No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Gretna Hall Hotel

3Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Gretna Green , Gretna Green, DG16 5DY
Originally built in 1710 as a manor house, our hotel; set in 10 acres of beautiful gardens offers all the character of a substantial historical building with all the facilities and service you would expect today.
Gretna Hall has the distinction of being the ‘Original Marriage House’ in Gretna Green and marriages are still performed here in our three tailor-made wedding rooms within our very own Blacksmith’s here on-site at Gretna Hall Hotel. One thing is certain, we are still very much at the Heart of Gretna Green.
We have 100 en-suite bedrooms, many of which have been recently refurbished and all feature tea and coffee making facilities, direct dial telephones, hair dryers, flat screen TV’s with FreeView and FREE WiFi throughout the hotel.
We are very proud of the service and value we offer all our guests, please contact us for the full story.

The Anvil Restaurant, perfect for table d’hôte and a la carte dining, offers great food and outstanding wines. The lounge bar, ideal for casual dining, offers a wide range of dishes. For special occasions, especially a wedding, we can help you choose your own tailor-made menu.
Our hotel is located only 1 mile from the M74 & M6. Allowing great access to many forwarding destinations or indeed stay with us to visit the Scottish Borders and the English Lake District.

Carlisle, the great Border city offers shopping, attractions and much more. Only 9 Miles south of our hotel.

Glasgow is only 1 hour drive time, thanks to the upgraded M74. Excellent location if you would like to visit the Commonwealth Games 2014.

Edinburgh is a beautiful city and is less than 1 hour train journey. Train station only 200 yards from our hotel.

Unfortunately we no longer accept pets.
Picture of Gretna Hall Hotel, Gretna Green at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 77 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gretna Hall Hotel
Staff friendly and attentive, excellent breakfast. Room in need of refurbishment but was very clean and good value for the price we paid. An enjoyable weekend away and we will certainly return again for another break.

Reviewed by
Norman J

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel but badly in need of refurbishment
Check in and check out very efficient. Hadn't booked in advance for Restaurant so couldn't dine there. Had to have bar supper which was fine. Staff very friendly. Rooms needing refurbishment - particularly bathroom. Despite this I would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
G Robson

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable journey break
I can't remember all the detail. But my memories are only positive. Clean, courteous, comfortable and convenient as a stop-over on a long journey. Thank you. I would certainly come again.

Reviewed by
John Fee

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great overnight stay
Arrived at Gretna Hall and was very impressed by the quick and efficient check in . We were allocated a lovely ground floor twin room .we ate in the bar aat night and the quality of the food was very good as was the breakfast next morning . Overall great value at £49 will defiantly use this hotel again .

Reviewed by
C Hall

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
For thr price you could not do better than stay here staff were very good and the food was very good value for money.

Reviewed by
Ian C

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at Gretna Hall Hotel
Had a pleasant stay at this hotel. The staff were helpful and friendly.I would stay again.

Reviewed by
raymond m

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The stay was excellent. This was the second time we have been. Will come again soon.

Reviewed by
V Harrison

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

gretna hall hotel
Very welcoming and reception staff very helpful. Dining staff and food excellent. Cleanliness of room left a lot to be desired

Reviewed by
PETER SOUTHEY

From FORFAR, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay at Gretna
We stayed bed and breakfast,however we did have a bar lunch of haddock and chips which was tasteless,so we ate out our second day, but must say the breakfast was very good, this was our second stay at Gretna hall and I dare say we will be back, we will not let one bad meal keep us away.

Reviewed by
E Swan

From Shotts, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel staff was very friendly. food was excellent! The room was very small but very clean apart from a non slip shower mat which was grubby on the underside. The double glazed window unit was steamed up also which obscured the view! The wifi was not available in the room, only in the bar area. Still very nice place to stay.

Reviewed by
J Mercer

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next