No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Riverhill Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
19 TALBOT ROAD , Birkenhead, Merseyside, CH43 2HJ
Situated on the Wirral Peninsula within its own peaceful grounds, this Victorian house hotel offers the highest quality accommodation Oxton in Birkenhead is just 4 miles from Liverpool and offers free Wi-Fi and on-site parking.

Having earned a gallery of industry accolades (including the prestigious Merseyside Small Hotel of the Year Award) this family-run hotel takes great pride in cultivating a relaxed, comfortable atmosphere with friendly service and a thoroughly warm welcome.

The highest 3-Star AA rated hotel in the Wirral area, the Hotel offers 14 en-suite rooms all of which are decorated and furnished to a very high standard.

The Restaurant offers a tantalising selection of culinary delights from their diverse range of ever-changing menus.

Located on the Wirral Peninsula, it’s just 2 miles from Birkinhead and 4 miles from Liverpool. It’s an ideal base from which to explore the area and its many attractions, including Birkenhead Park, Williamson Art Gallery and Museum, Port Sunlight and the scenic beauty of the Wirral countryside.

Please note there is a free drink on arrival for guests.
Picture of The Riverhill Hotel, Birkenhead, Merseyside at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely people, location but room for improvement
Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Restaurant quite cosy- I could hear everyone's conversation.food good without being over fussy
The room was lovely, fabulous bathroom which looked very new- may be the reason there was no where to put things in the shower, and no where to hang toilet roll
My room(23) was in the ground floor near the entrance. It was very noisy, from people coming in and out, leaving the bar etc. The room was too warm so I opened the window, I then had to close it as people were standing outside smoking

Reviewed by
Anne S

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Donna
Great accomodation. Centrally located. Comfortable bed.

Reviewed by
Donna Whitaker

From Iver, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Better than it looks!
We were very surprised at how much better this hotel is than in the pictures! Good size room, nice little touches like welcome nibbles in room and in bar. Super friendly and helpful manager. Great food. Can't fault it! Thank you! Customer service was excellent!

Reviewed by
Sarah G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good room let down slightly by bathroom
Large attractive room but bathroom not as good. Shower not working, toilet flush temperamental and grout missing from floor tiles. Not a problem getting it sorted. Very good breakfast.

Reviewed by
Andrew O

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable hotel with lovely staff
I have stayed here many times when visiting family locally both alone and as part of a couple, and it never disappoints. Staff are friendly and helpful and when travelling as a lone female, as this time, I always feel completely safe and secure. The beds are very comfortable for a good nights sleep and the freshly cooked breakfast is excellent.

Reviewed by
Valerie W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent - a gem
Great room, excellent service and brilliant food!

Reviewed by
Linda A

From Penarth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend away
Was looking to stay in Liverpool City Centre when came across this hotel. The previous reviews
decided our stay and it didn't disappoint. The food was excellent the room was superior even though I had booked a standard room, The staff were friendly and helpful the receptionist booked a taxi to the train station so we could go into Liverpool on the Saturday. We would stay again.

Reviewed by
Helen M

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

extremely friendly hotel
all staff were extremely friendly and helpful in co-ordinating taxi's etc during my visit for work. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
k paterson

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely stay
This was a lovely hotel. The staff were very polite and even carried my bags up to my room for me after check in which I though was very thoughtful
the room was one of the nicest ive stayed in for a long time in this price bracket, clean, comfortable and spacious.
a very pleasant experience and I will be returning next time I am working in the area.

Reviewed by
helen d

From Lowestoft, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic place

Reviewed by
Phil Nash

From , UK
Who stayed in September 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next