No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Melbreak

4Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Winscales Road,Little Clifton , Workington, CA14 1XS
The Melbreak Country House Hotel is a family run hotel offering high standards and good service. Situated on the edge of the Lake District and on the Cumbrian Coast the Hotel Boasts dramatic panoramic views of the Loweswater Valley and Mountains beyond, including the imposing Melbreak, from which the Hotel takes its name. Being only a short drive from the A66 (which links to the M6), the location of the Hotel makes it an ideal place to stay for people wishing to discover the beauty of the northern lakes and coastal towns, and for people working in the area. Guests wishing to sample the cullinary expertise of our chefs will be delighted with the local produce on offer and the new Conservetory Restaurant, which provides an ideal setting for a relaxed meal whilst enjoying fantastic views of the surrounding countryside.
Picture of The Melbreak , Workington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All staff were extermley helpful and couretious, food was very good

Reviewed by
E Kelsey

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very happy with the hotel

Reviewed by
John S

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm and comforting welcome
I had rung ahead after getting lost and was given clear precise directions
When I arrived at the hotel coz I was meeting my partner there I was alone
And shaky and panicky the recieptionist went and brought me a camomile
Tea calmed me and made me very calm and welvome
Would definitely recommend and return here

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review following your recent stay at the hotel. So glad to hear that our directions got you here safely and without adding to your stress levels; camomile tea is always a winner in those situations. Should we be fortunate enough for you to return you will certainly be much more clear on how to find us. Kind Regards, Caroline Hughes

Reviewed by
Sarah C

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just lovely! Slept really well here!

Reviewed by
Kelly G

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Family Run Hotel

Reviewed by
C Green

From Dolgellau, England
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic anniversary break couldn't have asked for a better hotel and the staff were all great ??
Will be making a return trip and can't wait to book the suite again. Way access to everywhere around the hotel if ur a first timer going read up on the area there is so much to see.
The staff very helpful especially Jane and Emma.
A big thank you to all the staff who made our stay very happy best anniversary present good food nice hotel and friendly staff from start to finish
Well done

Reviewed by
Dawn Woods

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Family Easter break

Reviewed by
Dominika S

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

..and the lights went out!!
Oh dear - unfortunately I picked a day when the geese decided to bring down the power lines in the Workington area and plunge the hotel into darkness. However, the staff at the hotel were very accommodating, with torches and candles and even a free drink to compensate. They booked us a taxi to a recommended Indian restaurant - which was very nice. The room I had was the suite and it was very comfortable and clean and the food I had at breakfast was first rate. I have stayed here a few times before and will definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Chris Husband

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unhealthy Smell in room
The accommodation was in a separate building to the main reception which meant walking in the rain and wind to go to the restaurant, this is not made clear when booking. When entering the room there was this smell which coming from the room/carpet which made me feel SICK.
Very expensive for the quality of accommodation. I will not stay at this hotel again.

Reviewed by
Dilip S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value, very friendly, clean refurbished room. Superb food (dinner and breakfast)
2nd time at The Melbreak for business - last one was only 6 months ago, but in that time the room had been refreshed with new carpet and paint. Everything clean and in good working order. Much better than a simple B&B, without the high price of a "fancy" hotel, makes it good for my occasional business travel to the area. Be a good base to explore the Western side of the lakes if travelling for pleasure.
Restaurant here is the star - great variety on the menu, and excellent quality without being too pricey. Can eat from full menu in a relaxed setting in the bar, which is nice for a solo business traveller.
Breakfast excellent - full English cooked to order, very very good quality indeed.
Very friendly and welcoming staff.

Reviewed by
Andrew B

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next