No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ambleside Wordsworths Guest House

4Visit England Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Lake Road , Ambleside, LA22 0DB
Anna and Paul welcome you to their fabulous guesthouse. The Wordsworths Guesthouse, comes highly commended from all who stay there. Furnished and decorated to a soaringly high standard, Wordsworths combines elegance and comfort with a relaxed atmosphere and ambience. Only a two minute walk into Ambleside town where you can find a fabulous selection of restaurants, bars cafes and shops, or a five minute walk to the head of Lake Windermere for slightly more peaceful attractions. Private car park, secure mountain bike storage and drying facilities are all available on-site. An ideal location to explore the beautiful Lake District!
Picture of Ambleside Wordsworths Guest House, Ambleside at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A gem of a B and B
A wonderful B and B in Ambleside. Wonderful breakfasts. Clean rooms. And run by a marvellous couple. One of the best B and B experiences I have ever had. Greet value for money.

Reviewed by
jeff p

From london, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent place to stay
Wordsworth's is exceptional. Spotlessly clean, awesome food and really friendly owner. Will definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
David Owen

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Guest House with lovely owners! Room was beautiful and clean. Looked new and fresh. Yummy scrambled eggs with smoked salmon for breakfast!
I would recommend to anyone and would love to stay there again.

Reviewed by
Ann Forsberg

From Alnwick, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean room thought could have been a little more generous with biscuits left for us , had a problem on arrival no one there to greet us .

Reviewed by
Jean Edmonds

From Frodsham, England
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely place to stay, room a little small but apart from that perfect. Very close to good restaurants and town centre. Would satay again.

Reviewed by
M Fetherstone

From Oswestry, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very impressed
Says it in the title really. Although the single room is small it has a small double bed which had a decent quality mattress. Cannot fault it in any way and the breakfast was truly excellent with very high quality ingredients. Definitely one of the better places I have stayed and I've been to a few! Would not hesitate to recommend. Many thanks.

Reviewed by
M Jones

From Bicester, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Guest House Review
This is a lovely guest house in a great location. The landlady was very helpful.

Reviewed by
Jane M

From Ulverston, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect stay
I can't fault The Wordsworth Guest House. Wonderful friendly hosts and staff. Room impeccably clean, you will think you are the first person to have ever used your en-suite bathroom. Lovely fresh cooked breakfast. None of this taking your order the night before which seems quite common in B&B's now. Safe off road parking. Great location to discover the town and lake on foot. It will always be the first place I will try and book when we go again. Feel very lucky to have found it.

Reviewed by
Deborah O

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gorgeous accomodation to suit a gorgeous location!!!
Wordsworth is worth every penny. Spotless and cosy. The bed is comfy. Nice furtiture. Tea making facilities in room. Under floor heating a plus in shower room. Anna the host very pleasant and friendly. Discovered she had lived in north wales 5 mins from us. The breakfast was plentiful and for an english breakfast was not the usual greasy brekkie. Lots of filter coffee, toast a homemade jam/marmalade also. The location is fantastic, 1 minute walk to nearest shops/ bars/ restaurants. Just under a mile to nearest lake. In comparrison to other people we met and spoke to in Ambleside we think we were very lucky to be staying here as i dont think everyone was as pleased with their accomodation as we were. Brilliant weekend all round. Cannot wait to go back.

Reviewed by
Linda Jones

From Wrexham, Wales
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.