No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Melbreak

4Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Winscales Road,Little Clifton , Workington, CA14 1XS
The Melbreak Country House Hotel is a family run hotel offering high standards and good service. Situated on the edge of the Lake District and on the Cumbrian Coast the Hotel Boasts dramatic panoramic views of the Loweswater Valley and Mountains beyond, including the imposing Melbreak, from which the Hotel takes its name. Being only a short drive from the A66 (which links to the M6), the location of the Hotel makes it an ideal place to stay for people wishing to discover the beauty of the northern lakes and coastal towns, and for people working in the area. Guests wishing to sample the cullinary expertise of our chefs will be delighted with the local produce on offer and the new Conservetory Restaurant, which provides an ideal setting for a relaxed meal whilst enjoying fantastic views of the surrounding countryside.
Picture of The Melbreak , Workington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortible stay with friendly staff

Reviewed by
Alan W

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

unfortunate expierence
not very impressed will not return.

Reviewed by
S Milne

From Harwich, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendy and Helpful Staff
Can't fault this hotel on any points. Friendly welcome from staff. Value for money. Excellent food. Only downside next to busy and noisy road.

Reviewed by
I Ewing

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just the job
From the warm welcome, through the prompt and friendly service to the tasty food this was everything I needed. Great experience for a busy working man looking for a brief respite.

Reviewed by
Peter E

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All staff were extermley helpful and couretious, food was very good

Reviewed by
E Kelsey

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very happy with the hotel

Reviewed by
John S

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm and comforting welcome
I had rung ahead after getting lost and was given clear precise directions
When I arrived at the hotel coz I was meeting my partner there I was alone
And shaky and panicky the recieptionist went and brought me a camomile
Tea calmed me and made me very calm and welvome
Would definitely recommend and return here

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review following your recent stay at the hotel. So glad to hear that our directions got you here safely and without adding to your stress levels; camomile tea is always a winner in those situations. Should we be fortunate enough for you to return you will certainly be much more clear on how to find us. Kind Regards, Caroline Hughes

Reviewed by
Sarah C

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just lovely! Slept really well here!

Reviewed by
Kelly G

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Family Run Hotel

Reviewed by
C Green

From Dolgellau, England
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic anniversary break couldn't have asked for a better hotel and the staff were all great ??
Will be making a return trip and can't wait to book the suite again. Way access to everywhere around the hotel if ur a first timer going read up on the area there is so much to see.
The staff very helpful especially Jane and Emma.
A big thank you to all the staff who made our stay very happy best anniversary present good food nice hotel and friendly staff from start to finish
Well done

Reviewed by
Dawn Woods

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next