No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Melbreak

4Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Winscales Road,Little Clifton , Workington, CA14 1XS
The Melbreak Country House Hotel is a family run hotel offering high standards and good service. Situated on the edge of the Lake District and on the Cumbrian Coast the Hotel Boasts dramatic panoramic views of the Loweswater Valley and Mountains beyond, including the imposing Melbreak, from which the Hotel takes its name. Being only a short drive from the A66 (which links to the M6), the location of the Hotel makes it an ideal place to stay for people wishing to discover the beauty of the northern lakes and coastal towns, and for people working in the area. Guests wishing to sample the cullinary expertise of our chefs will be delighted with the local produce on offer and the new Conservetory Restaurant, which provides an ideal setting for a relaxed meal whilst enjoying fantastic views of the surrounding countryside.
Picture of The Melbreak , Workington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Family Run Hotel

Reviewed by
C Green

From Dolgellau, England
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Family Easter break

Reviewed by
Dominika S

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic anniversary break couldn't have asked for a better hotel and the staff were all great ??
Will be making a return trip and can't wait to book the suite again. Way access to everywhere around the hotel if ur a first timer going read up on the area there is so much to see.
The staff very helpful especially Jane and Emma.
A big thank you to all the staff who made our stay very happy best anniversary present good food nice hotel and friendly staff from start to finish
Well done

Reviewed by
Dawn Woods

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

..and the lights went out!!
Oh dear - unfortunately I picked a day when the geese decided to bring down the power lines in the Workington area and plunge the hotel into darkness. However, the staff at the hotel were very accommodating, with torches and candles and even a free drink to compensate. They booked us a taxi to a recommended Indian restaurant - which was very nice. The room I had was the suite and it was very comfortable and clean and the food I had at breakfast was first rate. I have stayed here a few times before and will definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Chris Husband

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unhealthy Smell in room
The accommodation was in a separate building to the main reception which meant walking in the rain and wind to go to the restaurant, this is not made clear when booking. When entering the room there was this smell which coming from the room/carpet which made me feel SICK.
Very expensive for the quality of accommodation. I will not stay at this hotel again.

Reviewed by
Dilip S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value, very friendly, clean refurbished room. Superb food (dinner and breakfast)
2nd time at The Melbreak for business - last one was only 6 months ago, but in that time the room had been refreshed with new carpet and paint. Everything clean and in good working order. Much better than a simple B&B, without the high price of a "fancy" hotel, makes it good for my occasional business travel to the area. Be a good base to explore the Western side of the lakes if travelling for pleasure.
Restaurant here is the star - great variety on the menu, and excellent quality without being too pricey. Can eat from full menu in a relaxed setting in the bar, which is nice for a solo business traveller.
Breakfast excellent - full English cooked to order, very very good quality indeed.
Very friendly and welcoming staff.

Reviewed by
Andrew B

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mellbreak stay
The room was fine - not luxurious but clean, right temperature and everything worked efficiently. Staff were very pleasant - food was good but chips with main meal had been cooked twice and were like crisps - no apology after issue mentioned to staff - slightly spoiled what was otherwise a very good stay.

ManagementResponse

Dear Mr Jeffries Thank you for your review and glad to hear that, in the whole, you enjoyed your stay. I can only apologise that the chips were not to your liking and that your waitress made no apologies to you. In her defence, she is new to the job and not as confident as other members of staff. However, that said, I will take your comments on board and use them to positive effect when undertaking staff training. I am surprised however, that you did not like our chips, as they are handmade (not bought in) and are usually extremely well received and commented upon by our customers. In fact, we have recently received a review stating that our chips were the best they have ever tasted in a restaurant. We would hope that our chips would not stop you retuning to the hotel and perhaps next time we can get them exactly to your liking? Kind regards, Caroline

Reviewed by
P Jefferies

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pretty good
My experience was mainly good with only a couple of minor points.
The room was spacious, well appointed and spotlessly clean. My only gripe was that there were several fittings in the bathroom that were falling apart. The toilet roll holder wasn't attached to the wall. The soap holder next to the sink was very loose and the toothbrush holder was missing leaving the other part of the fitting attached to the wall. The towel rail holder was also loose. The shower was missing a plastic part from the hot/cold selector and one from the rail holding the shower head.
My other grip is the wifi: it's truly terrible. Worse than dial-up and it dropped out every 10 minutes or so I used it. As I was staying for work and needed to upload data this was quite a problem. The router desperately needs an upgrade
All this said, I liked the hotel a lot and thought it good value for money. In response to previous reviewers; I found the staff very courteous and although I was about as close to the road as you could get in this hotel, I didn't hear any road noise whatsoever.
I would stay here again if they sort the wifi and carry out the minor maintenance issues.

Reviewed by
Scott Leach

From Pudsey, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bank Hol at the Melbreak
Our stay at the Melbreak was lovely. The people are very friendly here, and the place itself is lovely, peaceful, and feels like you have a little private home to yourself.

Reviewed by
A Mason

From Thirsk, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Break
The room was comfortable and quiet. Our only negative was that the bed was not particularly comfortable which left us both with some joint problems in the mornings. Nothing serious but niggling

Reviewed by
Reginald W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next