience and our room in the hotel. We were pleased we could park our car and we were happy with the breakfast the next morning. The room and ensuite were large and immaculate. We would stay here again.

Reviewed by
n ash

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quick stop
I only stayed one night, but the staff were very approachable and helpful.
The Hotel offers free Wi-Fi and I was able to connect from my room.
Overall a decent hotel - offering everything you would expect, I would book again

Reviewed by
D Evans

From Newquay, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were made very welcome and had a comfortable stay. A very convenient location, good parking facilities and an excellent breakfast. We would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
S R

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A most enjoyable stay
This was our first visit to this hotel and we were extremely happy with both the facilities and the service that we received.
Our room was spacious and really tastefully decorated.
The breakfast was much better than we have had in some hotels and the staff worked efficiently together like clockwork.
Very good location off the A33 on the way into Southampton - very handy for cruise parking.

Reviewed by
Martin K

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great relaxing stay
We picked this hotel due to its location for our business trip
All the staff were very attentive and friendly,
The rooms were very clean and comfy, at breakfast there is a great selection of hot and cold food
There is plenty of parking on site. The rooms were quite hot due to the prolonged outside temperature and upon asking for a fan at reception, they promptly had one set up in the rooms which worked a treat
The onsite Lizzie's bar was very good with a relaxing atmosphere offering excellent home cooked food
We would defiantly use this hotel again

Reviewed by
Jon C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast. Not very good
Breakfast really allfull, and staff just stood and watch you eat it very uncomfortable

Reviewed by
Sonia B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Excellent hotel, good location. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast very good.

Reviewed by
S Stevenson

From Craven Arms, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value for Money
We were 3 x adults needing a bed for the night as we needed to get a ferry early the next morning. We also had a small dog. The staff were very friendly and helpful and gave us various directions we needed. The best part of the hotel was the fact we didin't have to leave our best friend (18 mth old dog) at home. The rooms were very clean and quite spacious. The location was excellent for our next day journey. The breakfast was good and there was a variety to choose from. All in all would definately recommend this.

Reviewed by
Caroline F

From Bracknell, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Elizabeth House, Well worth a try.
What a treat, friendly staff, excellent quality room and the bar is worth a visit (But not much choice of draught beer) and you'll have no trouble finding a table, the menu is a bit limited but good value.

Reviewed by
A Jones

From Letchworth Garden City, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A spotlessly clean hotel.
We arrived on a boiling hot day to find our windows open and a fan on blowing cool air.
Because the fan was quiet, we were able to leave it on all night. The room and bathroom were large and the dining room had tables that were nicely spread out. The breakfast was very good and efficiently served. I couldn't fault the hotel and would recommend it to everyone. It is also pet friendly.
We have never been in such a clean hotel.

Reviewed by
Amanda P

From Knebworth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next