No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - La Fleur de Lys

4Self Classified Apartment Ratings explained
Bleke Street, , , Shaftesbury, SP7 8AW
Situated in the Centre of this beautiful hill top town, & offer an Oasis Of Peace, Comfort & Luxury with the Addition of some of the Finest Cusine Around. La Fleur de Lys has been awarded an AA 4 Star rating. Shaftesbury is a small Market Town with a history that goes back to medieval times and hill-top forts. Shaftesbury, home of Gold Hill has magnificent views out over the Blackmore Vale. There is a wide variety of independent shops, pubs and restaurants for the tourist to enjoy, in one of the friendliest towns in the area. This Seven Bedroomed Hotel offers luxurious, Well Equipped and Comfortable Accommodation, Along with Superb Dining facilities and a Relaxing Louge Bar & Courtyard. The hotel offers a warm, inviting, friendly atmosphere with an emphasis on Freshness, Quality, Service & attention to detail.
Picture of La Fleur de Lys, Shaftesbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
We were in Sauvignon, which we found claustrophobic, with a brick wall as the outlook and steps up to a tiny en- suite, which meant having to put the light on in the night to avoid a fall. The bed was hard and the toilet didn't flush properly. We informed the owner in the morning of our concerns about the room and he called a plumber and asked his wife to see to a topper on the bed. We had booked 3 nights and asked where we stood if we left a night early as we weren't happy with the room and were told they couldn't do that as it was a Late Room Booking( same room price). We did stay for all three nights and thanked the owner for sorting out the bed and toilet issue. The breakfast was ok and we didn't eat in the restaurant, which we understand has a good reputation. Given the price overall we were disappointed.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
If you travel up and down the country as I do on business when you get to your accommodation you want it to be friendly, professional, clean and comfortable and La Fleur de Lys did all these things.
The full English breakfast was a little dry, I always think tinned plum tomatoes are better than half a fried tomatoes, but that might be just me.

Reviewed by
thomas holgeth

From Mirfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice accommodation in attractive Town
The Hotel is very comfortable with good facilities. Well located in lovely Town of Shaftesbury it is a good place for stopover with excellent restaurant with very good food.

Reviewed by
Derek D

From St Helier, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Special Birthday
We arrived the day before my 60th birthday. Our room was delightful, clean and provided everything we needed. We were very well looked after and there was a good variety on the menu for breakfast.
We could not fault our stay and would not hesitate in staying again.

Reviewed by
Christopher Hinman

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab hotel and can't wait to visit again.

Reviewed by
Paul Barry

From Brentford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place
Nice welcome, very pleasant surroundings and very quiet. Room was well furnished and pleasant to stay in. Breakfast was brilliant and the service.
Would definitely stay again if in the area.

Reviewed by
Sarah S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A friendly and comfortable stop-over
A lovely room, with view out on two sides. We decided to dine out, and found an excellent Indian restaurant within a five minute walk. Breakfast at the hotel was superb: quality and quantity, with eggs perfectly cooked to order.

Reviewed by
Chris D

From Helston, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcome to an independent and homely hotel
Judging by the 'literature' found in the room, the owners are very proud of proving various banks wrong and not just surviving but achieving what they have with the Fleur de Lys. And so they should be. In central Shaftesbury, right on the street but off the main through road, you access the residents' car park down a narrow driveway. We were blown by freezing Siberian winds across the patio area to the warmth of the welcome in reception from David, dressed in chef's whites. He helped carry bags and showed us to 'Shiraz' our room, named like the others after a grape. As a previous reviewer has noted elsewhere, the beds were on the hard side. We like that. I say 'beds' because although it was a large double it was made of twin beds joined together - as is often the case in hotels. They were twins but not identical. I'm glad I sleep on the right and got the better of the deal. But this is a tiny niggle. There is a great deal to praise: a large bath in the en suite, tea and coffee making kit and delicious homemade biscuits... which brings me to the food. We dined with friends elsewhere on our first night but the breakfast next morning - seemingly cooked by Marc who was mentioned in the room blurb - was superb and made us look forward to dinner. The dining room was charmingly and unflappably overseen by Mary, assisted by a young team at various stages of learning - and all trying hard. The dishes we had were all sound, with some wonderful twists, expertly cooked using much local produce; the wines on a pleasing list were well chosen and reasonable - with a healthy selection of half bottles. (If only we could afford to push the luxury yacht out - I'd have had ordered the Chateau Pavie.) The Fleur de Lys is a real asset to Shaftesbury.

Reviewed by
Jon Allen

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.