No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Melbreak

4Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Winscales Road,Little Clifton , Workington, CA14 1XS
The Melbreak Country House Hotel is a family run hotel offering high standards and good service. Situated on the edge of the Lake District and on the Cumbrian Coast the Hotel Boasts dramatic panoramic views of the Loweswater Valley and Mountains beyond, including the imposing Melbreak, from which the Hotel takes its name. Being only a short drive from the A66 (which links to the M6), the location of the Hotel makes it an ideal place to stay for people wishing to discover the beauty of the northern lakes and coastal towns, and for people working in the area. Guests wishing to sample the cullinary expertise of our chefs will be delighted with the local produce on offer and the new Conservetory Restaurant, which provides an ideal setting for a relaxed meal whilst enjoying fantastic views of the surrounding countryside.
Picture of The Melbreak , Workington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First Class Hotel
Very friendly good food nice and clean

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your kind reviews and so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed by
K Armstrong

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice modern hotel

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your kind reviews and so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed by
D Macrae

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

family run, family friendly.
Lovely and clean, very friendly, breakfast was perfect. Made to feel very welcome from the moment we stepped in, staff genuinley helpful and very knowledgable on the area.

Reviewed by
s yip

From Barrow in Furness, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On arriving at the hotel the staff were very nice and the check-in prompt and easy. The room was adequate for our needs, the bed linen and towels were first rate. I did find a previous guest's boxer shorts and socks in one of the draws. There was 2 chairs in the room, one of which had broken legs at the back and was unsafe. I reported this and the chair was removed, disappointed that it was not replaced, leaving just one chair for two guests.

Reviewed by
D Knowles

From Kirkby in Ashfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My weekend stay
I was very impressed with the warm welcome I received on arrival despite only being booked in for 2 nights. The reception very helpfully explained I had made an error when booking a double room for a single person. She got straight on to Laterooms and had the booking amended which resulted in a substantial reduction in my rate. As the hotel was fairly quiet over the weekend I was offered a choice of rooms. The accommodation was spotless. I had only booked in for B&B - the breakfast choice was excellent, well presented with friendly service. I would certainly stay here again.

Reviewed by
Helen M

From Neston, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
The location is fantastic and the rooms are spic and span. The hotel / restaurant staff are very friendly and helpful. The surroundings are serene, calm and peaceful. An ideal place to stay at if you are looking for some relaxation and peace of mind. Great value for money, I must say
I would definitely recommend this place to anyone keen on visiting and exploring the lake district

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review of the hotel following your recent stay. It's good to hear our hard work is being appreciated. I'm glad to hear you had an enjoyable time in the area; hopefully you will consider using the hotel again should you return to the Lake District again? Kind regards, Caroline, Reception

Reviewed by
D Jha

From Stanmore, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel Room
The hotel and rooms were very adequate, clean and spaceous. The bathroom was a little crampted, especially the toilet. The only thing that spoiled it was the food.

Reviewed by
David G

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bit dated but friendly
Accomodation is a bit dated but liveable, food was ok nothing special, friendly family run hotel

Reviewed by
mark m

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Compact but comfortable.
Small family rooms, ample supply of tea/coffee and biscuits, plenty of clean towels and linen, comfortable and cozy !
On the negative side though, use hot water before others do and never use the bath, hot water runs out quickly !
Brekky is not bad at all, nice ambience of the conservatory, tastefully decorated. Very helpful staff, always smiling !
Location is good for Whitehaven (five minutes), OK for the central lakes (40 mins and scenic, through Grassmere and Keswick), not bad if you're hoping to do a one day spin to Edinburgh (about two hours one way) like us !

ManagementResponse

Dear Guests Thank you for your kind review; I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I can only apologise for the inconvenience of not having sufficient hot water for your family. This is something we are aware of and hoping to address in the not too distant future, along with the size of our family rooms. Thank you once again and perhaps we might see you another time, hopefully to test out the new family rooms and plumbing system. Kind regards Caroline Reception

Reviewed by
Salman H

From Sutton Coldfield, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not happy!
Not a hotel, a motel, hotels room details describe as motel style but LateRooms didn't. I was a lone female so not happy being in a separate building to the main hotel. The receptionist pointed across the car park to the stairs into my building, no offer of help with my 3 bags and they kindly put me on the top floor. Also the owners or a porter are not on site during the night. All corridors and room it self very tired decor, my room 32 had sheets and one rough looking thin blanket with a counterpane on top, in my experience very outdated in this day and age. The room was cold with the radiator only warm at the bottom, however the telly was good! The bathroom, the water from the hot tap only trickled out and was cold. On going down for breakfast the walk from my building was a wet one as it was raining and no brolly's to use. after breakfast i went to reception and told them although i was booked in for 2nights i wanted to leave. She never even asked if all was OK! I can not recommend this hotel/motel and certainly won't return myself.

Reviewed by
Carol Oldham

From Kenilworth, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 Next